Rose Gardner Mystery Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The “Rose Gardner Mystery” series written by author Denise Grover Swank is from the mystery thriller genre. It stars Rose Gardner, a woman who has visions of things.

Order of Rose Gardner Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes 2011 Description / Buy
2 Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons 2012 Description / Buy
3 Thirty and a Half Excuses 2013 Description / Buy
4 Falling to Pieces 2013 Description / Buy
5 Thirty-One and a Half Regrets 2014 Description / Buy
6 Thirty-Two and a Half Complications 2014 Description / Buy
7 Picking Up the Pieces 2014 Description / Buy
8 Thirty-Three and a Half Shenanigans 2014 Description / Buy
9 Rose and Helena Save Christmas 2014 Description / Buy
10 Ripple of Secrets 2015 Description / Buy
11 Thirty-Four and a Half Predicaments 2015 Description / Buy
12 Thirty-Five and a Half Conspiracies 2015 Description / Buy
13 Thirty-Six and a Half Motives 2016 Description / Buy
14 Sins of the Father 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In the first novel of the series, Rose decides to make a list of things that she would like to do before she dies. It has been twenty-four years since she was born and she feels as though she has wasted quite a bit of it.


For those looking to get into the “Rose Gardner Mystery” series by Denise Grover Swank, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes”, “Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons”, and “Thirty and a Half Excuses”.

Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes: This is the first novel in the “Rose Gardner Mystery” series and was released in the year 2012. Working at the DMV on a Friday is bad, Rose Gardner knows this, and this is before she gets the vision of herself when she is dead. In her time, she has had visions, but they have not been so specific, and they usually are something boring like an overflowing toilet. Obviously, they have never involved her dead. Her mother (who is overbearing) is found murdered on her sofa, and Rose knows two things. One, there is not enough peroxide to get the stain out of the couch, and two, Rose is suspect number one. She sees that she has wasted a lot of her twenty-four years, and makes a list on a Wal-Mart receipt. It is made up of things that she wants to do before she does actually die. Her neighbor Joe helps her with the list, and is able to teach her how to drink. He is very little help with item fifteen on the list: go to bed with a man. Joe is new in town, and she sees (all on her own, no visions) that he has his own secrets that he is keeping. There is someone out there that thinks Rose is hanging on to something and they will do whatever it takes to take it from her. Someone breaks into her house, another person she knows gets murdered. At this point, dying as a virgin while she is in the Fenton County jail is not the biggest problem that she is having.

Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons: This is the first novel in the “Rose Gardner Mystery” series written by Denise Grover Swank and was released in the year 2012. Rose goes to jury duty at the Fenton County courthouse, and figures she will be lucky to get out of working at the DMV for the morning. Mason Deveraux, assistant district attorney, picks her to be on the jury for a murder case; even though the pair had a disastrous encounter with one another. She has a vision while in the men’s room, and as the trial goes on and on, she knows that the defendant is innocent. Even worse, she cannot do anything about it. Then again, there might be. Violet, Rose’s older sister, is going through a mid-life crisis; this makes things just a little bit worse for Rose. Violet is insisting that she stop seeing Joe Simmons (who is an Arkansas state detective), all so she can date other men. But Rose has none of it. She is sick and tired of people trying to boss her around, but she is having a hard time committing to Joe. She is not ready, at the same time, to let a great thing slip away from her.

Thirty and a Half Excuses: This is the first novel in the “Rose Gardner Mystery” series and was released in the year 2013. Living in Henryetta, Arkansas is upset by a televangelist arriving in town. Rose only has the death of an old lady on her mind, though. The police find that her death is only natural causes, Rose suspects foul play. She has an unlikely supporter in this. It is the Busy Body Club president, Rose’s 82 year old neighbor who is named Mildred. Rose and Violet are about to open a new nursery. Violet has separated from her husband Mike. Rose is stalling Joe, who’s family (that is made up of a bunch of socialites) that are a determined bunch when it comes meeting her. It is more chaos, or just another day in Rose’s life.


“Burning Through Gravity” series by Addison Moore. A steamy romance series that features different male and female leads in each of the novels. Making these novels stand alone works.

“The Lake” series by AnnaLisa Grant. This series stars Layla Weston as she goes from being a seventeen year old girl, to being in college, to be getting ready for marriage.

What Is The Next Book in The Rose Gardner Mystery Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Rose Gardner Mystery Series. The newest book is Sins of the Father and was released on September, 11th 2016.

1 thought on “Rose Gardner Mystery”

  1. I love the Chosen series and really enjoyed the way that Denise Swank writes so I thought I would check this one out. Flash forward a little over a week later and I finished the first seven books in this series… oops!

    The characters in this series are great, the bad guys are real jerks and the mystery and romance intertwine to make a book series that you just can’t put down. Excited to continue my journey and see where Denise takes us next!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *