Oregon Coast / Seavy Village Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Oregon Coast/Seavy Village is the work of Kristine Kathryn Rusch, a series of novels that blend the natural and the supernatural. The books are called so because they take place in towns and villages along the Oregon Coast.

Order of Oregon Coast / Seavy Village Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Facade 1993 Description / Buy
2 The Devil's Churn 1996 Description / Buy
3 Fantasy Life 2003 Description / Buy
4 The One That Got Away (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy
5 Jury Duty (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy
6 Familiar Territory 2010 Description / Buy
7 The Women of Whale Rock 2010 Description / Buy
8 Disaster Relief 2010 Description / Buy
9 Saving Face 2010 Description / Buy
10 Spinning (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy
11 Searching for the Familiar 2010 Description / Buy
12 Strange Creatures 2010 Description / Buy
13 Blind (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy
14 The Light in Whale Cove 2011 Description / Buy
15 Kuchen (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
16 Forest for the Trees (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
17 Fit to Print (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
18 The Disappearance of Wicked (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
19 Incident at Lonely Rocks (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
20 Ghosts of Christmas Present (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
21 Cat Nap (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
22 Unnatural Disaster (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
23 Death and Taxes (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Seavy County also makes an appearance from time to time, though it is the Oregon Coast that most commonly connects the books. First published in the early 2000s, the Oregon Coast/Seavy Village books can be read as standalones.

When the series first kicks things off with Fantasy Life, the first of the Oregon Coast/Seavy Village books, readers are immediately made aware of the paranormal occurrences that inundate the rugged stretch of Oregon’s coastline.

It isn’t just the violent storms that assault the coast from time to time, this while the rest of the state seems to bask in the glory of the sun. There are also the creatures people frequently glimpse in the darkness; shadows that are not quite shadows, beings that are so much more than human.

Fantasy Life primarily focuses on the story of the Buckingham Family, and in particular Lyssa Buckingham and her daughter. Lyssa grew up in Seavy County on the Oregon Coastline.

She saw the mythical creatures that skimmed the surface of the sea; she witnessed the magic of Seavy County, the benign powers that shared her home. She also observed the passing of darker powers, dangerous forces that stole her father’s life and threatened to tear her family apart.

Lyssa fled the Oregon Coast because she wanted to pursue a normal life. But then her daughter was born and circumstances conspired to drive her back to Seavy County. This was as the same powers that killed her father stirred once more.

While Fantasy Life lays the foundation for the Oregon Coast/Seavy Village series, in particular, the setting, none of the elements introduced within its pages are essential to the understanding of any of the stories told in the sequels.

Most of the Oregon Coast novels stand on their own. They introduce readers to new characters living in different pockets of the Oregon Coastline. Each novel attempts to explore a new aspect of the Oregon Coast, a manifestation of the supernatural and the paranormal that has risen to either threaten the Oregon Coast or to assist its heroes in preventing some sort of disaster.

The Oregon Coast books walk the line between fantasy and horror. The characters at the center of Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s stories are often shocked to discover that their fellow humans are somehow far more nefarious than the supernatural powers in play.

Many of the Oregon Coast/Seavy village books were inspired by Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s own personal experiences.

Best Oregon Coast/Seavy Village Books

The Oregon Coast novels are often commended for being some of the most inventive and original Rusch has ever written, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Light in Whale Cove: Whale Rock is a dangerous little town. Certainly, its inhabitants know peace. But Sheriff Dan Retsler also knows that there are unseen forces swirling beneath. There was a time when Dan would have casually dismissed all the stories of magic and myth surrounding his home.

But then unexpected circumstances exposed him to the true face of Whale Rock. Now Dan knows that magic is real. For a time, Dan thought he could weather the implications of such a realization.

But now he’s had his fill. Dan is ready to leave his magical town behind for some normalcy elsewhere. But before he can move on, Dan must train his successor, preparing him for what he can expect.

This is as a new haunting emerges around the lighthouse.

Cap Nap: Triwell lives in Seavy Village on the Oregon Coast. And he knows something about the eerie magic that can sometimes hang over the coastline. The owner of an antiquarian bookstore, Triwell thought he had lost everything that mattered.

But then the cat came into the picture and she injected into his life a mystery he cannot help but try and solve no matter the cost.

Other Book Series You May Like

A really great read in this genre is the “House of Night” Series by P. C. Cast and Kristin Cast. Zoey Redbird is a sixteen-year-old girl who might have lived a normal life if she hadn’t joined the ranks of the supernatural. Now a fledgling vampire, Zoey must attend the House of Night Boarding School.

Another good read is “The Secret Circle” Series by L.J. Smith. Cassie Blake is a gifted teenage girl who joins six other teenage witches, battles the dark force plaguing their town and contends with a complicated love triangle.

What Is The Next Book in The Oregon Coast / Seavy Village Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Oregon Coast / Seavy Village Series. The newest book is Unnatural Disaster and was released on January, 2nd 2013.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.