Sookie Stackhouse Books

Charlaine Harris is a best-selling author who has been penning down mysteries for more than thirty years. Born and raised in the Mississippi Area, Charlaine Harris now resides in Southern Arkansas with her husband. Despite the fact that a majority of her early works were mainly poems about ghosts, she, later on, began working on novels after joining college. Harris is widely known for the Southern Vampire Mysteries series that was later on adapted by HBO into the True Blood Television series.

Order of Sookie Stackhouse Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dead Until Dark 2001 Description / Buy
2 Living Dead in Dallas 2002 Description / Buy
3 Club Dead 2003 Description / Buy
4 Dead to the World 2004 Description / Buy
5 Dead as a Doornail 2005 Description / Buy
6 Definitely Dead 2006 Description / Buy
7 All Together Dead 2007 Description / Buy
8 From Dead to Worse 2008 Description / Buy
9 Dead and Gone 2009 Description / Buy
10 A Touch of Dead 2009 Description / Buy
11 Dead in the Family 2010 Description / Buy
12 Dead Reckoning 2011 Description / Buy
13 Deadlocked 2012 Description / Buy
14 Dead Ever After 2013 Description / Buy
15 After Dead 2013 Description / Buy
16 Dead But Not Forgotten 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Sookie Stackhouse Companion Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dead of Night 2004 Description / Buy
2 Crimes by Moonlight 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Sookie Stackhouse Companion 2011 Description / Buy
4 Dancers in the Dark (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
5 Playing Possum 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

For more than twenty years, Charlaine Harris has been a published writer. A native of the Mississippi area, Charlaine Harris’s family, owned a cotton field. Currently, Charlaine Harris resides with her husband and three children in Southern, Arkansas.

When she began writing, Charlaine Harris mainly specialized in Ghost stories. When she was admitted to college, she began working on plays and poetry. After she completed her college education, Charlaine Harris took some low paying jobs. Eventually, she decided to quit, and began writing, since she had so much time on her hands. In no time, Charlaine Harris had completed two standalone novels, which were published by Houghton and Mifflin. While raising her children, Charlaine Harris began working on mystery novels, and it did not take long before she brought to life, Aurora Teagarden, a Georgian Librarian.

Real Murders was the novel that introduced the readers to Aurora Teagarden. The novel garnered an Agatha nomination. Eventually, Charlaine Harris began looking for another challenge, and the result was the Lily Bard book series. All the books in the Lily Bard book series have been set, in Shakespeare, Arkansas. The Lilly Bard book series features a heroine who had managed to survive a dreadful attack and is teaching herself to live with the consequences. When the author, Charlaine Harris realized that none of the books that she had previously penned down was going to set the literary world on fire, she decided to regroup and eventually came up with a book that she had always wanted to write, Dead Until Dark. The novel, Dead until Dark managed to break the genre boundaries and appealed to a much wide audience of readers who enjoyed great adventure stories.

Sookie Stackhouse Books into Movies/TV

The Sookie Stackhouse was adapted into a television series, True Blood.

Sookie Stackhouse Series Best Books

Dead to the World:: This book begins as Bill heads off to Peru. One fine night, Sooky finds the authoritative, cocky, smug Eric, running down her road. However, the only problem was that Eric was half-naked. Apart from his losing his memory, Eric’s personality had changed completely as well. Despite many misgivings, Sooky decides to take Eric in. She eventually gets to learn that a witch had cursed Eric.

The main reason why Eric’s memory had been taken from him was that there was a new group in Shreveport, that was more than determined to dominate the supernatural community. It does not take before her brother Jason disappears. Once she learned that her brother had disappeared, Sooky becomes extremely worried because she feels that witches had taken his brother.

The Werewolves who belong to Alcide’s pack are being brutally murdered. Despite the fact that Sooky had made a promise of not getting involved, she makes a promise of looking after Eric, who was being tracked by witches and also find her brother as well.

Living Dead in Dallas: This is the second installment in the Sookie Stackhouse book series. In this installment, Bill and Sookie start to have a little bit of misunderstanding, which eventually leads to a major row. The two have to determine whether they are going to continue with their relationship. The adventure begins when one of Sookie’s co-worker who had tied to a sex club is brutally murdered. It does not take long before a spiritual female creature that was seeking Eric’s assistance attacks Sookie.

Later on, Eric allows Sookie to assist a group of vampires, the Dallas Vampires who were searching for a missing vampire. Sookie decides to take Bill along, but this time around as his bodyguard. However, it is at this point that things begin to get a little bit crazy. Apart from dealing with a new nest of vampires, Sookie has to deal with a group of religious fanatics as well.

What Is The Next Book in The Sookie Stackhouse Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Sookie Stackhouse Series. The newest book is Dead But Not Forgotten and was released on May, 13th 2014.