Lonestar Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Lonestar is a series of romantic suspense novels written by Colleen Coble. Colleen is responsible for the creation of series like Rock Harbor and Mercy Falls. The author’s Christian faith has always been a significant aspect of her novels, and that doesn’t change when it comes to Lonestar.

Get notified when Colleen Coble releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Lonestar Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lonestar Sanctuary ( By: Colleen Coble) 2007 Description / Buy
2 Lonestar Secrets ( By: Colleen Coble) 2008 Description / Buy
3 Lonestar Homecoming ( By: Colleen Coble) 2010 Description / Buy
4 Lonestar Angel ( By: Colleen Coble) 2011 Description / Buy
5 All Is Calm (Short Story) ( By: Colleen Coble) 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Lonestar books take place in the town of Bluebird Crossing, Texas. When readers are introduced to Allie Siders in Lonestar Sanctuary, the first novel in the Lonestar series, the heroine has been overcome by tragedy.

With so many of her closest friends and family having died unexpectedly, Allie would have been happy to succumb to a life of isolation and solitude. But she is forced to seek help when her young daughter stops speaking.

Allie goes to the Bluebird Ranch in Texas. There she tries to understand the motives of the stalker that seems determined to make her life a living hell. This is as she fights to create a friendly working relationship with the ranch foreman, a man that cannot help but approach Allie with suspicion.

Allie Siders is somewhat typical of the women in the Lonestar series. Life hasn’t treated her particularly well. And after a lifetime of turmoil, heartache, and tragedy, she just wants to find a sanctuary to where she can retreat, if only for the sake of her child.

Surprisingly enough, she isn’t the only one. All the heroines in these books have a child to protect. And every decision they take is designed to give that child some peace. They do not set out to look for love or to even achieve any modicum of happiness for themselves.

But that is exactly what they find in Bluebird Crossing, Texas. Their journey to a happily-ever-after begins when they meet their soul mate, a man that, like them, has been hurt and, thus, does not immediately trust the heroine.

Colleen Coble’s books follow the hero and heroine as they circle one another like wounded animals in search of shelter. They understand one another’s pain but they hesitate to give into their feelings because they are afraid of being hurt again.

It takes extraordinary circumstances to bring them together. And these circumstances typically take the shape of a dangerous foe that is out to harm the hero or the heroine. More often than not, there is a mystery at the heart of the heroine’s life that the hero has the capacity to unravel.

Even though the Lonestar books are categorized as romance, Colleen Coble leans heavily into the suspense aspects. She also emphasizes the Christian elements of her characters’ attributes.

At the end of the day, while the heroine always finds solace in the hero, it isn’t until she returns to her faith and seeks God that she encounters true healing.

Lonestar Awards

Lonestar Angel, the fourth book in the series won the Carol award (Romantic Suspense) in 2012.

Best Lonestar Books

Colleen Coble’s strength lies in her ability to write Christian fiction that isn’t afraid to touch upon dark, possibly even frightening subjects, with some of the best novels in the Lonestar series including:

Lonestar Secrets: When Shannon Astor meets Jack MacGowan, she is shocked to realize that his daughter looks disturbingly similar to her own. Jack was Shannon’s nemesis in high school. When Shannon left West Texas, it was as a single mother.

Shannon knows she gave birth to twins but she was told that one of them died. After trying and failing to start afresh, Shannon comes back home five years later to learn that Jack is now widowed and that his daughter might be the twin she was told died.

Jack and Shannon are wary of one another. But they must put their differences aside if they are to solve an intriguing mystery.

Lonestar Angel: Eden and Clay were such a young couple when their marriage ended. When their baby was stolen, they tried and failed to cope with the trauma.

Eden went away, found God and even began to date a nice guy. Eden was ready to enter marriage once more. But then Clay showed up out of nowhere and told her that they were still married. More importantly, he claims to have found their long-lost daughter.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Elite Guardians” Series by Lynette Eason. These books follow the exploits of the men and women of Elite Guardians, a security organization, and the dangers they encounter as they attempt to keep their clients safe in the wake of igniting sparks of passion.

Readers also enjoy the “Chesapeake Valor” Series by Dani Pettrey. Four friends met in college and decided that they would go into the different branches of law enforcement once the graduated. This series follows Griffin, Declan, Parker, and their colleagues as they pool their resources and fulfill their lifelong dreams of upholding the law, this as they contend with the complexities of romance.

What Is The Next Book in The Lonestar Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Lonestar Series. The newest book is All Is Calm and was released on November, 18th 2014.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *