Chesapeake Crimes Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Chesapeake series is a set of six anthologies by several award-winning authors including Donna Andrews, Barb Goffman, Marcia Talley, and David Autrey among many others. The first of the Chesapeake crime mystery anthologies was Chesapeake Crimes I, published in 2004.

Get notified when Donna Andrews releases a new book at

Order of Chesapeake Crimes Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Chesapeake Crimes (By: Donna Andrews) 2004 Description / Buy
2 Chesapeake Crimes 3 (By: Donna Andrews, Marcia Talley, Carla Coupe) 2008 Description / Buy
3 Chesapeake Crimes: Fur, Feathers, and Felonies (By: Donna Andrews, Shari Randall, Carla Coupe) 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The authors of the Chesapeake crime series share one important trait – they all live in Chesapeake Bay region. As such, most of the crime series in the anthology are set in Chesapeake Bay. What makes the short stories so great is that even as different authors write the stories, they all succinctly portray tension, character, in short stories that end in satisfying climaxes.

The first anthology in the Chesapeake Crimes series, the Chesapeake Crimes I is a collection of short stories from some of the best authors in detective mystery crime writing today. The series has stories from authors that are Agatha, Anthony, and Edgar Award winners. The series takes a balanced approach by having narratives from newcomers and bestsellers alike, thus catering for the nostalgic fans who want to read the established writers, and those that need fresh material from budding writers.

These are tales of murder, mayhem, and mystery from some of Chesapeake Bay region’s most gifted mystery crime authors. The common theme in the stories is that of misdirection and chaos. This means that you likely will not get a chance to be too comfortable on the edge of your seat given all the suspense. Donna Andrews serves as both author and editor of the series with the forewords done by Laura Lippman.


The series has been a recipient of many wards over the years given that it has some of the largest pools of talented crime writers today. Some of its awards include a Macavity Award nomination for and four nominations for the Agatha Awards. Elaine Viets’s Wedding Knife won the 2004 Agatha Award for Best Short story, while Marcia Talley’s Driven to Distraction won the same award in 2003. Art Taylor’s Parallel Play is nominated for an Agatha Award for Best Short Story.


Chesapeake Crimes: Homicidal Holidays: The sixth volume of the anthology series, Chesapeake Crimes: Homicidal Holidays is one of the most popular of the Chesapeake Crime series. The series has stories from writers who have won the Macavity, Derringer, Anthony, and Agatha Awards. The holiday themed anthology features stories from Donna Andrews, Clyde Linsley, Debbi Mack, Linda Lombardi, and Timothy Bentler-Jungr among others. The theme of the series is murder during the holidays, which makes for one very fun anthology, as who does not like a murder mystery at a family meet-up.

Chesapeake Crimes: Storm Warning: The sixth installment of the Chesapeake Crimes series is another incredible novel. The anthology features writers such as Robin Templeton, Art Taylor, Wilski Strong, Silberman Marianne, Donna Andrews, and Shaun Taylor among many others. With the theme of the series being weather, the diabolical sisters of the crime series have had to up their game in offering great stories with such a hard to write for them. But the anthology does not disappoint, as the authors combine to write stories that relish and embrace aspects of weather such as the sun’s glare, hurricanes, snowstorms, and rain to provide delightful fun packed stories.

Chesapeake Crimes 3: Another fan favorite in the Chesapeake Crimes series. Focusing on the rural areas of Chesapeake Bay, the stories in the anthology tell of the fears, joys, and strong winds that characterize Chesapeake Bay. Reading the anthology is an exhortation to lock your doors in the countryside just as you would in the city. The anthology offers a different perspective of the seemingly mild-mannered Midwest, by asserting that even as you enjoy the great weather you need to watch out for danger, which could come from anywhere.


Many fans of the Chesapeake Crimes series also like the “Josie Pigeon mystery” series by Valerie Wolzien. These novels are more of cozy mysteries featuring Josie Pigeon a construction contractor who is forced into amateur sleuthing when persons close to her turn up dead. Chesapeake crime series fans also loved the “A Camilla MacPhee Mystery” series. Camilla MacPhee is an advocacy agent for victims of violent crime, who finds herself sucked into amateur detective work when her close associates and friends turn up dead or in prison for homicides, they did not commit.

What Is The Next Book in The Chesapeake Crimes Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Chesapeake Crimes Series. The newest book is Chesapeake Crimes: Fur, Feathers, and Felonies and was released on March, 15th 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *