Sean King / Michelle Maxwell Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Sean King and Michelle Maxwell are the main characters of the “King and Maxwell”, crime novel series written by David Baldacci. They are Secret Service agents who fell from grace and have to work their way in order to regain their reputation. Baldacci, a renowned best-selling author wrote the first book of the series “Split Second” in 2003. This book sets up the shadowy world of Secret Service and its missions, as well as introduce us with the protagonists. It is comprised of six novels, published between 2003 and 2013.

Get notified when David Baldacci releases a new book at

Order of Sean King & Michelle Maxwell Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Split Second (By: David Baldacci) 2003 Description / Buy
2 Hour Game (By: David Baldacci) 2004 Description / Buy
3 Simple Genius (By: David Baldacci) 2007 Description / Buy
4 First Family (By: David Baldacci) 2009 Description / Buy
5 The Sixth Man (By: David Baldacci) 2011 Description / Buy
6 King and Maxwell (By: David Baldacci) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Michelle Maxwell and Sean King are Secret Service agents connected by the failure to protect the men they were assigned to keep safe- two presidential candidates. The story opens as Maxwell blows her chance in SS when she fails to protect Clyde Ritter, presidential candidate, from assassination. Maxwell lost the sight on Ritter for just a moment when he went to shake hands with a widow, but it was enough for the assassin do to his horrendous job. With her career in ruins, Michelle decides to grasp at straws and visit Sean King, a retired SS agent. King has gone through similar ordeal eight years before Maxwell did. King’s task was to bodyguard another presidential candidate, John Bruno, but he failed.

He was distracted for a split of a second, just like Maxwell, and it was fatal for Bruno. He did shoot the killer down, but it was not enough. His career in Secret Service was over. King took up the career of a lawyer and lived quietly until Maxwell appeared at his door. Now with the striking resemblance between cases, doubts and ambitions are revoked, and the dishonored duo enters the secret world of deception and politics looking for truth.

In the first book in their series, Split Second, their paths cross in a shocking series of events. Split Second starts with the story of Sean King, whose career as a Secret Service officer is curtailed when the presidential candidate he’s assigned to is assassinated. After his career is ended in disgrace, he moves into the field of law. The story then moves forward eight years, to the story of Michelle Maxwell, also a Secret Service agent. Like King, Maxwell is charged with looking after the safety of a presidential candidate. However, unlike King, Maxwell’s candidate is kidnapped, not killed. From their, the paths of King and Maxwell converge, and the must work together to work out just who is behind this web of secrets and lies.

Although Split Second was not received too well critically, thanks to the popularity of David Baldacci, the book sold well, and Baldacci continued the series with Hour Game, which sees King and Maxwell working in as a private partnership now that they are no longer employed in the Secret Service. Following on from Hour Game is the book Simple Game, and then the book First Family, released in 2007 and 2009 respectively.

In 2011, Baldacci released the fifth book in the King and Maxwell series, The Sixth Man. In The Sixth Man, King and Maxwell are asked to help look into the defence of an alleged serial killer, Edgar Roy. When Roy’s attorney, and Sean King’s friend is found, the investigation that King and Maxwell were taking part in suddenly shifts focus. It is seen as a real return to form by David Baldacci, and is one of the best books in the King and Maxwell series, as the plot is constantly shifting, twisting and keeping the reader guessing.

King and Maxwell Books Into Movies:

Baldacci’s acclaimed series got its television adaptation in 2013 when Shane Brennan, producer of NCIS, decided to bring it to the TV screens. The show starred Jon Tenney as King and Rebecca Romijn as Michelle Maxwell. It premiered on TNT, but it did not get past season one. The total sum of ten episodes was filmed.

Best King and Maxwell Books:

The first book of the series Split Second is perhaps the most beloved among the readers, but it has a tough competition when “The Sixth Man” and “King and Maxwell” are considered.

The Sixth Man is the fifth part of the series and it involves King and Maxwell in a circle of lies unlike any they witnessed before. Edgar Roy, presumed serial killer is on a death row, and his defendant, Ted Bergin, who happens to be Sean’s mentor, reaches for help to save Roy’s life. King and Maxwell are on their way to visit Bergin in Maine, but find him dead under suspicious circumstances. Soon after, they find out that Roy is much more than he appeared at first, and they step in the world of a great national conspiracy whose goals are vague at least. The leading duo has to tread lightly in order to preserve Roy, but also themselves, as danger lurks at every corner.

King and Maxwell is the sixth and concluding part of the Baldacci’s series. In the final showdown, Michelle and Sean encounter adventure not dissimilar to an X-files episode. The story opens when U.S. soldier Sam Wingo is declared dead on his mission in the Middle East. The case seems straightforward, but things get complicated when Tyler Wingo, Sam’s son, claims that he received a message from his father after his death. Confused Tyler stumbles upon King and Maxwell and pleads for their help. Michelle and Eric have to embark on an adventure one last time, and discover a secret so dark and dubious that it involves even the President of the United States.

Other book series you may like

Readers who enjoyed the gloomy world of the government institutions may like the “Jack Reacher” series by Lee Child. The story follows a former Major of the US Army Military Police Corps, as he drifts throughout the country while performing unusual and suspicious tasks, usually involving corrupted government’s officials.

Another series fans of King and Maxwell may like is a famous “Jack Ryan” saga by Tom Clancy. This classic story revolves around Jack Ryan, CIA agent with turbulent past.

For those who are open for experiments, there is a series by J.A. Jance about “J.P Beaumont”, a resolute homicide detective.

Sean King and Michelle Maxwell FAQ

Q: What is the first book in the Sean King and Michelle Maxwell series?

A: The first book in the Sean King and Michelle Maxwell series is Split Second, which was released in 2003.

Q: Was there a TV show made of the King and Maxwell series?

A: Yes, a series title King and Maxwell was broadcast on TNT in the United States. The series only last for one season, before being cancelled in September, 2013.

What Is The Next Book in The Sean King & Michelle Maxwell Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Sean King & Michelle Maxwell Series. The newest book is King and Maxwell and was released on November, 19th 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *