Donna Andrews Books

Donna Andrew is a mystery fiction writer who was born and raised in Yorktown, Virginia, the setting for her Meg Langslow series. She studied drama and English at the University of Virginia, and currently works and lives in Reston, Virginia. Donna is also a self-confessed geek who rarely finds time away from her computer unless she is tending to her garden.

Order of Meg Langslow Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Murder With Peacocks 1999 Description / Buy
2 Murder With Puffins 2000 Description / Buy
3 Revenge of the Wrought-Iron Flamingos 2001 Description / Buy
4 Crouching Buzzard, Leaping Loon 2002 Description / Buy
5 We'll Always Have Parrots 2003 Description / Buy
6 Owls Well That Ends Well 2005 Description / Buy
7 No Nest for the Wicket 2006 Description / Buy
8 The Penguin Who Knew Too Much 2007 Description / Buy
9 Cockatiels at Seven 2008 Description / Buy
10 Six Geese A-Slaying 2008 Description / Buy
11 Swan for the Money 2009 Description / Buy
12 Stork Raving Mad 2010 Description / Buy
13 The Real Macaw 2011 Description / Buy
14 Some Like it Hawk 2012 Description / Buy
15 Hen of the Baskervilles 2013 Description / Buy
16 Duck the Halls 2013 Description / Buy
17 The Good, the Bad, and the Emus 2014 Description / Buy
18 The Nightingale Before Christmas 2014 Description / Buy
19 Lord of the Wings 2015 Description / Buy
20 Die Like an Eagle 2016 Description / Buy
21 Gone Gull 2017 Description / Buy
22 How the Finch Stole Christmas! 2017 Description / Buy
23 Toucan Keep a Secret 2018 Description / Buy
24 Lark! the Herald Angels Sing 2018 Description / Buy
25 Terns of Endearment 2019 Description / Buy
26 Owl Be Home for Christmas 2019 Description / Buy
27 The Falcon Always Wings Twice 2020 Description / Buy
28 The Gift of the Magpie 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Turing Hopper Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 You've Got Murder 2002 Description / Buy
2 Click Here For Murder 2003 Description / Buy
3 Access Denied 2004 Description / Buy
4 Delete All Suspects 2005 Description / Buy

Donna Andrews Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Mysterious North 2002 Description / Buy
2 Chesapeake Crimes 2004 Description / Buy
3 Powers of Detection 2004 Description / Buy
4 Chesapeake Crimes II 2006 Description / Buy
5 Chesapeake Crimes 3 2008 Description / Buy
6 Chesapeake Crimes: They Had It Comin' 2010 Description / Buy
7 Chesapeake Crimes: This Job Is Murder! 2012 Description / Buy
8 Chesapeake Crimes: Homicidal Holidays 2014 Description / Buy
9 Homicidal Holidays 2014 Description / Buy
10 Chesapeake Crimes: Storm Warning 2016 Description / Buy
11 Silent Night, Deadly Night 2016 Description / Buy
12 Cozy Case Files, A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Volume 9 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Her debut book in the Meg Langslow series – Murder with Peacocks – was published in 1999. The book was highly successful, and won several awards. Since then, she has written a total of 20 books in the series. Donna Andrew has also written The Turing Hopper series, which has a total of four books, including You’ve Got Murder (2002) and Click Here for Murder (2003). In addition, the author has written several short stories between 2004 and 2012. This includes, “A Rat’s Tale” in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine (2007) and “The Plan” in Chesapeake Crimes 4: They Had It Comin’ (2010).


Donna Andrews’ fiction work has received several industry awards throughout the years. Here are some of the notable awards and nominations:

Murder With Peacocks: This debut book in The Meg Langslow series was published in 1999. It won the St. Martins Press Best First Traditional Mystery Contest in 1998, Agatha Award for Best First Novel in 1999, Romantic Times Reviewers Choice Award for Best First Novel in 1999, Anthony Award for Best First Novel in 2000, Barry Award for Best First Novel in 2000, Lefty Award for The Funniest Mystery of 1999 in 2000 and was also a Finalist for the Dilys Award in 2000.

Revenge of the Wrought Iron Flamingos: This is the third book in The Meg Langslow series. It was nominated in 2009 for the Lefty Award.

You’ve Got Murder: This is the first novel in Turing Hopper series. It won Agatha Awrad in 2002 for Best Novel. It was also a finalist for the Dilys Award in 2003.

Crouching Buzzard, Leaping Loon: This is the fourth book in The Meg Langslow series. In 2003, it received the Agatha Award nomination for The Best Novel. In the same year, it won the Toby Bromberg Award for Most Humorous Mystery. In 2004, it was nominated for both the Lefty Award as well as the Dilys Award.

We’ll Always Have Parrots: This is the fifth book in The Meg Langslow series. It was nominated for Agatha Award for Best Novel in 2004. In 2005, it won the Lefty Award.


Here are 2 of Donna Andrews’ best books in The Meg Langslow series:

Murder With Peacocks (1999): The novel is set in Yorktown, Virginia and the main character is Meg Langslow, who is an outstanding amateur sleuth and very successful decorative blacksmith. In her small hometown, Meg is the maid of honor at the nuptials of 3 of her loved ones – her best friend, her brother’s fiancé and her mother. All of these people have dumped all the planning in Meg’s capable hands, which makes her apprehensive, but she is determined to do her best. One bride would like to have live peacocks on her lawn, while another wants a native American herbal purification ceremony included as part of her wedding. Amid the hostility from neighbors and lack of cooperation from relatives, the only person who keeps Meg afloat is from the gorgeous hunk in town, who to her disappointment is rumored to be gay.

Due to the strained hospitality in the town, an offensive and unpleasant newcomer disappears and is later found murdered under suspicious circumstances after she hinted that some guests have skeletons in their closets. What follows after her death is a series of fatal accidents, which leaves everyone afraid. Now apart from planning for the three weddings, Meg has one more thing on her long to do list – to catch the killer before she becomes the next victim.

Murder With Puffins (2000): This is the second book in The Meg Langslow series. In order to escape from her family, Meg Langslow together with her boyfriend goes to a small island off the coast of Maine. However, what should have been a romantic getaway soon becomes a disaster.

When they arrive there, they’re marooned by a hurricane, but this is just the beginning of their numerous problems. When the couple arrives at the house, they find Meg’s parents and siblings, along with their spouses waiting for them. When a murder takes place, Meg’s father becomes the main suspect. She soon realizes that she cannot cozy up with her boyfriend they way she wants to. She must first do every within her power to clear her father’s name.

When Does The Next Donna Andrews book come out?

Donna Andrews doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Gift of the Magpie and was released on October, 13th 2020. It is the newest book in the Meg Langslow Series.