Smitten Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Smitten is a series of romance novels set in the town of Smitten in Vermont. Even though the books are most commonly associated with Colleen Coble, the series is actually the work of four people, namely: Diann Hunt, Kristin Billerbeck, and Denise Hunter, this on top of Colleen Coble.

Get notified when Colleen Coble releases a new book at

Order of Smitten Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Smitten (By: Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Denise Hunter, Diann Hunt) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Natalie - Birthday Wishes (Short Story) ( By: Colleen Coble) 2012 Description / Buy
3 Secretly Smitten (By: Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Denise Hunter, Diann Hunt) 2013 Description / Buy
4 Love Between the Lines (Short Story) ( By: Colleen Coble) 2013 Description / Buy
5 Love Blooms (Short Story) ( By: Denise Hunter) 2013 Description / Buy
6 Smitten Book Club (By: Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Denise Hunter, Diann Hunt) 2014 Description / Buy
7 Love by the Book (Short Story) ( By: Colleen Coble) 2014 Description / Buy
8 Happily Ever After (Short Story) ( By: Denise Hunter) 2014 Description / Buy
9 Smitten Ever After ( By: Colleen Coble) 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Colleen, Diann, Denise, and Kristin have been friends for a long time. Colleen speaks often of the trials they have overcome and the support they have given one another during the hard times.

The group has a blog called Girls Write Out, and their bond is such that fans were overcome with excitement when it was revealed that the group was going to collaborate on a project.

Smitten books are categorized as contemporary romance. Of all the books, Colleen is most drawn to Smitten, the first novel in the series. Smitten follows the efforts of a group of women who band together to save their home.

The town of Smitten is shaken when rumors of the local lumber mill closing begin to spread. Without the mill, Smitten will not survive. While their friends begin to plan for the worst, four women decide that it might be time to make use of their town’s romantic name.

They propose a plan to turn Smitten into a tourist destination for lovers. Along the way, these women must overcome their individual hurdles to find love.

The protagonists of Smitten were based on Colleen and her co-authors. Colleen had immense fun bringing her friends’ personalities to the page and crafting for them stories that gave them the happy endings she prays for them to achieve in real life.

It should be noted that the Smitten books are actually a collection of novellas. Each Smitten novel has a group of heroines at its center. The protagonists of the first novel are friends bonded by their past trials.

The heroines of the second novel are all members of the same family. The girls in Colleen’s third novel in the Smitten series are part of the same book club.

Colleen and her co-authors each undertake the task of writing a particular heroine’s story. As a result, each Smitten book exposes readers to four distinct writing styles and approaches to storytelling.

Readers have criticized this series for using the exact same heroine in each novel and only making slight variations for every short story. The short stories have also been criticized for being too predictable.

Best Smitten Books

The Smitten books are a collection of sweet, innocent and inviting stories about love and romance in a small town, with some of the best titles in the series including:

Smitten: When a proposition for the closing of the lumber mill is presented, the small town of Smitten, Vermont panics. The mill is the biggest employer around. If it closes there will be trouble.

A close-knit group of women isn’t that worried, though. They believe that the town can still survive. They just have to take advantage of its romantic name by turning Smitten into a tourist destination for couples from all over the world.

Some people do not think the town can handle such an intrusion of romantic-centered persons. But people like music sensation Sawyer Smitten are ready to sacrifice for the cause.

Secretly Smitten: Tess, Clare, and Zoe discover a mysterious set of dog tags they believe belong to Rose’s first love. Rose is their grandmother. The girls do not know how the dog tags ended up in Rose’s attic.

Their attempts to investigate are discouraged by their mother, Anna, who thinks that they should mind their own business. But Tess, Clare, and Zoe cannot bring themselves to walk away, not when the mystery at hand could lead to an encounter with the men they will love.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another great read is the “Rock Harbor” Series by Colleen Coble. Bree Nichols is a widow living in Rock Harbor, a town in Michigan. Bree’s husband and son disappeared in a plane crash but she never stopped looking for them. She is now a member of the Rock Harbor Search and Rescue team.

Bree works with her dog Samson to solve mysteries.

A lot of readers rave about the “Sunset Cove” Series by Colleen Coble. These books follow the exploits of the men and women who come to the coast of Maine looking to make sense of their love lives even as they try to unravel the mysteries that haunt them.

What Is The Next Book in The Smitten Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Smitten Series. The newest book is Smitten Ever After and was released on June, 3rd 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *