Robert Hunter Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Robert Hunter refers to a series of crime fiction novels written by Chris Carter. Robert Hunter is also the primary protagonist of the series. These books are fairly typical of the crime fiction genre.

Get notified when Chris Carter releases a new book at

Order of Robert Hunter Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Crucifix Killer ( By: Chris Carter) 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Executioner ( By: Chris Carter) 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Night Stalker ( By: Chris Carter) 2011 Description / Buy
4 The Death Sculptor ( By: Chris Carter) 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Hunter (By: Chris Carter) 2013 Description / Buy
6 One by One (By: Chris Carter) 2013 Description / Buy
7 An Evil Mind ( By: Chris Carter) 2014 Description / Buy
8 I am Death ( By: Chris Carter) 2015 Description / Buy
9 The Caller ( By: Chris Carter) 2017 Description / Buy
10 The Gallery of the Dead ( By: Chris Carter) 2018 Description / Buy
11 Hunting Evil ( By: Chris Carter) 2019 Description / Buy
12 Written in Blood (By: Chris Carter) 2020 Description / Buy
13 Genesis (By: Chris Carter) 2022 Description / Buy
14 The Death Watcher (By: Chris Carter) 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

You have a scarred detective with a knack for solving crimes. Society is chockfull of psychopathic killers who always take the most inventive approaches to dispatching of their victims.

And they are clever and elusive enough that no ordinary investigative team can catch them. But fortunately for the members of his community, the scarred detective in question has all the tools necessary to enter the minds of these killers and follow the clues to their doorsteps, ultimately bringing them to justice.

Chris Carter, a Brazilian author, did not set out to write novels. After studying psychology and Criminal Behavior in the United States, Carter spent several years as a criminal psychologist.

For all his talent in the field, though, the author gave it all up in favor of playing music, a career change that saw him participate in tours with some of the most famous artists in the world.

Carter’s foray into writing wasn’t planned. The author remembers coming up with what he thought was a crazy story and telling his girlfriend about it. She encouraged him to make it a book.

Carter did not take her seriously, at least not at first. But when he wrote the first chapter of his novel, Carter was shocked by how exhilarating the process was. So he decided to finally put his Criminal Behavioral studies to good use by turning that crazy story into The Crucifix Killer, his debut fiction work and the first Robert Hunter book to hit the shelves.

Carter blames his agent (Darley Anderson) for the success he eventually achieved. The author knew he had something special on his hands when he created Robert Hunter but it was Darley Anderson who suggested that he write a whole series.

Robert Hunter is introduced to readers in The Crucifix Killer as a talented detective. Even as a child, no one could dispute Robert’s intelligence. His ability to consume and analyze information was unrivaled.

By the time the Robert Hunter series begins, Robert has become a homicide cop working for a special crimes unit. Robert spends the Robert Hunter series taking on depraved killers.

The first notable aspect of the Robert Hunter series is the graphic violence. Chris Carter always describes his crime scenes in the most gruesome detail, so much so that it is bound to turn some people off.

The second notable aspect of these books is the time the author spends explaining the forensic approach to crime solving. In fact, some readers have complained that these books sometimes feel like lectures on Forensics because of all the details Chris Carter provides.

Robert Hunter is joined on his crime-solving escapades by Garcia, the new partner he must grow accustomed to following the loss of his previous partner.

Best Robert Hunter Books

Even though the Robert Hunter books have attracted criticism for their use of excessive details, Chris Carter still has a sizable following, with some of the best titles in this series including:

One by One: Robert Hunter is roped into a mystery when an anonymous caller compels him to open a web address to view a private broadcast. A homicide detective, Hunter is told that he has no choice but to watch as an unidentified individual is tortured and killed live.

Even worse, Hunter is told that he must participate. The detective joins forces with the FBI to try and get to the bottom of the situation. They quickly learn that their enemy is no amateur.

The Executioner: A priest has been decapitated and a dog’s head placed over his body. Called upon to solve his murder, Robert Hunter is fascinated by the number carved into the remains. He initially thinks he’s dealing with a ritual killing.

But as the bodies begin to pile up, Robert realizes that he is facing a sadistic killer that is ending his victim’s lives using their worst nightmares.

Other Book Series You May Like

A great series to check out would be the “Silhouette Lake” Series by Rachel Caine. Gina Royal’s husband betrayed her. To protect herself and her children’s future, she became Gwen Proctor, a warrior mom who will take on anything from internet trolls to criminals to keep what she loves safe.

Readers of the Robert Hunter series also enjoy the “Jessie Cole” Series by T.R. Ragan. A scarred private detective and a haunted crime reporter must put their differences aside and team up to solve some startlingly difficult mysteries.

What Is The Next Book in The Robert Hunter Series?

The next book in the The Robert Hunter Series by Chris Carter is The Death Watcher and will be released on June, 6th 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *