Lucky Starr Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The “Lucky Starr” books written by Isaac Asimov (published under the pen name of Paul French). The main character, David Starr, is named for Asimov’s son, later on he would call the character “Lucky” (which is the main character’s nickname), this is due to the name David not having enough vigor for Asimov. David works as a biophysicist that is qualified to work on the Council of Science. The series is set five thousand years after the first nuclear bomb being dropped, in the year 7000 A. D.

Get notified when Paul French releases a new book at

Order of Lucky Starr Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 David Starr, Space Ranger ( By: Paul French) 1952 Description / Buy
2 Lucky Starr and the Pirates of the Asteroids ( By: Paul French) 1953 Description / Buy
3 Lucky Starr and the Oceans of Venus ( By: Paul French) 1954 Description / Buy
4 Lucky Starr and the Big Sun of Mercury ( By: Paul French) 1956 Description / Buy
5 Lucky Starr and the Moons of Jupiter ( By: Paul French) 1957 Description / Buy
6 Lucky Starr and the Rings of Saturn ( By: Paul French) 1958 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

This is during a time when humanity has moved around different worlds in the Solar System, and planets are orbiting around other stars. There are six books to the series, after the plans for a seventh book later got scrapped, when Asimov decided to focus his efforts just about solely on non-fiction work. The series made its debut in the year 1952, when “David Starr, Space Ranger” was released (which Asimov wrote in just one month and nineteen days), and finished in the year 1958, when “Lucky Starr and the Rings of Saturn” was released.

The series of novels is intended for juveniles, and was written by Asimov by prompting by his agent and an editor who wanted him to write a juvenile science fiction book. It would later be adapted for television, but the plans for the series fell through (partly due to “Rock Jones, Space Ranger” being in production at the time). He published the novel under the French name because he figured that the television series would be another terrible show, and did not want his real name associated with it.

Even though he was writing under a pen name, he used his Three Laws of Robotics, which allowed even the most casual reader to figure out who was writing the books. Due to the fact that there was no terrible television adaptation, he was able to drop any pretense that he did not write the books. That being said, they were still published with Paul French’s name on them.


For those readers looking to get into the “Lucky Starr” books that are written by author Isaac Asimov, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “David Starr, Space Ranger”, “Lucky Starr and TPOTA”, and “Lucky Starr and the Oceans of Venus”.

David Starr, Space Ranger: This is the first novel in the “Lucky Starr” series and was released in the year 1952. Earth faces catastrophe. It has a Martian colony that supplies it with necessary food, and it is being poisoned. David Starr has learned from Augustus and Hector that two hundred people have died in the last four months after they have ate produce that was grown on Mars. Augustus and Hector fear that the whole thing might be a conspiracy to get the people of Earth frightened.

Working in complete and total secrecy, Council of Science (which is command of things) sends its youngest member (David Starr) out to the farmlands on Mars to find out the truth in all of the murders.

Lucky Starr and TPOTA: This is the second novel in the “Lucky Starr” series and was released in the year 1953. Twenty-five years ago, David’s parents were killed during a raid by pirates on Terrestrial Empire.

David is now a man, and is an officer with the Council of Science. He has big arms on board his ship. The pirates are near, and the time for getting his vengeance for his dead parents gets closer and closer.

Lucky Starr and the Oceans of Venus: This is the third novel in the “Lucky Starr” series and was released in the year 1954. It looked to be a fairyland bubble that was the color of emeralds from far away. Earthlings put founded a great civilization on Aphrodite, which is the biggest city on Venus. It can be found under the sea on Venus. It is now threatened by a huge force that preys on the minds of men.


Fans also love the “Ender’s Game” series by Orson Scott Card. Set in a future Earth, it presents mankind after it has faced the buggers twice. These buggers are insectoid alien race. Ender, the star, and the other children are trained from a young age in increasingly difficult games.

Another great one is the “The Giver” series by Lois Lowry. Jones stars in the series and it is set in a world that has eliminated any and all pain and strife; it has done so by converting to a plan called Sameness. The plan’s side effect is that the people no longer have any emotional depth in their lives.

What Is The Next Book in The Lucky Starr Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Lucky Starr Series. The newest book is Lucky Starr and the Rings of Saturn and was released on January, 1st 1958.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *