Mythos Academy Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Mythos Academy is a series of paranormal romance novels written by Jennifer Estep. The books follow the exploits of a talented teenager struggling to survive the dangers of her magical school.

Get notified when Jennifer Estep releases a new book at

Order of Mythos Academy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 First Frost ( By: Jennifer Estep) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Touch of Frost ( By: Jennifer Estep) 2011 Description / Buy
3 Kiss of Frost ( By: Jennifer Estep) 2011 Description / Buy
4 Dark Frost ( By: Jennifer Estep) 2012 Description / Buy
5 Crimson Frost ( By: Jennifer Estep) 2012 Description / Buy
6 Spartan Frost ( By: Jennifer Estep) 2013 Description / Buy
7 Midnight Frost ( By: Jennifer Estep) 2013 Description / Buy
8 Halloween Frost (Short Story) ( By: Jennifer Estep) 2013 Description / Buy
9 Killer Frost ( By: Jennifer Estep) 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

First introduced to readers in Touch of Frost, the first novel in the Mythos Academy Series, Gwen Frost takes center stage as a psychic with a bad attitude. Gwen was pretty young when she lost her parents.

Life became a hassle after that, with Gwen learning to lean on her nerdy hobbies to escape the struggles that each day presented. Things change for the 17-year-old when she learns that she has a special psychic ability that allows her to glean information about an object’s past, present or future by simply touching it.

It is at this point that Gwen is forcibly taken to Mythos Academy, an institution where the descendants of mythological creatures and warriors come to master their special abilities, hone their hand-to-hand combat skills and accrue crucial knowledge about the supernatural landscape.

Gwen knows she doesn’t fit it from the moment she steps foot on Mythos Academy grounds. It isn’t just that the teenager doesn’t believe in the ancestry of her classmates or their claims of having special powers.

Rather, Gwen cannot get over the fact that the kids at Mythos Academy are all rich and privileged. And she goes to great pains to call them out on their snobbish attitudes, not to mention their sexually perverse ways.

That earns the girl little in the way of friends or admirers. But Gwen Frost doesn’t care. She just wants to get through her classes, gain an understanding of her gift and enjoy some of the wonders that Mythos Academy has to offer. She also wouldn’t mind getting some private time with Logan Quin, the resident bad boy and the crush of Gwen’s fantasies.

While the Mythos Academy series primarily focuses on Gwen’s day to day activities at the Academy, in particular, her classes, some mention is made of the Chaos War, a deadly conflict that once threatened the world and which could reignite if a mysterious group of actors has their way.

Gwen doesn’t know why but she seems to have a significant role to play in the future of the Academy and the world at large. She has attracted the attention of the Reapers of Chaos, entities that seek to unleash the evil god Loki.

The Mythos Academy books do not differ that drastically from the average paranormal romance novel and feature most of the same tropes, this including a virgin of a heroine that is far more special than she realizes and who cannot help but pine after a bad boy everyone knows is wrong for her.

The novels are most commonly criticised for their heroine. For many readers, Gwen is simply too whiny and incompetent a protagonist. She hates her classmates just because they are rich and privileged, and she makes a string of inexcusably foolish decisions throughout this series.

Mythos Awards

The first Mythos Academy novel was a finalist for the RITA Award (2012).

Best Mythos Academy Books

The Mythos Academy novels are written for audiences that love stories featuring angsty teens with identity crises that must save the world, with some of the best books in the series including:

Kiss of Frost: Gwendolyn is a student at Mythos Academy, an institution that helps magically inclined children to hone their powers. She’s just trying to get through the semester; though, having the guy who broke her heart teach her the ways of the sword will make that prospect so much more difficult.

When an invisible archer tries to take Gwen’s life, she realizes that a reaper might be roaming the halls of Mythos Academy.

Midnight Frost: Everyone is looking to Gwen for answers but she has none to offer. Things at Mythos Academy are getting dangerous. A reaper tried to poison her. They failed but their next victim wasn’t as lucky.

Gwen doesn’t know if she’s ready to lead the fight against the Reapers, not after everything she suffered. But with so many innocent lives on the line, Gwen must put her anxieties aside and find a cure for the Reaper’s deadly poison before they strike again.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another great book series to check out is the “Unicorn Blessed Chronicles” Series by Yumoyori Wilson. Celestia Rainbow is a unicorn shifter, the result of a union between a centaur and a magician. Her goal is to become a huntress at Aslan Academy, a task she undertakes when she turns 25.

You may also enjoy reading the “Crossbreed” Series by Dannika Dark. Raven Black is a half vampire, half mage who hunts evildoers in her spare time. She works for an organization called Keystone that keeps her in check.

What Is The Next Book in The Mythos Academy Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Mythos Academy Series. The newest book is Killer Frost and was released on January, 1st 2014.

1 thought on “Mythos Academy”

  1. Not to say I’m constantly looking for a replacement Harry Potter, but … I’m constantly searching for a replacement Harry Potter. These books (sort of) fill the Harry Potter-shaped hole in my heart.

    I enjoyed the variety of magical beings involved, from Spartans to Amazon and Ninjas to Gypsies. The author’s descriptions are EVERYTHING and she puts a fun twist on mythology. There is character growth and the novels themselves are paced well. Great, easy but fun reads!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *