Summerhill Secrets Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Summerhill Secrets is a series of novels by Beverly Lewis the American novelist best known for writing popular young adult novels. The first novel in the series was the 1995 published “Whispers Down the Lane”, with the last novel “Shadows beyond the Gate” coming out in 2000. The series of novels are best classified as young adult novels.

Get notified when Beverly Lewis releases a new book at

Order of Summerhill Secrets Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Whispers Down the Lane ( By: Beverly Lewis) 1995 Description / Buy
2 Secret in the Willows ( By: Beverly Lewis) 1995 Description / Buy
3 Catch a Falling Star ( By: Beverly Lewis) 1995 Description / Buy
4 Night of the Fireflies ( By: Beverly Lewis) 1995 Description / Buy
5 A Cry in the Dark ( By: Beverly Lewis) 1996 Description / Buy
6 House of Secrets ( By: Beverly Lewis) 1996 Description / Buy
7 Echoes in the Wind ( By: Beverly Lewis) 1997 Description / Buy
8 Hide Behind the Moon ( By: Beverly Lewis) 1998 Description / Buy
9 Windows on the Hill ( By: Beverly Lewis) 1999 Description / Buy
10 Shadows Beyond the Gate ( By: Beverly Lewis) 2000 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The lead character in the series is a fifteen-year-old girl named Merry Henson who lives in the Amish country of Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Henson faces up to the triumphs and challenges of growing up as a Christian girl and trying to be the best that she can be. Each novel is a narrative of her faith in God and relationships with other significant persons in her life.

“Whispers Down the Lane” the first novel of the Summerhill Secrets series of novels is a pretty fun and exciting novel introducing Merry Henson the chief protagonist. Lissa Vyner stumbles onto Merry’s doorstep in tears after her father has physically abused her. Her classmate and friend Merry contacts an Amish neighbor, and together they decide to take the girl into the Amish community. The life in the Amish community serves as a healing balm, and in the process gives Merry perspective to deal with her own grief over the reality of God’s love after the death of her sister.

“Whispers Down the Lane” is an excellent novel full of the toil and twists and turns of friendship. It provides deep insights into the nature of familial relationships and the power of God in the excellent storytelling tradition, which has made Beverly Lewis one of the most popular Christian Young Adult writers.

BEST Summerhill Secrets BOOKS

Night of the Fireflies: The fourth novel of the series is one of the most highly regarded of all the novels. Merry is over the moon when Susie expresses an interest in her new business, given that she bears a striking resemblance to her twin sister that had died years earlier leaving her traumatized.

When Susie gets into a terrible accident that puts her in intensive care, Merry relives the pain she had experienced when she lost her own sister in a similar tragic event. Grandfather Zook takes matters into his own hands and pens a poem to Merry which calms her down. She finally gets to understand that death is not an ending but rather a beginning, as she does not feel the intense pain but is grateful for having had Zook, even as he dies within a few weeks of penning the poem to her.

A Cry in the Dark: The fifth novel of the series is an incredible story of healing. Merry wakes up to find that one of the young mother in her neighborhood left her baby Charity in her gazebo and disappeared. When she is finally found, she wants nothing to do with the child and asks to sign away any rights to the baby and have the child adopted.

The Henson family, particularly Merry and her mother believe this is just what they need after losing one of their own a few years past. But Sarah Zook and Curly John the newlywed couple are hit by a tragedy when Sarah loses her first pregnancy and being distraught, looks to adopt a child. Painful as it is for the Hensons, they know they have to give up Charity to the more deserving couple.

Secrets in the Willow: The second novel is a great novel about friendship. When the Zooks get their farm vandalized, Merry goes on a quest to find the culprits. On her journey for revenge, she meets an autistic classmate named Elton who has a unique artistic talent.

While she becomes friends with Elton, it is not long before their friendship is teetering on the edge, as the Zook barn is burnt down and the boy is accused of setting it ablaze. Merry protests asserting Elton’s innocence who had actually saved her from the fire and in that act learns the value of friendship.


Many Summerhill Secrets fans also enjoy the “Jessica Darling” series of young adult novels by Megan McCafferty. The series of novels follow the home and school adventures, the humor and drama, and travails of a teenage girl growing up in the modern world.

Summerhill Secrets fans also like the “Daughters” series of novels by Joanna Philbin. The novels follow the lives of Hudson Jones, Lizzie Summers, and Carina Jurgensen, the three daughters of Hollywood billionaires and millionaires whose lives are complicated by the status of their parents.

What Is The Next Book in The Summerhill Secrets Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Summerhill Secrets Series. The newest book is Shadows Beyond the Gate and was released on March, 1st 2000.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *