Lucy Stone Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Lucy Stone refers to a series of cozy mystery novels written by Leslie Meier. Lucy Stone is also Leslie’s primary protagonist in these books, a hardworking mother doing what she can to keep her friends and family safe.

Order of Lucy Stone Series By: Leslie Meier, Barbara Ross, Peggy Ehrhart

# Read Title Published Details
1 Mistletoe Murder / Mail Order Murder 1991 Description / Buy
2 Tippy Toe Murder 1994 Description / Buy
3 Trick or Treat Murder 1996 Description / Buy
4 Back to School Murder 1997 Description / Buy
5 Valentine Murder 1999 Description / Buy
6 Christmas Cookie Murder 1999 Description / Buy
7 Turkey Day Murder 2000 Description / Buy
8 Wedding Day Murder 2001 Description / Buy
9 Birthday Party Murder 2002 Description / Buy
10 Father's Day Murder 2003 Description / Buy
11 Star Spangled Murder 2004 Description / Buy
12 New Year's Eve Murder 2005 Description / Buy
13 Bake Sale Murder 2006 Description / Buy
14 St. Patrick's Day Murder 2008 Description / Buy
15 Mother's Day Murder 2009 Description / Buy
16 Wicked Witch Murder 2010 Description / Buy
17 English Tea Murder 2011 Description / Buy
18 Chocolate Covered Murder 2011 Description / Buy
19 Easter Bunny Murder 2013 Description / Buy
20 Christmas Carol Murder 2013 Description / Buy
21 French Pastry Murder 2014 Description / Buy
22 Candy Corn Murder 2015 Description / Buy
23 British Manor Murder 2017 Description / Buy
24 Turkey Trot Murder 2017 Description / Buy
25 Eggnog Murder 2017 Description / Buy
26 Silver Anniversary Murder 2018 Description / Buy
27 Yule Log Murder 2018 Description / Buy
28 Invitation Only Murder 2019 Description / Buy
29 Christmas Card Murder 2020 Description / Buy
30 Irish Parade Murder 2021 Description / Buy
31 Halloween Party Murder 2021 Description / Buy
32 Easter Bonnet Murder 2022 Description / Buy
33 Haunted House Murder 2022 Description / Buy
34 Irish Coffee Murder 2023 Description / Buy
35 Mother of the Bride Murder 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Lucy Stone Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Candy Cane Murder 2007 Description / Buy
2 Gingerbread Cookie Murder 2010 Description / Buy
3 A Winter Wonderland 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Lucy Stone Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Candy Cane Murder 2007 Description / Buy
2 Gingerbread Cookie Murder 2010 Description / Buy
3 A Winter Wonderland 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Readers first meet Lucy Stone in Mistletoe Murderer, the first novel in the Lucy Stone series. Lucy is working herself raw to prepare for the Christmas festivities in her small town of Tinker’s Cove.

She has jumpers to knit gifts to pick out and church pageant costumes to make. So when she finds her boss dead in his car, the last thing she needs on her plate is a murder mystery. But everything she can see points towards a murder rather than the supposed suicide.

And even with the rigors of the Christmas season, Lucy cannot help but investigate the mystery at hand.

The Lucy Stone books normally stretch believability for some readers. Lucy Stone lives a very hectic life. She is a relatively young mother who lives with her husband Bill, a restoration carpenter, and their three children.

Even though Lucy identifies as a reporter, she spends her nights working for a mail order company in the customer service department. Lucy’s family is a handful and they consume a considerable portion of her day.

And yet she still finds the strength to report to work on a regular basis. But if that wasn’t enough, Lucy cannot help but stick her nose into the murders and the mysteries that keep erupting around her cozy little town.

Her husband Bill doesn’t really blame her for her affinity to crime. Once Lucy spots an anomaly at a crime scene, a clue that suggests a narrative contrary to what people might be saying about an incident, she cannot help but investigate it until she finds an answer that satisfies her curiosity.

However, even fans of the Lucy Stone series doubt the rationale of an ordinary individual, man or woman, having the strength to care for a medium-sized family, maintain a taxing job and solve mysteries in their spare time.

Though, there are those readers that are drawn to Lucy Stone as a heroine specifically because she seems practically superhuman, at one point going so far as to resolve a dangerous case even while pregnant with her fourth child.

Even though these books are categorized as cozy mysteries, they can get quite dark and grim. The author also uses coarse language in some places.

Best Lucy Stone Books

The Lucy Stone series definitely pushes the envelope in some places, drawing criticism for failing to deliver the lighthearted entertainment that the cozy mystery genre always promises, with some of the best titles in the series including:

Valentine Murder: Valentine’s Day is here in Tinker’s Cove but there is so much more on Lucy Stone’s mind than all the baking she has to do for her children. Bitsy Howell, the new librarian, is dead.

The news caught her just as she arrived for her first board meeting at the newly renovated library. The board members want so badly to believe that an outsider did the dirty deed. But Lucy believes that the killer is one of them.

She suspects that Bitsy might have rubbed a few people the wrong way with her uppity big city ways, though there are clues suggesting that the motive for the librarian’s murder might run far deeper.

Christmas Cookie Murder: With Christmas fast approaching, Lucy Stone is only too happy to host the annual Christmas cookie exchange. This is despite all the tension the event tends to foster among the women present.

This time, trouble takes the shape of Tucker Whitney, the new coworker of Lucy’s friend who makes her first appearance at the exchange only for Lee Cummings to accuse her of destroying her marriage.

Things only escalate further when a water leak causes Lucy’s ceiling to collapse. And then Tucker ends up dead. Now Lucy must determine whether or not Lee’s husband had anything to do with Tucker’s death before things escalate.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Hayley Powell Food and Cocktails Mystery” Series by Lee Hollis as well. Hayley Powell is a single mother who was barely making ends meet in Bar Harbor, Maine when her boss asked her to take over the paper’s food column. The newly minted food writer must balance the demands of her new job with her affinity for solving murders.

You may also enjoy the “Jaine Austen Mystery” Series by Laura Levine. Jaine is a wisecracking writer for hire who keeps fighting to find love and paying gigs even as she juggles the murders and mysteries that come her way.

What Is The Next Book in The Lucy Stone Series?

The next book in the The Lucy Stone Series by Leslie Meier is Mother of the Bride Murder and will be released on April, 25th 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.