Rock Harbor Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Rock Harbor is a series of Christian Suspense novels written by Colleen Coble. Colleen is a bestselling author that writes romance. The CEO of the American Christian Fiction Writers Association and a recipient of the ACFW Carol Award, Colleen is responsible for works like the Aloha Reef Series and the Mercy Falls Books.

Get notified when Colleen Coble releases a new book at

Order of Rock Harbor Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Without a Trace ( By: Colleen Coble) 2003 Description / Buy
2 Beyond a Doubt ( By: Colleen Coble) 2004 Description / Buy
3 Into the Deep ( By: Colleen Coble) 2004 Description / Buy
4 Abomination / Haven of Swans ( By: Colleen Coble) 2007 Description / Buy
5 Cry in the Night ( By: Colleen Coble) 2009 Description / Buy
6 Silent Night ( By: Colleen Coble) 2012 Description / Buy
7 Beneath Copper Falls ( By: Colleen Coble) 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Rock Harbor Search and Rescue Series By: Colleen Coble, Robin Caroll

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rock Harbor Search and Rescue (By: Colleen Coble, Robin Caroll) 2013 Description / Buy
2 Lost and Found (By: Colleen Coble, Robin Caroll) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Colleen Coble’s books typically follow the exploits of a vulnerable heroine who must learn to lean on her friends, her family and her faith for strength. Over the course of her series, she finds new meaning in life and undergoes a drastic transformation.

The Rock Harbor series does not differ that greatly from this format. Without a Trace’, the first book in the series introduces readers to Bree Nicholls. A wife and mother, Bree’s life crumbles when her husband and son disappear.

Refusing to give up hope, she makes it her life’s mission to find her family. She is joined on her journey by a search and rescue dog called Samson. Bree’s investigation draws her into a violent crime that brings hell upon the small town of Rock Harbor.

Ultimately, Bree does not acquire the answers she seeks. She is forced to face her future as a widow, a task she undertakes by settling down in Rock Harbor which is on Lake Superior and picking up the pieces of her shattered life.

Bree isn’t necessarily a sleuth. However, trouble keeps finding her. The widow only engaged in her first mystery because she wanted to find her husband and son. And her decision to allow unexpected clues to derail her continues to affect her life beyond the first novel.

Suddenly, Bree Nicholls becomes the one person everyone wants in their corner whenever a loved one goes missing or if their life is threatened. And being the good soul that she is, Bree does not have it in her to turn away those that come seeking help.

A considerable portion of this series is spent following Bree Nicholls as she attempts to unravel the mysteries she comes across in Rock Harbor. More often than not, Bree’s curious nature and investigative nose attract threats to her life and those she loves.

When Bree isn’t solving crimes, she’s struggling to make sense of her personal and romantic life and her place in Rock Harbor. While the heroine initially succeeds in keeping her suitors at arm’s length as she grieves her family, as the months pass, those men whose heart Bree has captured begin to make their move, putting Bree in a situation where she must decide whether or not she is ready to move forward.

The Rock Harbor series has a Christian aspect to it. The author uses every opportunity she gets to inject Christian messages into her stories. In fact, Colleen Coble has been criticized for throwing too much Christianity into her books.

This is on top of all the complaints about Colleen’s penchant for introducing too many characters too quickly.

Rock Harbor Awards

Without a Trace, the first novel in the Rock Harbor series was a finalist for the RITA Award in 2004.

Best Rock Harbor Books

Colleen Coble’s success with this series can be imputed to her ability to balance her Christian messages with the dark and suspenseful aspects of her stories, with some of the best books in the series including:

Beyond a Doubt: Bree Nicholls garnered a bit of a reputation when she helped resolve a missing person’s case. She is dragged into the thick of another mystery when a carpenter stumbles upon a dead body during the renovation works of her lighthouse basement.

Bree learns that she just stumbled upon a vital clue to a case the police abandoned a while back. With her dog in tow, Bree does what she can to find the killer that might be stalking her town.

Silent Night: Following the death of her unborn child, Bree Nicholls has no enthusiasm for Christmas. So the idea of receiving guests doesn’t appeal to her. But that doesn’t stop her from inviting her sister-in-law into her home when Lauri shows up rather suddenly.

Lauri seems to have her sights set on a parachuter that disappeared, and even as Bree takes her dog and helps her with the mystery, she cannot help but wonder what Lauri might be hiding.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another great series is the “Men of Valor” Series by Irene Hannon. These books follow the exploits of former army men that have taken up law enforcement positions and who must now come to terms with their feelings for the women they encounter and must protect. This is as they investigate mysterious occurrences.

Be sure to check out the “Alaskan Courage” Series by Dani Pettrey. These books follow the men and women of the Mckenna family as they try to maneuver love, romance, and danger in a world filled with rogues and criminals.

What Is The Next Book in The Rock Harbor Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Rock Harbor Series. The newest book is Beneath Copper Falls and was released on July, 1st 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *