Odd Thomas Books

Odd Thomas is a twenty year old male who works as a fry cook in Pico Mundo (a fictional desert town in California). He can make himself heard by and see spirits of the dead. They can only signal to him and mouth words to him, and even help him prevent certain things from happening, but they cannot talk to him in a way that he can hear. At times, the spirits that talk to odd want justice for something that happened long ago. And over the course of the novels, he even talks to different dead celebrities like Alfred Hitchcock, Elvis Presley, and Frank Sinatra. Besides having a unique gift to see spirits, he also has some writing ability. His odd name is an error that found it’s way onto his birth certificate; he was supposed to be named either Dodd or Todd, just like his uncle who Odd has never met. He has his girlfriend Stormy Llewllyn, and is one of three people who know about his gift. The other two are the local police chief (Wyatt Porter) with whom Odd helps solve crimes from time to time and a local reclusive and eccentric author friend (Little Ozzie ) that he has.

Order of Odd Thomas Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Odd Thomas 2003 Description / Buy
2 Forever Odd 2005 Description / Buy
3 Brother Odd 2006 Description / Buy
4 Odd Hours 2008 Description / Buy
5 Odd Interlude 2012 Description / Buy
6 Odd Apocalypse 2012 Description / Buy
7 Deeply Odd 2013 Description / Buy
8 You Are Destined To Be Together Forever (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy
9 Saint Odd 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Odd Thomas Graphic Novels Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 In Odd We Trust 2008 Description / Buy
2 Odd Is on Our Side 2010 Description / Buy
3 House of Odd 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series is a series of thriller novels and the first of which came out in 2003, with novels coming out two years or so. The series is meant to be read in order, without a while lot of skipping around (this includes the short stories). Not only are there seven novels to the series, but there are also some short stories and graphic novels (that serve as prequels to the first novel) and even some webisodes that help fill in the gap between “Brother Odd” and “Odd Hours”.


“Saint Odd” won Goodreads Choice Award for Horror award in 2015. The first installment of the series is also a New York Times Bestseller.


The first novel in the series, “Odd Thomas”, was made into a movie that was released in 2013. It starred Anton Yelchin as Odd Thomas and Willem Dafoe.


Novels in the “Odd Thomas” series that stand out among the rest are “Odd Thomas”, “Forever Odd”, and “Saint Odd”.

Odd Thomas: The first novel in the series and a great place to start; as it introduces everything to the reader. Odd has to stop a new guy who comes to the town of Pico Mundo looking to bring a catastrophe. Odd has to race against time to stop it before things go terribly wrong. He realizes right from the first time he meets the new man (after dubbing him Fungus Man) that there is not something quite right about the guy, and finds out that not only is the guy a bodach (an evil spirit that feasts on pain whose presence alerts those who know that violence is on the way)

Forever Odd: The sequel to “Odd Thomas”, the novel takes place just six months after the first novel. Odd finds out that his friend Danny from when he was a kid has been kidnapped, and Danny’s step-dad has been murdered in a brutal manner. The assumption, at first, is that the boy’s father who has just been released from prison has kidnapped his son. Through his psychic abilities, Odd is able to find Danny, and he tells Odd that he met a woman through sketchy means and he informed the woman of Odd’s gift. So she kidnapped him in order to meet Odd.

Saint Odd: The final novel in the series. Odd’s return to Pico Mundo sees him coming under attack from the cult that he came up against in other books in the series. He is able to get himself to a safe house where he runs into Mrs. Fischer, someone he helped in another novel.


For those who enjoy the “Odd Thomas series, here are some other series that you may also want to check out.

The “Sandman Slim” series by Richard Kadrey. The series stars James Stark, a man who died and went to hell and spent eleven years working as a hitman. He was able to escape and made it to the hell that is Los Angeles.

“Pretty Little Dead Things” by Gary McMahon. The series stars Thomas Usher, a man who loses his wife and daughter and gains the ability to see the recently departed, and it is usually pretty bad.

What Is The Next Book in The Odd Thomas Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Odd Thomas Series. The newest book is Saint Odd and was released on January, 8th 2015.