No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Books

The Number 1 Ladies’ Detective series is a series of novels, which has a total of seventeen books and features the protagonist Mma Precious Ramotswe. The first installment in this series was published in the year 1998 while the last installment was published in the year 2016. The entire series takes place in the country of Botswana and unlike most books; the country of Botswana is a character as well and exceedingly crucial in the manner in which the story flows. The protagonist begins her detective work when she is only 34 years of age. By making use of the inheritance, she acquired from her father; Mma moves to Gaborone, the capital city of Botswana. She not only purchases a house but she also finds a suitable spot to place her office.

Order of No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency 1998 Description / Buy
2 Tears of the Giraffe 2000 Description / Buy
3 Morality for Beautiful Girls 2001 Description / Buy
4 The Kalahari Typing School for Men 2002 Description / Buy
5 The Full Cupboard of Life 2003 Description / Buy
6 In the Company of Cheerful Ladies 2004 Description / Buy
7 Blue Shoes and Happiness 2006 Description / Buy
8 The Good Husband of Zebra Drive 2007 Description / Buy
9 The Miracle at Speedy Motors 2008 Description / Buy
10 Tea Time for the Traditionally Built 2009 Description / Buy
11 The Double Comfort Safari Club 2010 Description / Buy
12 The Saturday Big Tent Wedding Party 2010 Description / Buy
13 The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection 2012 Description / Buy
14 The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon 2013 Description / Buy
15 The Handsome Man's De Luxe Café 2014 Description / Buy
16 The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine 2015 Description / Buy
17 Precious and Grace 2016 Description / Buy
18 The House of Unexpected Sisters 2017 Description / Buy
19 The Colors of all the Cattle 2018 Description / Buy
20 To the Land of Long Lost Friends 2019 Description / Buy
21 How to Raise an Elephant 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

As a detective, Mma feels the need to know about the local people and also to find solutions to the problems that they are facing. Mma solves cases for women and wives whose spouses have gone missing. From a school tutor whose son has been rendered missing only to be found by kidnappers to a wealthy father whose daughter has constantly been frustrating him by going out without any escort. However, her life is full of sorrow, since her child lived only for few days and her husband used to beat her up during the pregnancy. With that said, the series’ readership was exceedingly low at first; however, it started to gain immense popularity in England and the United States. As of the year 2004, the sales had exceeded 5 million copies. The novels in this series are not only about the adventures of the characters and also their foibles in solving a mystery.

No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Awards

None of the books in this series have been adapted for the screenplay.

Best No. 1 Ladies’ Detective-Agency Books

No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency Book 1: One of the best performing books in this series is the first installment in the series. In this book, we are introduced to one Mma Precious Ramotswe who has just decided to become a private detective after her abusive husband left her. Extreme sexism and violence against women with regards to African culture was extremely common in the book. As a person, Precious is a proud African, and despite the fact that she has a chip on her shoulder especially when it comes to men, she still acts very humanely and sharply. Despite the fact that this novel was designed to be a full-length novel, it is a series of vignettes and short stories about the protagonist Precious Mma, he life before and immediately after initiating her detective agency.

While working as a police detective, she is constantly taunted by men who ask as to whether anyone has ever seen or heard of a female police detective. Precious often responds by asking as to whether they have ever heard of Agatha Christie. Most of Mma’s first cases are not the kind of cases that you will see Ms. Marple working on. Ladies who suspect that their husband is cheating on them, fathers who believe that their daughters are constantly running around and colleagues who are more than determined to find out what their colleagues are going three are some of the cases that you will find in this installment.

However, while working on these cases, Precious Mma starts rubbing some criminal masterminds, witch doctors, and extremely powerful men the wrong way. Some of the short stories and pieces re exceedingly funny while some are exceedingly beautiful especially, the ones, which describe Botswana, while some are exceedingly sad.

Tears of the Giraffe: This is another novel, which performed extremely well in this series. It is a superbly written book because we do not need to know about the characters; thus the book has enough room for a carefully crafted and well-thought storyline. The author has managed to throw a heartwarming story, which is concerned mainly with the community and the characters instead of the mysteries within. Smith’s writing style in this installment is disingenuously simple, thus easy to read. The author has managed to find a perfect balance where he could introduce the reader to a different world and way of life without making the readers feel as if they do not belong.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another book series that you may like is the “Isabel Dalhousie” Series, which has also been written by McCall Smith. In this book, we are introduced to one Isabel Dalhousie who is a 40-year-old American spinster who was dumped by her one and true love, and now she lives a rather independent and quite life. Her life is exceedingly simple; she loves crosswords, coffee and editing her journal. This series is slightly different from all the other mystery series. You are going to love this series.

What Is The Next Book in The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series?

The next book in the The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series by Alexander McCall Smith is How to Raise an Elephant and will be released on October, 6th 2020.