Rogue Warrior Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Rogue warrior is a series of autobiographical and later fictional novels written by Richard Marcinko, alongside coauthors Jim DeFelice and John Wieisman. The first novel in the series was “Rogue Warrior” published in 1992, which was an autobiography of Marcinko’s experiences serving in the US military as a Navy SEAL. The first novel spawned several more fictional titles in the still ongoing series starting with the 1994 published “Red Cell”.

Order of Rogue Warrior Series By: Richard Marcinko, John Weisman, Jim DeFelice

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rogue Warrior (By: Richard Marcinko, John Weisman) 1992 Description / Buy
2 Red Cell (By: Richard Marcinko, John Weisman) 1994 Description / Buy
3 Green Team (By: Richard Marcinko, John Weisman) 1995 Description / Buy
4 Task Force Blue (By: Richard Marcinko, John Weisman) 1996 Description / Buy
5 Designation Gold (By: Richard Marcinko, John Weisman) 1997 Description / Buy
6 Seal Force Alpha (By: Richard Marcinko, John Weisman) 1998 Description / Buy
7 Option Delta (By: Richard Marcinko, John Weisman) 1998 Description / Buy
8 Echo Platoon (By: Richard Marcinko, John Weisman) 2000 Description / Buy
9 Detachment Bravo (By: Richard Marcinko, John Weisman) 2001 Description / Buy
10 Violence of Action (By: Richard Marcinko) 2002 Description / Buy
11 Vengeance (By: Richard Marcinko, Jim DeFelice) 2005 Description / Buy
12 Holy Terror (By: Richard Marcinko, Jim DeFelice) 2006 Description / Buy
13 Dictator's Ransom (By: Richard Marcinko, Jim DeFelice) 2008 Description / Buy
14 Seize the Day (By: Richard Marcinko, Jim DeFelice) 2009 Description / Buy
15 Domino Theory (By: Richard Marcinko, Jim DeFelice) 2011 Description / Buy
16 Blood Lies (By: Richard Marcinko, Jim DeFelice) 2012 Description / Buy
17 Curse of the Infidel (By: Richard Marcinko, Jim DeFelice) 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The first novel in the series is an autobiographical account of the author’s various experiences in the military. Some of these experiences include the history of the two US Navy counter terrorist units “Red Cell” and “SEAL Team SIX”, the American invasion of Granada, the 1980 Iran hostage rescue attempt, and the Vietnam War. Starting from the second novel in the series, the lead in the series who characterizes himself as “Rogue Warrior” provides a fictional account of his life as the commander of a team of operatives and commandos. Together with his team, the Rogue Warrior tackles a range of criminal activity including terrorism around the world.

“Rogue Warrior” the first novel in the series is a tell it like it is account of the stories of the highly motivated members of the highly specialized counter terrorism SEAL teams of the US military. The novel tells of their fight around the world, their training, their fight from land air and sea, their use of weapons ranging from an AK-47 to a K-bar knife. They tell of the stories of the relations between the ordinary men of these units and their commanders, right from the time they are ordinary civilians to when they become seasoned veterans.

The stories in the novel are about real missions and real men including their never say die aggression, loyalty, training, and teamwork mentality. From Desert Storm to the Philippines, from ambush and setting up to parachutes jumps from high altitude, the novel tells extraordinary stories that became so popular as to spawn an entire fictional series.


Rogue Warrior: The first novel in the series is regarded as one of the best novels in the Rogue Warrior series of novels. It is a refreshing look into the military, as it has the typical military tough guy from the 1980s that most military movie heroes are made of. The novels covers the Vietnam War, the organizations of counter terrorism units in the 1970s, and the author’s command and establishment of one of the best known SEAL team in the US, SEAL Team Six. The novel is an exceptional insider look into American Special Operations in the second half of the 20th century.

Blood Lies: The second novel in the series is deemed one of the very best ever written by Marcinko. A daughter of an ex-Navy SEAL goes missing and soon turns up, held at ransom in Mexico. It is now up to Richard Marcinko the Rogue Warrior and his merry band of Red Cell braves to head south to get her back. It is a perilous journey and mission, as they have to deal with human traffickers, drug dealers, bandits, and lastly break into the well-guarded mansion of a cartel kingpin holding the girl hostage. Throw in a secret Hezbollah camp sheltered by drug lords on behalf of the Iranian government, and you have one of the most explosive of narratives. In the end, Marcinko finds out that the woman he had been sent to rescue may actually be his worst opponent yet.

Option Delta: Another incredible novel in the series is the seventh title “Option Delta”. Dick heads to Germany to retrieve a cache of nuclear weapons stolen by a German national in the Rhine Valley. The man turns out to be Lothar Beck, a billionaire seeking to destroy American global interests, to make way for the Fourth Reich. Getting to the real conspirators is no easy job as the team has to battle through a labyrinth of Arab terrorists, Russian Mafioso, neo-Nazis, and shaved heads.


Rogue Warrior fans also love the Larry Bond’s “First Team” Series of novels by Larry Bond. These are electrifying thrillers about a special unit known as “The Team” that has unlimited mandate to fight all enemies of the US outside the bureaucratic restraints of military or intelligence oversight.

Many Rogue Warrior fans also enjoy the “Seal Team Six Outcasts” Series of novels by Howard E. Wasdin. These novels follow a group of ex intelligence outcasts who protect the interests of the United States outside government control or support.

What Is The Next Book in The Rogue Warrior Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Rogue Warrior Series. The newest book is Curse of the Infidel and was released on January, 7th 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *