Milan Jacovich Books

Milan Jacovich is the name given to a series of crime fiction novels written by Les Roberts and which feature a witty private investigator doing what he can to help those who seek his services.

Order of Milan Jacovich Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Pepper Pike 1988 Description / Buy
2 Full Cleveland 1989 Description / Buy
3 Deep Shaker 1991 Description / Buy
4 The Cleveland Connection 1993 Description / Buy
5 The Lake Effect 1994 Description / Buy
6 The Duke Of Cleveland 1995 Description / Buy
7 Collision Bend 1996 Description / Buy
8 The Cleveland Local 1997 Description / Buy
9 A Shoot in Cleveland 1998 Description / Buy
10 The Best-Kept Secret 1999 Description / Buy
11 The Indian Sign 2000 Description / Buy
12 The Dutch 2001 Description / Buy
13 The Irish Sports Pages 2002 Description / Buy
14 King of the Holly Hop 2008 Description / Buy
15 The Cleveland Creep 2011 Description / Buy
16 Whiskey Island 2012 Description / Buy
17 Win, Place, or Die 2013 Description / Buy
18 The Ashtabula Hat Trick 2015 Description / Buy
19 Speaking of Murder 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Milan Jacovich novels began publication in 1988 with Pepper Mike. The first novel in the series, Pepper Mike takes readers to Cleveland. There they meet Milan Jacovich, a PI that a high-powered advertising executive hires to protect him.

Jacovich goes to Richard Amber’s place of residence with the intention of doing just that. But he calls it a day when he gets there and Amber is nowhere to be found. It isn’t until Amber’s wife calls Jacovich and asks him to find her husband, who is now officially missing, that Jacovich begins to smell a rat.

His investigation takes Jacovich into the heights of wealth and depths of poverty in Cleveland, this as he faces off against mobsters and thugs.

It is during his harrowing journey to unravel Amber’s disappearance that readers begin to understand the nature of Jacovich. A former football player and ex-cop, Milan Jacovich is quite the larger man, larger than the average PI.

A Vietnam veteran with a master’s degree and blue-collar tastes, Jacovich is divorced and has only recently begun to dip his toes into the dating pool. Even though he mimics the traits of the average crime fiction PI on the outside, what with his witty persona, loner attitude and impressive deductive skills, Les Roberts, the author, elevates his hero above the competition by making Milan Jacovich so shockingly average.

Jacovich isn’t necessarily an outstanding detective. You won’t find him solving complicated mysteries with little more than the power of his mind. The PI simply does the work; he talks to people, collects clues and keeps knocking on doors until he yields some results.

It helps his case that the hero is so likable. Readers have praised Les Roberts for presenting Cleveland in the 1990s in an accurate manner. They specifically like the fact that he represents the mannerisms of the people so well, not to mention the wealth disparity and the language.

Female readers have also shown an appreciation for Les Robert’s penchant for writing realistic, respectable female characters that do not only exist to feed Milan Jacovich’s lusts and desires.

Jacovich, for his part, always respects the women he encounters in his stories. Each new Milan Jacovich novel finds the PI dealing with a new case.

Milan Jacovich Awards

The first novel in this series received an Anthony Award nomination (Best Novel) in 1989. Les Roberts also received a Shamus Award nomination for Lake Effect in 1995.

The Milan Jacovich books are relatively standard crime fiction novels featuring an outstanding male lead, a litany of curious supporting characters and a memorable setting, with some of the best titles in the series including:

Deep Shaker: Milan Jacovich is a great PI but he is an even better friend. So when a friend’s son starts selling drugs, he does not hesitate to ask Milan for help. The detective immediately jumps on the trail of the boy’s connections.

His work drags him into the seedy world of the narcotics business where he encounters murder and clashes with a realtor called Christmas. But Milan’s biggest challenge will be the drug gang he comes across, a group known more for their savagery than anything else.

The Cleveland Connection: Milan Jacovich is a Slovenian PI in Cleveland that generally steers clear of the conflict between the Serbs and Croats. So he isn’t too enthused to throw himself into the case of a young woman whose Serbian grandfather has gone missing.

In trying to locate the old man, Milan’s trail leads him to a mob hitman that just showed up in town.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Easy Rawlins” Series by Walter Mosley is another good one to check out. These books from the 1940s are bestselling mysteries that feature Ezekiel Rawlins, an African American Hard Boiled detective who fought in World War II and now operates out of Los Angeles.

The cases Rawlins investigates typically feature racial inequalities and social injustices. The majority of his clients are persons of color.

You may also enjoy the “Derek Strange and Terry Quinn” Series by George Pelecanos. Derek Strange is a successful black gentleman that was once a cop. Terry Quinn is white and barely holding on. He was also once a police officer. Derek and Terry work as Private Detectives in Washington DC.

What Is The Next Book in The Milan Jacovich Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Milan Jacovich Series. The newest book is Speaking of Murder and was released on July, 8th 2016.