Les Roberts Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Les Roberts is a renowned mystery book writer who widely known for the Saxon series and the Milan Jacovich book series. He was born on July 18, 1937, as Lester Robert to Eleanor Robert and Lester Nathaniel in Chicago Illinois. In the year 1868, he changed his name to Roberts. After completing his high school education, Roberts attended University of Illinois and Roosevelt University between the year 1954 and 1956. In the year, 1960 Roberts served as an army man in the United States army for two years. Les Roberts married Gail Medland in the year 1957; however, they only stayed married years, before they got a divorce. Les Roberts has two children Darren Jon and Valerie Lynne.

Order of Saxon Series

1An Infinite Number of Monkeys 1987Description / Buy
2Not Enough Horses 1988Description / Buy
3A Carrot for the Donkey 1989Description / Buy
4Snake Oil 1990Description / Buy
5Seeing the Elephant 1992Description / Buy
6The Lemon Chicken Jones 1994Description / Buy

Order of Milan Jacovich Series

1Pepper Pike 1988Description / Buy
2Full Cleveland 1989Description / Buy
3Deep Shaker 1991Description / Buy
4The Cleveland Connection 1993Description / Buy
5The Lake Effect 1994Description / Buy
6The Duke Of Cleveland 1995Description / Buy
7Collision Bend 1996Description / Buy
8The Cleveland Local 1997Description / Buy
9A Shoot in Cleveland 1998Description / Buy
10The Best-Kept Secret 1999Description / Buy
11The Indian Sign 2000Description / Buy
12The Dutch 2001Description / Buy
13The Irish Sports Pages 2002Description / Buy
14King of the Holly Hop 2008Description / Buy
15The Cleveland Creep 2011Description / Buy
16Whiskey Island 2012Description / Buy
17Win, Place, or Die 2013Description / Buy
18The Ashtabula Hat Trick 2015Description / Buy
19Speaking of Murder 2018Description / Buy

Order of Dominick Candiotti Series

1The Strange Death of Father Candy 2011Description / Buy
2Wet Work 2014Description / Buy

Order of Les Roberts Standalone Novels

1The Chinese Fire Drill 2001Description / Buy
2A Carol for Cleveland (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy

Order of Les Roberts Short Story Collections

1The Scent of Spiced Orange and Other Stories 2002Description / Buy

Order of Les Roberts Non-Fiction Books

1We'll Always Have Cleveland 2006Description / Buy

Order of World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories Series

1The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 1 2000Description / Buy
2The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 2 2000Description / Buy
3The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 3 2002Description / Buy
4The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 4 2003Description / Buy
5The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 5 2004Description / Buy

Les Roberts Anthologies

1 Feline and Famous1994Description / Buy
2 Murder on Route 661998Description / Buy
3 The Shamus Game2000Description / Buy
4 The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 22000Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Les Roberts began his writing career as a mystery writer, after working in Hollywood for more than twenty-four years, having produced or written more than two thousand five hundred, half hour segments of syndicated and network television. Roberts was the first head writer and producer of The Hollywood Squares and has written for various shows such as the Andy Griffith Show, The Lucy Show, The Man from U.N.C.L.E, and the Jackie Gleason Show. Les Roberts is mainly viewed as a regional writer. In the Milan Jacovich book series, Jacovich unlike a majority of the single and dashing private eyes is a Stroh’s drinking, battered and polka dancing Slovenian American and Vietnam veteran, former Kent football star and ex-cop. Jacovich has a strong willed ex-wife of Serbian origins and two children that he usually meets every Sunday.

Les Roberts Awards

Having worked both as a producer and writer, Les Roberts has been awarded and nominated for several awards including the Andy Sherwood Literary Award. In the year 1986, Les Roberts received the Best First Eye Contest Award. Later on in the year, 1988, he was awarded the Best First Novel, in the Anthony Award. Other awards include the Cleveland Literature Prize Awards and the Shamus Award.

Les Roberts Books into Movies

Despite the fact that any of Les Roberts’s books are to be adapted into films, Les Roberts has still been actively involved in the production of various Television series such as Foxbat, The Lucy Show, Turnaround, The Andy Griffith Show, The Man from U.N.C.LE and when Things were Rotten.

Best Les Roberts Books

As a critically acclaimed author, Les Roberts is known for the Milan Jacovich mystery series. One of the best performing books in the Milan Jacovich series is Pepper Mike. According to a majority of reviewers, Les Roberts did hit a bull’s eye with this installment. Unlike a majority of the debut novels, which are usually, slow starters where the author introduces the leading characters together with the world that they live in, Pepper Mike storyline on the other hand hits the ground from the very start and the readers are swept along in the wake of it. This storyline is full of twists and turns which will make you want to read more. As the main character, Milan Jacovich has all the aspects to be a great character. He is not only lonely but also cynical, wisecracking and capable of violence. He also did spend most of his time in bars and lived by his own incorruptible moral code. This is a genuinely fun to read story that takes place in Cleveland, Ohio. Deep Shaker is also another book that performed extremely well. Just like Pepper Mike, this installment is an intriguing book that is extremely hard to put down.

Another great book in this series is the Duke of Cleveland. Like all the other books in this series, this book has one of the most interesting plot and it is also great because once again we get to meet with the main character. Milan Jacovich is not a private investigator who has women falling all over him. Furthermore, Milan does not drive a fancy car. Instead of working in an office, Milan uses his apartment an office and as a committed husband, he is more than committed to make sacrifices. He loves his sons dearly and he hates deeply being a non-custodial parent. Jacovich accepts that he is exceedingly judgmental about certain things such as drug use. Like a majority of the Private Investigators, he also has numerous flaws such as taking advantage of his longtime friend who works in the Police Department.

With that being said, Robert is an exceedingly writer, who uses clever metaphors and allusions that stand out. He manages to make Cleveland extremely interesting together with the city’s working class history. The writing is top-notch while the characters are well-developed.

When Does The Next Les Roberts book come out?

Les Roberts doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Speaking of Murder and was released on June, 4th 2018. It is the newest book in the Milan Jacovich Series.


1 thought on “Les Roberts”

  1. Much like Drew Carey, Les Roberts clearly thinks that Cleveland Rocks! After reading some of the books in the Milan Jacovich series I am finding myself agreeing. Roberts paints Cleveland in a way that many other great authors have painted their own hometowns. He paints Jacovich with a real working guy attitude and fills the books with neighborhood color and crazy characters.

    As the series has worn on the books have varied in quality, but the characters and the local flavor always keep me coming back.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *