Long Earth Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Long Earth is a collaborative series from critically acclaimed authors, Stephen Baxter and Terry Pratchett. The two authors have signed five contracts. During Pratchett’s death, three novels had been released, while the fourth one has published on 23 June 2015 and the fifth novel in the series 30 June 2016. This series was entirely based on Pratchett’s unpublished work, The High Megga’s. Terry Pratchett wrote the novel as a starting point for a brand new series, while the first installment in the Discworld book series was undergoing publication. The sudden success of his first novel encouraged him to place the new story aside and instead focus on the Discworld series. After a dinner conversation between Pratchett and his assistant, the idea cropped up once again. The discussion between Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter encouraged the development of the first book in the Long Earth book series.

Order of Long Earth Series By: Terry Pratchett, Stephen Baxter

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Long Earth (By: Terry Pratchett, Stephen Baxter) 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Long War (By: Terry Pratchett, Stephen Baxter) 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Long Mars (By: Terry Pratchett, Stephen Baxter) 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Long Utopia (By: Terry Pratchett, Stephen Baxter) 2015 Description / Buy
5 The Long Cosmos (By: Terry Pratchett, Stephen Baxter) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Despite the fact that the writing styles of the two authors are completely different, the two writers had to come together and develop the series. Stephen Baxter has written mainly in the fields of evolutionary speculation, alternative history, and hard science while Pratchett has written mainly in the field of fiction and fantasy. Despite the fact that the two authors had spoken in public about the overall outline of the series, they never issued any public readings or reading materials something that Pratchett used to do with the Discworld series.

Long Earth Awards

None of the books in this series have been nominated for any major award.

Long Earth Books into Movies

The Long Earth series is yet to be adapted for screenplay.

Best Books Long Earth

On December 2011, Pratchett announced on Twitter, on the completion of the first draft of the series. The first book in the series was released on 19th June 2012 while the sequel was released on 20th June the following year. With that said, Long Earth is a name, which was given to an infinite series of worlds that are not only similar to earth but are also parallel to one another. These earths could be reached by the use of a device known as the Stepper. The earths that are close are much similar to earth, while the other earths are different in greater details. However, despite their differences, all the parallel earth share one similarity; none of this planets have ever been home to homo sapiens. All the books in this series explore the theme on how the human race can develop when it is free from resource constraints.

Long Earth is the first installment and one of the best performing books in the series. This installment deals mainly with the journey of Joshua Valiente who is a natural stepper and Lobsang, who is a Tibetan, motorcycle technician. Joshua and Lobsang are more than determined to learn about the parallel universe. Thus they end up traveling millions of miles away from earth. Upon traveling, the two main characters discover human remains together with warning signs. In this installment, we are also introduced to another character, Helen Green, a young girl who move across long earth so that they can be able to form a new community. After they step across Gap, a universe that is more than two million steps away, Lobsang and Joshua encounter a new threat, which has been the main cause for the migration of the Trolls. In the end, Joshua and Lobsang return to earth. Once they reach Earth, they are informed that a nuclear explosion destroyed the planet Madison. The bomb was placed by a terrorist group, which mostly consisted of human beings who were not able to step.

Other Series That You May Like

If you are a fan of the Long Earth series, then you are going to like the Transformation series by Neal Asher. One of the best book in this series is War Factory, which is the second installment in this series. In this book, the main character Asher is still trying to understand what it means to overcome humans, to exist and to exist. What you are going to love about series is the way in which Asher does his very best to ensure that he survives and also the effort that he channels in his world building. This series delves into the Prador biology like no other book. If you are looking for a book that has intense spaceship battles, shocking destruction, death and heart-pounding actions, then you should give this series a try.

What Is The Next Book in The Long Earth Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Long Earth Series. The newest book is The Long Cosmos and was released on June, 30th 2016.


1 thought on “Long Earth”

  1. Is it just me or are these books hard to follow? I like to think of myself as a science fiction / fantasy aficionado, but I just can’t get a good footing in these books. The characters are dull and clearly only there to move the story along. There are a lot of fascinating concepts that remain underdeveloped. There is potential for a multitude of other stories based on items that were introduced in the books, but most remain unexplored. Overall, this is a pretty “meh” series that could’ve been a lot better.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *