Kendra Ballantyne, Pet-Sitter Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Kendra Ballantyne refers to a series of novels written by Linda O. Johnston. The books tell the story of a lawyer in Los Angeles that loses everything and then struggles to rebuild her life from nothing.

Get notified when Linda O. Johnston releases a new book at

Order of Kendra Ballantyne, Pet-Sitter Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sit, Stay, Slay ( By: Linda O. Johnston) 2005 Description / Buy
2 Nothing to Fear But Ferrets ( By: Linda O. Johnston) 2005 Description / Buy
3 Fine-Feathered Death ( By: Linda O. Johnston) 2006 Description / Buy
4 Meow is for Murder ( By: Linda O. Johnston) 2007 Description / Buy
5 The Fright of the Iguana ( By: Linda O. Johnston) 2007 Description / Buy
6 Double Dog Dare ( By: Linda O. Johnston) 2008 Description / Buy
7 Never Say Sty ( By: Linda O. Johnston) 2009 Description / Buy
8 Howl Deadly ( By: Linda O. Johnston) 2009 Description / Buy
9 Feline Fatale ( By: Linda O. Johnston) 2010 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Kendra Ballantyne was an attorney at a powerful law firm, and she was pretty good at her job. But then everything went wrong when Kendra’s client died. The death was connected back to a leak of private information for which Kendra was blamed.

On the one hand, Kendra thinks she was fortunate that her bosses only went as far as firing her. On the other hand, she was less than enthused to go bankrupt as a result. Kendra had to sell everything she owned to escape the financial avalanche that descended on her.

The only thing she wouldn’t part with was her BMW. Now, with her beautiful home rented out to some fickle celebrity, Kendra is forced to live above a garage. She still has her dog Lexie but she no longer enjoys the luxuries of her former life.

Kendra initially gets lost in her angst. But then an opportunity comes her way in the form of a friend that needs a pet sitter. Eager for a chance to boost her earnings, Kendra takes the job.

The decision changes Kendra’s entire life. First, Kendra realizes that she wouldn’t mind making a living as a pet sitter. She loves animals so the job seems like a perfect fit, and she wastes no time in finding clients with desperate pet sitting needs.

Second, Kendra’s clients begin dying all over the place. And because the former attorney has had her fill with being framed for crimes she did not commit, she quickly sets her mind to the task of solving the murders and finding the real killer before all fingers start pointing her way.

Third, Kendra meets Jeff Hubbard, a handsome private investigator who steals her heart.

The transformations in Kendra’s life are drastic. She is thrust into one adventure after another. Kendra Ballantyne keeps running into murders and typically murders with animals at their center.

And because Kendra is so good with animals, she is often the best person around to get to the bottom of things. The Ballantyne books dip back into the heroine’s past as a lawyer, with later titles introducing characters from Kendra’s litigating days and shedding light on the events that saw her lose her job.

Jeff Hubbard also gets some attention as Kendra’s love interest. A crucial aspect of their relationship is Jeff’s ex-wife. She keeps riling Kendra up, mostly because it is never clear just how attached she is to her ex-husband and whether or not she has plans to get him back.

On the other hand, Kendra doesn’t hesitate to come to her aid when the need arises.

These books have been criticized for placing a little too much emphasis on Kendra Ballantyne’s angst-ridden whining over her difficult life. Additionally, the character has a tendency to make a lot of poor decisions.

Best Kendra Ballantyne Books

The Ballantyne series is definitely written with animal lovers in mind and it does a decent job of giving the animals crucial roles to play, with some of the best Kendra Ballantyne books including:

Sit Stay Slay: Kendra Ballantyne was a successful lawyer at a notable firm in Las Angeles. Then she was framed for a crime she didn’t commit. Now she’s living above a garage with her dog Lexie and making a living as a freelance pet sitter.

Kendra doesn’t think her life can get any worse. But then her clients start dying and she realizes that she might be dealing with another frame up job. With the help of a handsome private, Kendra decides to personally get to the bottom of the murders.

Fine Feathered Death: Kendra Ballantyne is back to work. She can practice law again and she already has a job at a new law firm. Kendra’s life takes a turn when a new lawyer by the names of Ezra joins the firm with his screeching macaw.

When the officious and short-tempered Ezra dies and his macaw is the only witness, Kendra decides to put her investigative skills on the case.

Other Book Series You May Like

Check out the “Melanie Travis” Series by Laurien Berenson. Melanie Travis is a teacher and single mother with an interest in animals. Melanie solves murders in her spare time.

Be sure to check out the “Paw Enforcement” Series by Diane Kelly. These books tell the story of Megan Luz, a police officer that tasers a male colleague. Because he had it coming, Megan doesn’t lose her job. Rather, she is given a new partner, a large and furry police dog.

What Is The Next Book in The Kendra Ballantyne, Pet-sitter Mystery Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Kendra Ballantyne, Pet-sitter Mystery Series. The newest book is Feline Fatale and was released on January, 1st 2010.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *