Jeff Abbott Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jeff Abbott is a world renowned suspense novelist born in 1963 in the United States. He began his writing career in 1994. At the onset of his career, Abbott mainly authored novels featuring traditional detective fiction. However, in the recent past, he has been writing thriller fiction novels. He is a graduate of English and history from Rice University.

Order of Jordan Poteet Series

1Do Unto Others 1994Description / Buy
2The Only Good Yankee 1995Description / Buy
3Promises of Home 1996Description / Buy
4Distant Blood 1996Description / Buy

Order of Whit Mosley Series

1A Kiss Gone Bad 2001Description / Buy
2Black Jack Point 2002Description / Buy
3Cut and Run 2003Description / Buy

Order of Sam Capra Series

1Adrenaline 2010Description / Buy
2The Last Minute 2011Description / Buy
3Sam Capra's Last Chance 2012Description / Buy
4Downfall 2013Description / Buy
5Inside Man 2014Description / Buy
6The First Order 2016Description / Buy

Order of Jeff Abbott Standalone Novels

1Panic 2005Description / Buy
2Fear 2006Description / Buy
3Collision 2008Description / Buy
4Trust Me 2009Description / Buy
5Blame 2017Description / Buy
6The Three Beths 2018Description / Buy
7Never Ask Me 2020Description / Buy
8An Ambush of Widows 2021Description / Buy

Order of World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories Series

1The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 1 2000Description / Buy
2The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 2 2000Description / Buy
3The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 3 2002Description / Buy
4The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 4 2003Description / Buy
5The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 5 2004Description / Buy

Jeff Abbott Anthologies

1 Greatest Hits2005Description / Buy
2 Mystery Writers of America Presents Death Do Us Part: New Stories About Love, Lust, and Murder2006Description / Buy
3 Death's Excellent Vacation2010Description / Buy
4 No Rest for the Dead2011Description / Buy
5 Dead Ends2017Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Jeff Abbott is known for his novels such as the Jordan Poteet Mysteries series, the Whit Mosley series, and the Sam Capra series. In addition, he has written stand-alone novels including the Panic, Trust Me, Collision, and Fear. Abbott’s novels center on the idea that ordinary people get caught up in extraordinary circumstances but keep fighting so as to come back to the usual life.

Jeff Abbott Awards

This great author of suspense and mystery novels has won numerous awards throughout his writing career. Jeff Abbott’s first novel, Do Unto Others, won both the Macavity Award and the Agatha Award, and was nominated for the Dilys Award. His third book, The Only Good Yankee, was nominated for the Writers’ League of Texas Violet Crown Award. He has also been nominated twice for the famous Anthony Award and thrice for the renowned Mystery Writers of America’s Edgar Award. He also won the Thriller Award for his novel, The last Minute, and was nominated for the same award for his novel, Panic.

Jeff Abbott Books Turned into TV/Movies

A number of companies, including The Weinstein Company, Twentieth Century Fox, and Wilkins Independent have adopted Jeff Abbott’s novels the Panic, Collision, and Adrenaline respectively for film. They are all still in script development. In the near future, you should expect to watch these great novels acted on big screen. It is expected to bring out the true picture expressed in the respective novels.

Best Jeff Abbott Books

Just like any other writer, Jeff has had his ups and downs. Among his best novels and books are Do Unto Others, Panic and Adrenaline.

Do Unto Others: Do Unto Others is his very first book done in 1994. Abbott used it to set up the Jordan Poteet Mysteries series and establish his name as an author. With it, he got the Macavity and Agatha Awards. Jordan Poteet, the main character, is frustrated living in the bog city and wants to avoid the commotion and noise in this place and get a much quieter life. As a librarian, he hopes to settle in a small idyllic town of Mirabeau. His encounter with Miss Beta Harcher isn’t good. To make things worse, he is found murdered. Poteet, as the main suspect tries to clear his name and gain the trust of the people.

Panic: Panic is a standalone novel and one of the author’s latest writing featuring thriller fiction. It was published in 2005 and has once been nominated for the Thriller Award. The novel is about Evan Casher, the main character, a very successful filmmaker. As his career rises, he has all he wants. Unfortunately, his mother calls him back home and upon arrival he encounters her dead body and a hit man just waiting there for him. Things change and take a different direction at this point when he realizes that his girlfriend, parents and entire life are a lie. It is now upon him to learn the entire truth before it is too late. The questions here are, will this happen? What are these secrets kept from him, by her loved ones, for years? And will he take the truth as it is or will he panic?

Adrenaline: Adrenaline is sometimes known as Abbott’s best book. It was published in 2010 and features Sam Capra, who still lives in life of his dreams. As a brilliant CIA agent in London, he lives in a wonderful home and is so deeply in love with his seven-month pregnant wife, Lucy. In just one horrifying moment, they lose all they had hoped for. Lucy calls Sam and requests him to leave the office building. Shortly after he leaves, the building explodes and kills everyone within. He wakes up in a prison cell and is branded a traitor and murderer by the CIA. He escapes from the agency and launches a search for his child and wife. Unfortunately, his destruction was the first step in an extraordinary plot. He now has to strive to be a new kind of hero.

The Three Beths: Mariah Dunning has always believed in one thing, a motto that gets her through her life, and the guiding force that keeps her on the straight and narrow. That belief is that “my mother will always be there for me” and she needs it now more than ever when her mom has been missing for a year now. When Mariah sees her mother across a crowded food court, she knows that her faith and belief was worth it all this time. Or she might be losing her mind and be seeing things.

The disappearance of Beth Dunning a year ago inspired the police to investigate and they began looking at her husband as a possible murder suspect despite no body, no evidence and no signs of foul play. Mariah would give anything to clear her father’s name of the charge (and find her mother), and she seemingly gets the chance when she finds out that three other women have gone missing from their town and they’re all named Beth. Is this an unlikely coincidence or a sinister connection? Her search for the truth takes her close to home and what she finds may be more devastating than she could possibly imagine.

This book proves why Abbott is one of the best thriller writers working today as you will find it hard to tear yourself away from the pages. Psychological suspense, shocking plot twists, and complex characters are some of Abbott’s trademark moves and they are in full display here.

When Does The Next Jeff Abbott book come out?

Jeff Abbott doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is An Ambush of Widows and was released on July, 6th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *