Novel Idea Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The first day that a person reports to a new workplace is memorable. What if a murder throws a spanner in the works and augurs bad for those treasured memories? This is the drift of the storyline in the Order of Novel Idea series crafted by American wordsmith Ellery Adams.

Get notified when Lucy Arlington releases a new book at

Order of Novel Idea Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Buried in a Book (By: Lucy Arlington) 2012 Description / Buy
2 Every Trick in the Book ( By: Lucy Arlington) 2013 Description / Buy
3 Books, Cooks, and Crooks ( By: Lucy Arlington) 2013 Description / Buy
4 Played by the Book ( By: Lucy Arlington) 2015 Description / Buy
5 Off the Books ( By: Lucy Arlington) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

First and foremost, Lila Wilkins is the featured main character in the Order of Novel Idea series. The first book featuring protagonist Lila Wilkins was initially published in 2012, titled Buried in a Book; and the series of books is shelved under the mystery (cozy mystery sub-genre) and fiction genres.

Meet Lila Wilkins. Wilkins, who is a quadragenarian woman, is a seasoned journalist. Wilkins is conscientious, considerate, and humorous. On the flip side, she is excessively dramatic and more theoretical and relatively less practical. But she is somewhat an archetypal human being, with aspirations. In terms of family life, Wilkins is the mother of a teenage and purposeless son called Trey Wilkins. Trey, who soon has a run-in with the police, should be attending college but he has opined that he is not interested in college education. Wilkins also has a mother called Althea whom she moved in with after earmarking house as for sale; Wilkins’ mother is a past master at fortune-telling and can read palms too. Wilkins, who is weighed down by personal problems, is always grumbling about the rebellious and undisciplined son, and her shameful mother.

The first book in the Order of Novel Idea series, Buried in a Book, is set in the backdrop of Inspiration Valley upon North Carolina and chronicles the incidents that transpire–especially murders–hot on the heels of Lila Wilkins’ entry into the publishing industry. Unfortunately for Wilkins, the Dunston-based publication which she had been working for two decades has laid her off. She does not hesitate when she notices an internship at a flourishing North Carolina-based literary agency named A Novel Idea; the organization is run by a certain woman called Bentley Burlington-Duke. Incidentally, the series borrows its title from the name of the literary agency.

Wilkins’ reason for joining the agency is two-pronged. First, she is a voracious reader and thus excited at the prospect of reading and getting paid, because the new job involves reading and reacting to query letters received from prospective authors. Secondly, she has been angling for joining the publishing industry. Wilkins’ first day at the job turns out to be out-and-out dramatic. She is assigned a stack of query letters, amounting to hundreds wherein she is mandated to pinpoint a possible bestselling writer. Worse still, a homeless man-cum-prospective author called Marlette Robbins dies suddenly and unexpectedly in the premises. Strangely, the rest of the workforce ignores the dead man.

Robbins had been bombarding the agency with flowers and a quick succession of query letters. His efforts were ignored; the agency’s employees thought there was nothing to write home about his so-called writing skills. The local authorities are too busy to care about the poor man. Wilkins thinks that it was not a random death and amid another incident, wherein a colleague has been murdered, delves into her extensive working experience to bring justice to the deceased. The manner in which Ellery Adams crafts this unputdownable book will whet the readers’ appetite for more.

Best Order of Novel Idea Series Books

The following are the best books in the Order of Novel Idea series authored by Ellery Adams.

Buried In A Book: Ordinarily, Buried in a Book is the best; refer to the previous section for an extensive description.

Every Trick in the Book: This is the second book in the Order of Novel Idea series and was first published in 2013. Hereby, Wilkins is at a literary festival wherein she chances upon double murders: her doppelganger and another flourishing writer. She is angling for reconciling the two deaths.

Books, Cooks, and Crooks This the third in the Order of Novel Idea series and was first published in 2013. Hereby, a famed cook dies during a cooking exhibition in what is presumed murder. The other many cooks present are persons of interest and it is difficult to smoke out the perpetrator.

Other Books You May Like

Readers who read the Order of Novel Idea by Ellery Adams also looked for the following series of books. The first one is called “Black Cat Bookshop Mystery” series authored by Ali Brandon. It features protagonist Darla Pettistone, who runs a bookshop; and antagonist Hamlet, a smart fat cat. Other than trading books, both are sleuthing a series of murders. The second one is called “Raven’s Nest” series penned by Allison Kingsley. It features protagonists Clara Quinn and Stephanie Quinn; both operate a bookshop wherein bibliophiles seek revered collections. They are at loggerheads with a local lobbyist and thus become suspects in the lobbyist’s murder, prompting Clara to use her psychic gift for exoneration.

The third one is called “Clueless Cook Mystery” series penned by Liz Lipperman. Protagonist Jordan McAllister, who is a novice food critic, is sleuthing a series of suspicious deaths lest she be fingered for the murders.

What Is The Next Book in The Novel Idea Mysteries Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Novel Idea Mysteries Series. The newest book is Off the Books and was released on February, 2nd 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *