Max Freeman Mysteries Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Max Freeman is the chief character of the Max Freeman series of novel authored by police officer turned writer Jonathon King. Max Freeman made his first appearance in the debut novel in the series published in 2002 and titled The Blue Edge of Midnight.

Get notified when Jonathon King releases a new book at

Order of Max Freeman Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Blue Edge of Midnight ( By: Jonathon King) 2002 Description / Buy
2 A Visible Darkness ( By: Jonathon King) 2003 Description / Buy
3 Shadow Men ( By: Jonathon King) 2004 Description / Buy
4 A Killing Night ( By: Jonathon King) 2005 Description / Buy
5 Acts of Nature ( By: Jonathon King) 2007 Description / Buy
6 Midnight Guardians ( By: Jonathon King) 2012 Description / Buy
7 Don't Lose Her ( By: Jonathon King) 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Max Freeman had been a police officer in the Philadelphia police department for several years. He left when he was involved in an accidental shooting of a child during a police shootout. Max left the city to go live in the Florida Everglades though he is living a life full of misery, as he finds it impossible to get rid of the guilt that forever haunts his days.

The first novel of the series “The Blue Edge of Midnight” begins with the background to Max departure from the police force after killing a child in self-defense in Philadelphia. Now a man living a colorless existence in the Florida Everglades, everything changes when he stumbles onto the body of a child dumped beside an ancient river. Distrusted by most of the residents in the Everglades and deemed a suspect by the cops given his history, he plunges himself right into the investigation and search for a vicious serial killer.

But things get worse when another child disappears. Under the eyes of suspicion from residents and his former colleagues, the ex-police officer knows that he has to put all his experience into work to find the serial killer, before he destroys his life. What follows is an exhilarating novel that went on to win the author an Edgar award in 2002.


The first novels of The Max Freeman series of novels “Blue Edge of Midnight” was the winner of the Best First Mystery Novel, the first by an American author at the 2002 Edgar Allan Poe Mystery Awards.


:The Blue Edge of Midnight: The first novel in the Max Freeman series is by all means the most popular novel in the series. The lead character draws you in making one root for him even when they are at their wits end. Suddenly, Max is with the hottest woman in the city and fighting evil in some of the most innovative and interesting of ways.

The author writes a superb tale with vivid and realistic depictions of South Florida. His vivid descriptions make the Blue Gulfstream, Lauderdale, the Glades, and Billy’s plush penthouse come alive in the tradition of some of the best of the Southern writers.

Shadow Men: The third novel in the Max Freeman series of novels is another excellent novel with some gripping plot lines. Still living an isolated lifestyle in the Florida Everglades, Max Freeman finds himself at the center of an eight-decade-old mystery. Eighty years ago a man and his two sons had gone missing while working on the first road that cut through the Glades.

However, the descendants of the lost men have unearthed a series of letters, and Max has been contracted to try to unravel the mystery of their disappearance. Surprisingly, Max meets resistance and threats of violence at every turn, despite the fact that the case is eighty years old. There is a powerful man who still has a lot to hide.

Midnight Guardians: Max makes his return in the sixth novel in the series set in the waterways and trawling trailer parks of South Florida, where stunning brutality hides underneath the abundant foliage and lush beaches. Enlisted to make investigations into a supposedly fraudulent Medicare claim conspiracy, he quickly finds out that the case is more complex than he had been made to believe. A former drug kingpin who was once his ally has reappeared on the scene with a new identity. The kingpin is running the fraud and will do anything to keep his business going, even if it means taking out Max and everyone he loves.


Many fans of the Max Freeman series of novels also love the “Nameless Detective” series of novels by Bill Pronzini. These are detective mystery novels featuring a middle-aged, pulp magazine loving, and out of shape detective in the mold of Everyman, and just as effective.

Max Freeman fans also enjoy the “Thorn Mystery” series by James W. Hall. These are hard-boiled detective mysteries set in Florida and following the adventures of Thorn, a former police officer turned private investigator haunted by his past.

What Is The Next Book in The Max Freeman Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Max Freeman Series. The newest book is Don't Lose Her and was released on June, 2nd 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *