Robert Langdon Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Robert Langdon series by Dan Brown is a thriller series about a Harvard professor, who teaches religious iconology and symbology; both are fictional fields that are not related in method to the real discipline of semiotics.

Get notified when Dan Brown releases a new book at

Order of Robert Langdon Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Angels & Demons ( By: Dan Brown) 2000 Description / Buy
2 The Da Vinci Code ( By: Dan Brown) 2003 Description / Buy
3 The Lost Symbol ( By: Dan Brown) 2009 Description / Buy
4 Inferno ( By: Dan Brown) 2013 Description / Buy
5 Origin ( By: Dan Brown) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

There are some similarities between the character Robert Langdon and the author Dan Brown. Brown actually created Langdon as the fictional alter ego of himself (Robert Langdon is someone that Brown could never be). They were both born on June 22 in Exeter, New Hampshire. Langdon is also named after John Langdon who is a typography at Drexel University and is known for creating ambigrams.


There have been three adaptations of books in this series. The second book (The Da Vinci Code) was first. Then Angels and Demons (book one) and then Inferno (book four). All were directed by Ron Howard and starred Tom Hanks in the title role.


This next section is for those readers looking to get into the Robert Langdon series by Dan Brown. It will go over the novels Angels and Demons, The Da Vinci Code, and The Lost Symbol.

Angels and Demons: The first novel in the Robert Langdon series and was released in the year 2000. There is a secret and ancient brotherhood and a new horrible weapon of destruction. Robert Langdon is sent on his first assignment at a Swiss research facility so that he can do some analysis on a mysterious symbol. The symbol was carved into the chest of a physicist that has been murdered; Langdon has found something unthinkable, that the Illuminati has returned. The Illuminati is a very powerful underground organization that has ever walked the earth. It has come back to perform its final phase of its old and famous grudge against its most hated enemy. The Catholic Church, of course. Langdon finds out that that on the eve of the Vatican’s holy enclave, a time bomb has been placed in the heart of Vatican City. He joins forces with Vittoria Vetra (she is beautiful and mysterious and a scientist) while in Rome to help the Vatican so that it can survive.

The Da Vinci Code: The second novel in the Robert Langdon series and was released in the year 2003. Robert Langdon is in Paris so that he can lecture some people on his work. He has made an appointment with the curator of the Louvre, and is surprised to find some French police officers at his door. The man he was supposed to meet with has been killed and the police want his help solving the crime. He has been summoned so that he can confess to the crime, but Langdon does not know this. The police think that by taking him to the crime scene, he will confess. They have him as suspect number one. While in the Louvre, he meets the curator’s granddaughter named Sophie Neveu (a young cryptologist). She has been told to find Langdon by her grandfather. He goes and tries to solve the mystery of another ancient and secret society (Priory of Scion, which was led by Leonardo da Vinci).

The Lost Symbol: The third novel in the Robert Langdon series and was released in the year 2009. Robert has been tricked to go to Washington D.C. And spends half a day going through the monuments and different buildings of the forefathers trying to figure out the truth about a secret society of the Masons. Some of the secrets that he finds will change the way that people see politics and science. The whole thing is threatened by a man named Zachary Solomon (a renegade and estranged son of Robert’s friend, Peter). Zachary (going by Mal’akh) has kidnapped his father, with Robert the last line of defense. Katherine (Peter’s younger sister), Warren Bellamy (Architect of the Capitol) and Inoue Sato (CIA director) help Robert.


The “Origin Mystery” series by A.G. Riddle is a popular trilogy has sold millions of copies and has been translated into over twenty languages around the world.

The Mortal Instruments” series by Cassandra Clare is part of the much larger The “Shadowhunter Chronicles” by Cassandra Clare. It was the first set published and one of the most popular young adult series. It is also fantasy and paranormal romance. It stars Clarissa Fray, an artist and is stubborn; she rushes into situations without fully thinking about things.

What Is The Next Book in The Robert Langdon Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Robert Langdon Series. The newest book is Origin and was released on September, 26th 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *