Katie Maguire Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Katie Maguire refers to a series of crime thriller novels written by Graham Masterton. Katie Maguire is also the name of the series’ protagonist.

Get notified when Graham Masterton releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Katie Maguire Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Terrible Beauty / White Bones ( By: Graham Masterton) 2003 Description / Buy
2 Broken Angels ( By: Graham Masterton) 2012 Description / Buy
3 Red Light ( By: Graham Masterton) 2014 Description / Buy
4 Taken for Dead ( By: Graham Masterton) 2014 Description / Buy
5 Blood Sisters ( By: Graham Masterton) 2015 Description / Buy
6 Eye for an Eye (Short Story) ( By: Graham Masterton) 2015 Description / Buy
7 Buried ( By: Graham Masterton) 2015 Description / Buy
8 Living Death ( By: Graham Masterton) 2016 Description / Buy
9 The Drowned (Short Story) ( By: Graham Masterton) 2016 Description / Buy
10 Dead Girls Dancing ( By: Graham Masterton) 2016 Description / Buy
11 Dead Men Whistling ( By: Graham Masterton) 2017 Description / Buy
12 Begging to Die ( By: Graham Masterton) 2019 Description / Buy
13 The Last Drop of Blood ( By: Graham Masterton) 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Many of Graham Masterton’s fans are shocked to find the Katie Maguire series in his bibliography. The British author was born in 1946 in Edinburgh and he came to fame as the Editor of Britain’s version of Penthouse.

He went on to pad his resume with a litany of sex guides before finally turning his attention to horror. The genre suited Masterton and he thrived, carving out a reputation for his extremely gruesome violence and visceral sex scenes.

Masterton experimented with the crime genre for the first time in 2002 when he wrote A Terrible Beauty, the first book in the Katie Maguire series.

The book introduced readers to DI Katie Maguire of An Garda Siochana. The book followed the detective as she struggled to make sense of a mass grave discovered on a farm that her superiors were not too keen on seeing her explore.

Katie comes from a family of seven sisters. Their father was a police inspector in Cork and Katie was the only one who followed in his footsteps. People tend to underestimate Katie, and for good reason.

Her red hair and green eyes make her look like a pixie. As such, it comes as a bit of a surprise when they realize how old she is and how far up the ranks she has climbed over such a short period of time.

People will either look down on Katie or they will hate her for her success, and some might go so far as to accuse her of sleeping her way to the top. But Katie pays them little heed.

The author writes Kate as a smart caring woman who, despite working in a male-dominated field and frequently encountering situations that force her to react with hostility, still maintains a feminine persona.

She has a talent for finding criminals that has helped her quench any suggestions that she does not deserve her success. Things are not quite as straightforward on the personal front, though.

Katie is a free-spirit. Her independent personality makes it difficult for her to settle down, so much so that she engages in intimate relationships with multiple partners over the course of the Katie Morgan series.

Readers have criticized this series for going overboard with the gore and the sex. Though, the fact that Masterton spent so many years as a horror writer might explain his penchant for describing the violence and the sex in his books in such a discomforting manner.

The Katie Maguire books are, for the most part, pretty standard for crime novels. Each new novel finds Katie struggling to catch some deranged killer.

Best Katie Maguire Books

The Katie Maguire books, while well-paced and decently plotted, are not for the squeamish and faint of heart, with some of the best novels in the series including:

Buried: Over a century ago, a family with two kids went missing from a cottage in Cork. Their remains have finally been found. And from what Katie Morgan can see, they were definitely the victims of murder.

The bullets in their skulls tell the detective that their killers might have been IRA members. But Katie isn’t ready to make any immediate conclusions. Though, that is exactly what everyone else expects from her.

Her investigation has dug up old secrets and forced certain feuds to surface. If Katie isn’t careful, she might get swept up in the ensuing chaos.

Dead Men Whistling: A Garda sergeant had made quite the name for himself when it was revealed that he was involved in an inquiry designed to root out police corruption. Questions are raised when the sergeant is beheaded.

Katie Maguire is dragged into the case when it is determined that the police corruption inquiry hinges on the arrest of a drug dealer that Katie once brought in. She had enough evidence to ensure he was convicted but the drug dealer went free. Now Katie is determined to get to the bottom of the situation, even if her investigation makes her a target.

Other Book Series You May Like

You may also enjoy the “DCI Ryan Mysteries” Series by L.J. Ross. DCI Ryan is a police officer operating out of Northumberland who keeps trying to put the demons and tragedies of his past to rest even as he attempts to catch the sinister criminals plaguing his community.

Fans also love the “DI Geraldine Steel” Series by Leigh Russell. This police procedural series follows Geraldine Steel, a woman who ends a relationship, moves to a gated apartment and attempts to start a new, quieter life. But her work as a British detective makes a quiet, peaceful existence all but impossible.

What Is The Next Book in The Katie Maguire Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Katie Maguire Series. The newest book is The Last Drop of Blood and was released on February, 6th 2020.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *