Rainshadow Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Rainshadow is a series of novels written by a bestselling American author of science fiction, romance and fantasy books, Jayne Ann Krentz. In the Rainshadow series, you will meet the women and men who are drawn to this remote island in the Amber Sea. You will also get to interact with their neighbors and friends in the community of Shadow Bay.

Get notified when Jayne Castle releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Futuristic World of Harmony: Rainshadow Series By: Jayne Castle, Jayne Ann Krentz

# Read Title Published Details
1 Canyons of Night (By: Jayne Castle) 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Lost Night (As: Jayne Ann Krentz, Jayne Castle) 2012 Description / Buy
3 Deception Cove (As: Jayne Ann Krentz, Jayne Castle) 2013 Description / Buy
4 The Hot Zone (By: Jayne Castle) 2014 Description / Buy
5 Siren's Call (By: Jayne Castle) 2015 Description / Buy
6 Illusion Town (By: Jayne Castle) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF


Many of Jayne Ann Krentz books have won many awards. The author has been nominated twenty-two times for Romantic Times Reviewers Choice Awards.


These are two best in Rainshadow series by Jayne Ann Krentz, The Lost Night and Deception Cope.

The Lost Night: This is set on a fictional island called Rainshadow. The island is a place for people who don’t quite anywhere else in the world. In other words, it is a place of the rejects and misfits of society. It is also a place of strong psi energy especially in a place called The Preserve.

The island owner is Sebastian family, and The Preserve is a heavily guarded island. People do not visit the preserve because anyone who dares usually does not come out alive.

Rachel Blake is one of the very few people to go into The Preserve and make it out alive. Unfortunately, she has no memory of whatever happened the 12 hours she was lost in The Preserve.

What she only is coming out of the Preserve and finding the help that she needed. She has been considered to have been in a fugue state, and everyone close to her treats her very carefully scared that she might have some trauma from her lost time.

Rachel is used to being treated differently from the rest of people because she was brought up in a Harmonic Enlightenment family. The rest of the world has fascinating views on Harmonic Enlightenment and one of those ideas being that they are a very diverse group. But that idea happens to be false.

Then there is Harry Sebastian who has been sent to the island to find out why its energies are out of whack. Everything seems to be going crazy causing fog and significant storms to take over the area. But Harry suspects that the whole ordeal has something to do with The Preserve and when he digs deeper, he discovers that his theory is correct.

Many years ago, his grandfather hid some stones in The Preserve. These stones are beacon holder for the area. Upon making his way in the Preserve, he discovers that the stones have been stolen- and he knows that only a powerful psi could have survived taking the stones in a place that just a few come out alive.

It is upon Harry to find the stolen stones, or he will have to evacuate the island and save everyone from an imminent danger that is coming.

His first suspect is Rachel since she was lost for 12 hours, and also one of the few people to enter The Preserve. After meeting her, the two develop an instant connection, and Harry realizes that she did not steal the stones. As a result, he enlists Rachel to help him to interview the town’s folk and find out the criminal who stole the stones.

The first book in the series is an interesting read- the characters both main and minor are well crafted such that they get to connect with the readers almost instantaneously. First, there is the sweet and caring Rachael who is trying to find her way. She is confident but also unsure of how other perceives her. The world building the author has created is interesting- Harmony is another planet that Earth colonized.

Deception Cove: In the second book in the series, we meet Alice North, a young woman with a rare ability to make things vanish, including herself. Then there is a business mogul named Drake Sebastian who is day-blind since his sight was almost destroyed in a lab accident.

However he is the only one person capable of seeing Alice when she performs her magic- and he urgently needs her. On Rainshadow Island, two lethal Old World crystals have vanished; igniting a supernatural storm and Drake thinks that she is the key to finding the crystals.


If you like Rainshadow series, then you will like these two other book series, “Celta’s Heartmates” by Robin D. Owens and “Looking Glass Trilogy” by Jayne Ann Krentz.

What Is The Next Book in The Futuristic World Of Harmony: Rainshadow Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Futuristic World Of Harmony: Rainshadow Series. The newest book is Illusion Town and was released on July, 26th 2016.


1 thought on “Rainshadow”

  1. Does anyone else feel like they would thrive on the island of Rainshadow? A place for misfits, and the quirkier among us who don’t really fit in to “normal” life. *sigh* I wish it were real as I often feel as though I don’t belong!

    As for the book and series itself, it’s great, if not a little predictable. I love the concept though and long for a day when a place like Rainshadow exists!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *