Turing Hooper Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Turing Hopper is the lead character in the Turing Hopper series of novels by American author, Donna Andrews. The Turing Hopper character was introduced to readers in the debut novel in the series, You’ve Got Murder, published in 2002.

Get notified when Donna Andrews releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Turing Hopper Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 You've Got Murder ( By: Donna Andrews) 2002 Description / Buy
2 Click Here For Murder ( By: Donna Andrews) 2003 Description / Buy
3 Access Denied ( By: Donna Andrews) 2004 Description / Buy
4 Delete All Suspects ( By: Donna Andrews) 2005 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Turing Hopper is a highly sophisticated artificial intelligence personality, created by Zach a genius techie. The artificial intelligence personality (AIP) is similar to Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple, in that it has an innate investigative capacity. The AIP takes its name from Grace Hopper and Alan Turing, two of the world’s artificial intelligence pioneers. Turing the AIP uses its vast computing and analytical power to solve a range of mysteries.

The first novel in the series, You’ve Got Murder sees Turing Hopper get involved in trying to find Zach Malone his programmer, who has mysteriously gone missing. While Turing is housed at the University Library in Crystal City, she does everything in her power including asking Zach’s colleagues Maude Graham a secretary, and Tim Pincoski a Xeroxcist for help. The need to investigate her programmer’s disappearance takes Turing beyond what she was made for as she ventures into the unknown waters of corporate murder, danger, and espionage.

In scenes eerily reminiscent of Big Brother, Turing takes control of surveillance cameras and uses its capacity to dig up and invade data and files all over the city. The search for Zack turns into a high-tech investigation that involves Turing’s plans and thoughts, which eerily sound human, making for one great science fiction narrative.


The first novel in the series, You’ve Got Murder was a finalist for the 2003 Dily Award, and won the Agatha Award for Best Novel in 2002.


Delete all Suspects The fourth novel in the Turing Hopper series is one of the most popular novels in the series. Private Investigator Pincoski Tim and his best friend Turing Hoper have been hired to investigate hit and run, which had put Eunice’s Stallman’s 22-year-old grandson in hospital. Surprisingly, Stallman wants the two whizzes to investigate the grandson’s computer company rather than the hit and run incident. With the mysteries quickly multiplying, the two sleuths are beginning to think that the victim’s grandmother may know much more than she is letting on. In a story full of twists and turns, Turing unearths some groundbreaking information, but is now unable to inform the FBI without revealing that she is an artificial intelligence.

Access Denied: Another award-winning novel in the Turing Hopper series is the third novel in the series, Access Denied. AIP Turing Hopper has been watching Nestor Garcia main credit cards for signs of criminal activity. It is not long before thousands of dollars in suspect transactions begin pouring in, which Turing quickly traces to vacant houses in the city. Working with her human friends Maude and Tim, the three set out to investigate Garcia’s transactions. But things go horribly wrong when a dead body is found in the vacant house that Tim was watching, making him the only plausible suspect. When Maude finds that someone had tried to break into her house, Turing suspects that Nestor Garcia could be onto them and was setting them up. They are now racing against time to prevent Tim going down for a murder he did not commit, while trying to find evidence against the cunning Garcia.

You’ve Got Murder: The multiple award winning first novel in the series, You’ve Got Murder is another novel that is highly popular with fans. Turing Hopper the artificial intelligence personality programmed by Zack, a computer genius, senses that there may be foul play involved when her programmer fails to turn up for work under mysterious circumstances. What follows is an intense investigation that showcases the development of AI in a world in which humanity is intertwined with machine in an uncannily effective collaboration.


Fans of the Turing Hopper series also love the “Kelling & Bittersohn” series by Charlotte MacLeod. These novels feature an art detective named Max Bittersohn and his socially connected wife Sarah Kelling, who are experts at solving complex and ancient murder plots. Many Turing Hopper fan also enjoy the “Em Hansen Mystery” series by Sarah Andrews. Em Hansen is an experienced geologist who faces up to greedy politicians, chauvinist bosses, shady politicians, and corruption in the oild industry, which often times leaves her trying to solve mysterious murder plots, chase and evade ruthless killers, rather than find oil.

What Is The Next Book in The Turing Hopper Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Turing Hopper Series. The newest book is Delete All Suspects and was released on January, 1st 2005.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *