Murray Family Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Hannah Howell is an American bestseller that writes historical romances. A descendant of America’s original colonists, Howell is a wife and mother who met her husband during a trip to England.

Get notified when Hannah Howell releases a new book at

Order of Murray Family Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Highland Destiny ( By: Hannah Howell) 1998 Description / Buy
2 Highland Honor ( By: Hannah Howell) 1999 Description / Buy
3 Highland Promise ( By: Hannah Howell) 1999 Description / Buy
4 Highland Vow ( By: Hannah Howell) 2000 Description / Buy
5 Highland Knight ( By: Hannah Howell) 2001 Description / Buy
6 Highland Bride ( By: Hannah Howell) 2002 Description / Buy
7 Highland Angel ( By: Hannah Howell) 2003 Description / Buy
8 Highland Barbarian ( By: Hannah Howell) 2006 Description / Buy
9 Highland Savage ( By: Hannah Howell) 2007 Description / Buy
10 Highland Wolf ( By: Hannah Howell) 2008 Description / Buy
11 Highland Sinner ( By: Hannah Howell) 2008 Description / Buy
12 Highland Protector ( By: Hannah Howell) 2010 Description / Buy
13 Highland Hero (By: Hannah Howell) 2010 Description / Buy
14 Highland Avenger ( By: Hannah Howell) 2012 Description / Buy
15 Highland Master ( By: Hannah Howell) 2013 Description / Buy
16 Highland Guard ( By: Hannah Howell) 2015 Description / Buy
17 Highland Chieftain ( By: Hannah Howell) 2016 Description / Buy
18 Highland Devil ( By: Hannah Howell) 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Their marriage has lasted decades, producing various children and grandchildren. Howell is luckier than most aspiring writers because she discovered her passion for the written word at an early age.

The author knew that romance was her calling because every story she tried to pen would always involve a man and a woman falling in love. She cannot imagine writing in any other genre.

Howell is particularly opposed to mystery because she’s terrible at drawing out clues. She started putting pen to paper in 1983. Five years later, she sold two books. Having become a stay-at-home mother at the age of 21, the author had more time than most to pursue her publishing dreams.

She initially experimented with American and English historicals before finally making Scottish romance her primary focus. The sub-genre appeals to her because the Scottish highlands have a rich history. The Scots lived a tribal life that encouraged animosity against the English and one another.

Their history creates plenty of opportunities for intense romances. Howell doesn’t tour Scotland as frequently as she would like. She visits her in-laws once a year. When her sons were young, they would spend three weeks in England.

One of those weeks was spent sightseeing. But it wasn’t enough to satisfy the author’s curiosity. Although she doesn’t regret those visits because they gave her a proper feel of the nation’s history and landscapes.

She continues to explore Scottish clans and their epic sagas. You won’t find her fans complaining. Her career has grown steadily over the years even though she doesn’t spend as much time promoting her work as her peers.

Howell expects her impeccable storytelling to do all the difficult work when it comes to attracting new readers. She has no interest in self-publishing because she prefers to focus on writing while other people deal with editing and creating cover art.

It takes the author roughly six months to complete a manuscript. She starts with the characters before crafting the plot. She does a lot of scribbling along the way. Howell would like nothing better than to type each manuscript directly on a computer.

But she can’t. For some reason, her mind prefers to write the story the old fashion way before she types it on a computer. Fortunately, this two-step process allows her to edit as she types. The author doesn’t restrict herself to one book.

The manuscript with the looming deadline gets most of her attention. However, she also works on a second book in the background. Brainstorming ideas for new novels is quite easy. Problems arise when new concepts tempt her to abandon her current project in favor of a new one.

She quiets those voices by scribbling the scenes and bits of dialog in her imagination down on scraps of paper.

Hannah Howell Awards

Howell is a Rita Award finalist. She has also received a Golden Leaf Award.

Best Hannah Howell Awards

The author is not a morning person. She does most of her work in the afternoon after drinking a few lattes. Howell’s best books include:

Highland Bride: Gillyanne Murray had other things on her mind when she journeyed to the dower lands she had received from her father’s people. The last thing she expected to find was three lairds hoping to win her hand in marriage.

Gillyane would have gladly refused them all. However, the only way to maintain the peace was to select a suitor. So she settled for Sir Connor MacEnroy, only to find that his heart was more closely guarded than hers.

Highland Conquerer: Lady Jolene Gerard had no choice. She had to grant the Scotsman his freedom. It was the only way she would escape Drumwich Castle with her young nephew before the murderous villains on her heels took action.

For Sigimor, his honor was on the line. He owed an Englishman a blood debt. And after failing to save him, Sigimor was left with one option. He would sacrifice life and limb to get the Englishman’s lovely sister to safety, even though his desire for her grew with each passing moment.

What Is The Next Book in The Murray Family Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Murray Family Series. The newest book is Highland Devil and was released on July, 31st 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *