Legends of Muirwood Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Legends of Muirwood is a series of epic fantasy novels that follow the exploits of a girl who discovers that there’s so much more to her than meets the eye.

Get notified when Jeff Wheeler releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Legends of Muirwood Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Wretched of Muirwood ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Blight of Muirwood ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Scourge of Muirwood ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Covenant of Muirwood Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Banished of Muirwood ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2015 Description / Buy
2 The Ciphers of Muirwood ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2015 Description / Buy
3 The Void of Muirwood ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2015 Description / Buy
4 The Lost Abbey ( By: Jeff Wheeler) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Legends of Muirwood series begins with The Wretched of Muirwood, a novel within which readers are first introduced to Lia, a simple servant girl trying to carve out a bright future for herself.

Lia never had much hope for the future. After all, she is Wretched. In the Muirwood world, family is important. Knowing where you came from determines who you will become and where you will go.

Lia is an orphan. And because her parentage is unknown, she will never amount to anything. She won’t be taught how to read and write and she can never rise above the station of a servant.

Outcasts like Lia congregate at Abbeys like the one in Muirwood. There they are given shelter until they come of age. Once they reach 18, they must go out into the world and make their own way.

Lia is thirteen when readers meet her. And because she works in the kitchen, she has been christened Lia Cook. It is common practice for wretched to be named after the roles they have been assigned.

Even though Lia understands her place in life, she cannot bring herself to accept it. The girl has always wanted to learn. She also desires to venture out into the world to make more of herself.

But she could never imagine leaving the confines of her Abbey. Lia’s fortunes change when a squire stumbles into her kitchen, injured. Lia could have given him over to the nefarious Sheriff who came hunting for him.

But she chose to hide him, inadvertently taking her first steps into an adventure that would have consequences for the entire land.

Legends of Muirwood is fairly ordinary fantasy. While Lia is initially an unconventional heroine, an outcast with no obvious prospects for the future, once she meets Colvin and undertakes her adventure, it doesn’t take her long to discover that she is actually a special girl with an amazing lineage and a powerful destiny.

The rest of the series is spent following Lia around as she maneuvers the political conflicts of Muirwood. There is plenty of magic in play. Jeff Wheeler has been praised for his detailed world building.

On the other hand, some readers have criticised him for the strong religious overtones he scatters throughout the series, in particular elements that are strongly reminiscent of the Mormon religion.

This is on top of complaints about the plodding pace and the fact that Lia rarely takes active steps to affect her future but, instead, chooses to sit back and hope for the best.

Best Legends of Muirwood Books

The Legends of Muirwood novels build upon the Muirwood mythology that the author has introduced and expanded in other fantasy series, with some of the best Legends of Muirwood titles including:

The Blight of Muirwood: The Battle of Winterrowd is over. The wicked King is gone but Lia is nursing her own wounds and losses. The fact that she has so much inner turmoil does not stop her supporters from elevating her to the position of Muirwood Abbey protector.

Lia must give her heart and soul to the task of protecting Ellowyn Demont, a job she struggles to do when the overseer of the abbey is accused of murder. Along with a terrible plague that threatens to blanket the land, Lia has her hands full as she tries to make sense of her purpose in life.

Scourge of Muirwood: Lia always thought she was worthless. But it turns out that she is heir to a powerful lineage. The revelation takes her out of Muirwood and into a dangerous land where she has to muster all her strength to face the forces besieging Dochte Abbey.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Faithful and Fallen” Series by J.M. Martin as well. Long ago, the God War nearly destroyed the world. Now the tentative peace that has stood for so long threatens to wash away in light of a prophecy that foretold the coming of a far more destructive conflict.

Corban is a young fellow that yearns to take up the sword to fight for his King.

Another great read is the “Nightblade” Series by Ryan Kirk. Ryuu lost his family at a young age. A wandering warrior found him and taught him what it means to be strong. Moriko was forcibly removed from her family and compelled to learn the ways of the assassin under the watchful eye of a killer.

Along with Takako, a beautiful girl sold to pay a family debt, Ryuu and Moriko will unite to change the fate of their kingdom.

What Is The Next Book in The Legends Of Muirwood Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Legends Of Muirwood Series. The newest book is The Scourge of Muirwood and was released on February, 10th 2011.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *