Serrated Edge Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Serrated Edge is the third series in the Elves on the Road Universe, coming after Bedlam’s Bard and Diana Tregarde.

Get notified when Mercedes Lackey releases a new book at

Order of SERRAted Edge Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Born to Run ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 1992 Description / Buy
2 Wheels of Fire (By: Mercedes Lackey, Mark Shepherd) 1992 Description / Buy
3 When the Bough Breaks ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 1993 Description / Buy
4 Chrome Circle ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 1994 Description / Buy
5 Elvendude ( By: Mark Shepherd) 1994 Description / Buy
6 Spiritride ( By: Mark Shepherd) 1997 Description / Buy
7 Lazerwarz ( By: Mark Shepherd) 1999 Description / Buy
8 The Chrome Borne ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 1999 Description / Buy
9 The Otherworld (By: Mercedes Lackey, Holly Lisle, Mark Shepherd) 2000 Description / Buy
10 The Waters and the Wild (By: Mercedes Lackey, Rosemary Edghill) 2005 Description / Buy
11 Silence ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 2016 Description / Buy
12 Breaking Silence ( By: Mercedes Lackey) 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Doubled Edge Series By: Mercedes Lackey, Roberta Gellis

# Read Title Published Details
1 This Scepter'd Isle (By: Mercedes Lackey, Roberta Gellis) 2004 Description / Buy
2 Ill Met by Moonlight (By: Mercedes Lackey, Roberta Gellis) 2005 Description / Buy
3 By Slanderous Tongues (By: Mercedes Lackey, Roberta Gellis) 2007 Description / Buy
4 And Less Than Kind (By: Mercedes Lackey, Roberta Gellis) 2008 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The books, which are written by Mercedes Lackey, are categorized as Urban Fantasy.

Like most of Lackey’s other works, they take place in a world where the supernatural is real. Elves, and shapeshifters, unicorns and various other mythological creatures walk the earth.

They live much like normal humans do, only that they tend to operate in disguise, doing what they can to keep from alarming their mortal neighbors.

Specific emphasis is placed on the activities of the elves. When readers are first drawn into Lackey’s Serrated Edge world in Born to Run, the first novel in the series, they are told that elves come in two varieties.

The good elves co-exist peacefully with humans. They love all the trappings of modernity and they are especially taken with the idea of racing. However, because elves can’t touch iron without experiencing great pain, they do not have the luxury of driving actual human cars.

So they make do with their steeds, intelligent creatures that have the ability to take a shape that suits their master.

While the good elves find contentment in the simple pleasures that life has to offer, the bad elves are always pursuing evil. They hate humans and they will take any opportunity that comes to bring them harm.

They have a tendency to target the weakest and most vulnerable members of society, in particular, the children. This might explain why they are so invested in child pornography.

Fortunately for mankind, the good elves are always on hand to fight the bad ones.

The theme of child abuse is very strong in the Serrated Edge series. Each installment has at its center multiple children that have been abandoned, abused, and mentally and physically scarred.

Their lives normally change when a good elf not only takes an interest in their plight but also attempts to pull them out of their desperate situation.

Most of Mercedes Lackey’s fans will tell you that the Serrated Edge novels are very dark. Lackey takes every chance she gets to emphasize the harrowing experiences that some children suffer and the responsibility she believes the adults in their lives have to offer a helping hand.

Even with a world full of fantastical beings and entities, the author endeavors to highlight the seriousness of her themes.

Whenever any fun erupts in these novels, it comes in the form of the racing antics the good elves get up to.

The different novels work hard to expand the Serrated Edge universe, introducing new creatures and cultures.

Best Serrated Edge Books

Even though these novels were published in the 1990s, they have been praised for boasting a very strong 1980s vibe, with some of the best books in the series including:

Born to Run: The world is a strange place. You have good elves who just want to race their cars and bad elves that peddle drugs and make child pornography.

Caught up in this madness are an elf called Fairgrove, a human called Tannim that can perform magic, and a metallurgist by the names of Kelly. You also have a teenager who ran away from home and a prostitute.

Together, they must make the best out of the difficult situation in which they find themselves.

Wheels of Fire: Al is an elf that has walked the earth for centuries. Bob is a human whose father abused him. The pair work as mechanics for a racing team.

Their world takes a fascinating turn when Cindy comes into the picture. Cindy’s son, Jamie, is only 8-years-old and he’s missing. His psychic powers have made him a target for a church with dark intentions.

Cindy is desperate to find him. But her husband James isn’t much help.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Hunter” Series by Mercedes Lackey as well. Long ago, the veil separating the natural from the supernatural was ripped open. Monsters poured through. Centuries later, civilization is thriving behind walls that keep the monsters out.

Joy is a hunter. She uses her skills to keep her community safe from the Othersiders.

You may also like the “Owl Mage Trilogy” Series by Mercedes Lackey. This sequel to The Mage Storms series follows Darian, a strong-willed apprentice to a venerable wizard whose life changes when his village is attacked and he flees into a mystical forest.

What Is The Next Book in The Serrated Edge Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Serrated Edge Series. The newest book is Breaking Silence and was released on February, 4th 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *