Robot Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Robot is a series of novels and short stories written by Sci-Fi author Isaac Asimov featuring positronic robots. Most of Asimov’s short stories which he began writing in 1939 are set in the 1st age of space exploration and positronic robotics. What makes Asimov’s robots unique are the 3 Laws of Robotics, built in a robot’s brain in which all the robots must comply and which ensure that the robots do not turn against their creators.

Order of Robot Series

1I, Robot1950Description / Buy
2The Caves of Steel1954Description / Buy
3The Naked Sun1957Description / Buy
4The Rest of the Robots1964Description / Buy
5The Robots of Dawn1983Description / Buy
6Robots and Empire1985Description / Buy
7Robot Dreams1986Description / Buy
8Robot Visions1990Description / Buy

Order of Galactic Empire Series

1Pebble in the Sky1950Description / Buy
2The Stars, Like Dust / The Rebellious Stars1951Description / Buy
3The Currents of Space1952Description / Buy

Chronological Order of Galactic Empire Series

1The Stars, Like Dust / The Rebellious Stars1951Description / Buy
2The Currents of Space1952Description / Buy
3Pebble in the Sky1950Description / Buy

Order of Original Foundation Series

1Foundation Series1981Description / Buy

Order of Foundation Series

1Foundation / The 1,000 Year Plan1951Description / Buy
2Foundation and Empire / The Man Who Upset the Universe1952Description / Buy
3Second Foundation1953Description / Buy
4Foundation's Edge1982Description / Buy
5Foundation and Earth1986Description / Buy
6Prelude to Foundation1988Description / Buy
7Forward the Foundation1993Description / Buy

Chronological Order of Foundation Series

1Prelude to Foundation1988Description / Buy
2Forward the Foundation1993Description / Buy
3Foundation / The 1,000 Year Plan1951Description / Buy
4Foundation and Empire / The Man Who Upset the Universe1952Description / Buy
5Second Foundation1953Description / Buy
6Foundation's Edge1982Description / Buy
7Foundation and Earth1986Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

These stories were not originally conceived as a set, but instead, all feature his positronic robots- but the fact is that there some inconsistencies amongst them more so between the novels and the short stories. But the books and the short stories all share the same theme of human interaction with robots and morality.

Asimov began the publication of Robot series in 1950 when I, Robot was publication. This title is a collection of the authors’ previous nine short stories. The next four books are The Caves of Steel (1953), The Naked Sun (1955), The Robots of Dawn (1983) and Robots and Empire published in 1985. The Naked Sun and The Caves of Steel were considered as the classics of the genre, but the later books were also well received.

One of the greatest inspirations for Asimov’s robots was the Zoromes. The Zoromes is a race of mechanical men featured in The Jameson Satellite (1931) by Neil R. Jones. The author read the story aged 11 and confessed it to be his source of inspiration in Before the Golden Age (1975), an anthology in which he narrated the story of Sci-Fi he familiarized himself with during his formative years.


Isaac Asimov’s Robot books have won and also been nominated for various awards. The Robots of Dawn was nominated for both Locus Award and Hugo Award in 1984 while Robots and Empire were shortlisted for the Locus Award for the Best Science Fiction book in 1986.


The first-ever adaptation of Robot books was the third episode of a British TV series, Out of This World based on Little Lost Robot that premiered in 1962, starring Maxine Audrey playing the role of Susan Calvin. This was followed by an adaptation of four books The Naked Sun, Liar, Reason, Satisfaction Guaranteed into four episodes of Out of the Unknown, a BBC TV series.

Harlan Ellison created a screenplay in the late 1970’s based on Asimov novel I, Robot for Warner Bros. Unfortunately, this film project was abandoned, but later this screenplay was subsequently published in a book I, Robot: The Illustrated Screenplay (1994). In 1988, a film titled, Robots based on Asimov Robot series was released featuring Stephen Rowe playing the role of Elijah Baley.


These are two best books in Robot series by Isaac Asimov, I, Robot (1950) and The Robots of Dawn (1983).

I, Robot: In the first book in Robot series, Asimov introduces the readers to three fundamental laws of Robotics. First, robots cannot injure humans or under any circumstance allow human to come into harm. Secondly, robots must obey all orders by human beings except situations where such commands would conflict the first law. The third law is that a robot must protect itself but it should contradict the first and second laws.

With these three fundamental laws, Isaac Asimov changed the human perception of robots forever when he created the laws governing robots behaviors. In I, Robot, the author narrates the development of robots through a network of interlinked stories, from the primitive origin to the perfection in the near future- a time when the human race may be rendered obsolete.

The Robots of Dawn: A millennium into the near future, advancements in tech have altered the course of humanity; the creation of the positronic brain and colonization of the Galaxy. The Robots of Dawn narrates the partnership between a New York Detective and a robot who must learn to live together.

Agent Elijah Baley is called in to solve the mysterious case of roboticide. The main suspect in the case is a Roboticist who had the motive, means and the opportunity to undertake the crime. There is only one catch, and Bailey and his robot friend must prove the man innocent for in a case of love and political intrigue, there is more at stake than just simple justice.


If you like Robot series by Isaac Asimov, you will like “House of Robots” by James Patterson and “Rabbit & Robot” series by Cece Bell.

What Is The Next Book in The Robot Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Robot Series. The newest book is Robot Visions and was released on January, 1st 1990.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *