Meg Langslow Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Meg Langslow is the chief protagonist in the Meg Langslow series of novels by American detective mystery author, Donna Andrews. Meg Langslow was first introduced to readers in the first novel in the series, the 1999 published title, Murder with Peacocks.

Order of Meg Langslow Series

1Murder With Peacocks1999Description / Buy
2Murder With Puffins2000Description / Buy
3Revenge of the Wrought-Iron Flamingos2001Description / Buy
4Crouching Buzzard, Leaping Loon2002Description / Buy
5We'll Always Have Parrots2003Description / Buy
6Owls Well That Ends Well2005Description / Buy
7No Nest for the Wicket2006Description / Buy
8The Penguin Who Knew Too Much2007Description / Buy
9Cockatiels at Seven2008Description / Buy
10Six Geese A-Slaying2008Description / Buy
11Swan for the Money2009Description / Buy
12Stork Raving Mad2010Description / Buy
13The Real Macaw2011Description / Buy
14Some Like it Hawk2012Description / Buy
15Hen of the Baskervilles2013Description / Buy
16Duck the Halls2013Description / Buy
17The Good, the Bad, and the Emus2014Description / Buy
18The Nightingale Before Christmas2014Description / Buy
19Lord of the Wings2015Description / Buy
20Die Like an Eagle2016Description / Buy
21Gone Gull2017Description / Buy
22How the Finch Stole Christmas!2017Description / Buy
23Toucan Keep a Secret2018Description / Buy
24Lark! the Herald Angels Sing2018Description / Buy
25Terns of Endearment2019Description / Buy
26Owl Be Home for Christmas2019Description / Buy
27The Falcon Always Wings Twice2020Description / Buy
28The Gift of the Magpie2020Description / Buy
29Murder Most Fowl2021Description / Buy
30The Twelve Jays of Christmas2021Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Meg Langslow is an exceptional decorative blacksmith that earns her living making metal sculptures. As compared to her family, she is quite the oddball, being reliable and sensible rather than eccentric or absent-minded. She is also large for a woman, and physically fit given the physical nature of her work.

The first novel in the series, Murder with Peacocks begins with Meg Langslow having an awesome summer in her hometown in Virginia. She has planned and been the maid of honor at three weddings of her close relations and friends. While exciting, it has not been easy, as one bride insisted on a Native American herbal purification ceremony, while another insists that her wedding would only be complete if she could get live peacocks strutting on the green. Amid a sea of outrageous neighbors and relatives who want her attention, Meg only keeps her sanity with the help of a mysterious handsome man, who rumors say is gay.

There is one fly in the ointment though; an insensitive newcomer put guests ill at ease by hinting at skeletons in their closets. But the stranger has clashed with too many people that when she turns up dead in mysterious circumstances, it is hard to finger a suspect. Meg now finds herself with a to do list that not only involves bridal registries and flower arrangements, but also catching a ruthless killer who may just kill her next.


The novels in the series have won many awards over the years. Murder with Peacocks the first novel has won the most number of awards winning the Agatha, Lefty, and Anthony Awards for Best Novel, the Romantic Times Reviewers Choice Award for Best First Novel. The novel was also nominated for a Macavity for Best First Novel and a Dily. Other novels in the series went on to win or be nominated for some of the previously mentioned awards and other awards. Crouching Buzzard, Leaping Loon, and Swan for the Money won the Most Humorous Mystery at the Toby Bromberg Award for Excellence.


Murder With Peacocks: A multiple award-winning novel, the first novel in the series is undoubtedly one of the best novels in the Meg Langslow series. Planning three weddings for friends and family, the novel a fast-paced cozy mystery that shows just how demanding family and friends can be. A beautiful exposition of how every family has that one person that picks up all the slack that no one wants to bother with. Meg hardly seems to have any help from the brides, depending on a mysterious handsome guy. Things go haywire when some annoying guest ends up dead, leaving Meg to engage in some amateur sleuthing, in the knowledge that she may be on the killer’s hit list.

Die Like an Eagle: The twentieth title in the series is another Donna Andrews classic. Michael and Meg team up to coach Caerphilly their twins youth baseball team, that is involved in a very competitive league. Meg soon locks horns with the vindictive and petty league head, Biff Brown. With Biff known as a hot-tempered and temperamental man, all the suspicion is on him when his brother’s lookalike is found dead on the baseball pitch on opening day. But with an airtight alibi, Meg believes that the hit may actually been on him.

Stork Raving Mad: Another incredible novel in the Meg Langslow series of novel is the twelfth title, Stork Raving Mad. With Meg expecting twins, they get a Spanish playwright who is working with Michael to come live with them so that the family can spend more time together. The inveterate party comes to a screeching halt when the dean arrives at the house to announce that the play is canceled. The dean is soon found killed, turning Meg’s house into a crime scene. Meg now has to help the police resolve the murder mystery while heavy with twins.


Many Meg Langslow fans also loved the “Grace and Favor” series by Jill Churchill. These novels are cozy mysteries involving Robert Brewster and his sister Lily, whose inherited house seems to haunt them with a series of whodunit murder mysteries. Meg Langslow fans are also fans of the “Peter Shandy” series by Charlotte MacLeod. The novel features Helen Marsh Sandy a librarian and college botany professor, that work together to solve bizarre murder mysteries in Balaclava County, Massachusetts.

What Is The Next Book in The Meg Langslow Series?

The next book in the The Meg Langslow Series by Donna Andrews is The Twelve Jays of Christmas and will be released on October, 12th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *