Plantagenet & Tudor Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

If you love Philippa Gregory, the Plantagenet & Tudor collection of novels might actually sound alien to you.

Order of Plantagenet and Tudor Series

1The Other Boleyn Girl2001Description / Buy
2The Queen's Fool2003Description / Buy
3The Virgin's Lover2004Description / Buy
4The Constant Princess2005Description / Buy
5The Boleyn Inheritance2006Description / Buy
6The Other Queen2008Description / Buy
7The White Queen2009Description / Buy
8The Red Queen2010Description / Buy
9The Lady of the Rivers2011Description / Buy
10The Kingmaker's Daughter2012Description / Buy
11The White Princess2013Description / Buy
12The King's Curse2014Description / Buy
13The Taming of the Queen2015Description / Buy
14Three Sisters, Three Queens2016Description / Buy
15The Last Tudor2017Description / Buy

Chronological Order of Plantagenet and Tudor Series

1The Lady of the Rivers2011Description / Buy
2The White Queen2009Description / Buy
3The Red Queen2010Description / Buy
4The Kingmaker's Daughter2012Description / Buy
5The White Princess2013Description / Buy
6The Constant Princess2005Description / Buy
7The King's Curse2014Description / Buy
8Three Sisters, Three Queens2016Description / Buy
9The Other Boleyn Girl2001Description / Buy
10The Boleyn Inheritance2006Description / Buy
11The Taming of the Queen2015Description / Buy
12The Queen's Fool2003Description / Buy
13The Virgin's Lover2004Description / Buy
14The Last Tudor2017Description / Buy
15The Other Queen2008Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In fact, you are probably more familiar with Cousins War and Tudor Court, Gregory’s extensive series of novels which chronicle the exploits of Englands most contentious line of royals.

Well, in truth, Plantagenet & Tudor is simply the title chosen to represent the amalgamation of the Tudor and Cousins War series. Most people are familiar with the Tudor stories primarily because of all the literature that has been produced about them.

The Plantagenet is not nearly as well known among mainstream readers, which is probably one of the reasons why Philippa Gregory‘s work caused a bit of a stir when her books where first published.

The Plantagenet & Tudor series was neither written nor published in order. For instance, the first novel Gregory wrote was The Other Boleyn Girl. Her most popular work, the book provided a glimpse into King Henry VIIIs tumultuous relationship with his Queen, Katherine of Aragon.

History enthusiasts will tell you that King Henry VIII was quite smitten by Katherine. But then her failure to conceive a son drove him into the arms of Mary Boleyn, the young daughter of an esteemed family who was compelled by her house to take advantage of Henrys wandering eye.

While most tales of the Tudors emphasize Anne Boleyns role in the internal strife that followed, Gregory’s novel throws the spotlight onto Mary, Annes sister, normally forgotten by history but no less important.

It is through The Other Boleyn Girl that a lot of readers encounter Gregory’s Plantagenet & Tudor series. But according to the author, the first novel in her series, for those who care enough to read the collection in chronological order, has to be The Lady of the Rivers.

The novel follows Jacquetta of Luxembourg. It is primarily concerned with the reign of King Henry VI. From there, one must traverse the rest of the Cousins War via titles like The White Queen and The Kingmakers Daughter before entering the Tudor Court section of the series with books like Three Sisters, Three Queens and The Other Boleyn Girl.”

Philippa Gregory’s books are historical fiction. She makes an effort to maintain the integrity of the historical figures and events that feature in her work.

However, her stories always boast a strong element of romance. Gregory believes that most people know the barebones of the Plantagenet and Tudor stories. However, while they typically celebrate the Kings, Princes, and Dukes that drove the conflicts, little attention has been given to the women who worked behind the scenes to shape Britains most violent era.

The Plantagenet & Tudor series gifts these women with voices, giving them strength and independence that was rarely seen among women in those ancient days.

Plantagenet & Tudor Awards

The Other Boleyn Girl won the Romantic Novel of the Year Award in 2002. The Constant Princess was nominated for a Baileys Womens Prize for fiction and a Sainsburys Popular Fiction Award.

The Red Queen was nominated for a Sainsburys Popular Fiction Award.

Plantagenet & Tudor Books into Movies

The Other Boleyn Girl was adapted into a television drama by the BBC. The 2003 production was relatively cheap and it didnt draw much interest.

A second adaptation of The Other Boleyn Girl followed in 2008. This one featured Scarlett Johansson and Natalie Portman as Mary and Anne Boleyn.

The White Queen, The White Princess, and The Spanish Princess are television miniseries that were adapted from The Cousins War section of the Plantagenet & Tudor series.

Best Plantagenet & Tudor Books

Philippa Gregory has been praised for writing strong female characters set in an era where women had no rights, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Other Boleyn Girl: When Mary comes to court at 14 and catches the eye of King Henry VIII, she does not realize that she is merely a pawn for her familys goals, not until she is forced aside and her sister, Anne, takes her place. If Mary is to change her destiny, she must take bold action.

The Constant Princess: Katherine was betrothed to Arthur, Prince of Wales, at an early age. She was raised with the belief that she would become Queen of England. But when Arthur dies, stranding her in the Tudor Court, she must defy the odds and tell the greatest lie of all.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another good read is the “Casteel” Series by V.C. Andrews. To most people, the Casteels are the scum of the hills, and Heaven Leigh Casteel knows this. But despite great odds which include her dirty clothes and her mean father and her weary stepmother, nothing will stop Leigh from finding the love, respect, and power she knows she deserves.

You may also like “The Marquess House” Series by Alexandra Walsh. Doctor Perdita Rivers and her twin sister are estranged from their grandmother, Mary Fitzroy. When the renowned Tudor historian dies and leaves the twins her vast estate, Perdita is drawn into a conflict against an enemy that will stop at nothing to prevent her from revealing the secrets of the English Royal Bloodline.

What Is The Next Book in The Plantagenet And Tudor Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Plantagenet And Tudor Series. The newest book is The Last Tudor and was released on August, 8th 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *