Suzie Mountford Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Suzie Mountford refers to a series of historical mystery novels written by John Gardner. Suzie Mountford is also the primary protagonist of the series.

Order of Detective Sergeant Suzie Mountford Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bottled Spider ( By: John Gardner) 2002 Description / Buy
2 Streets of Town ( By: John Gardner) 2003 Description / Buy
3 Angels Dining at the Ritz ( By: John Gardner) 2004 Description / Buy
4 Troubled Midnight ( By: John Gardner) 2005 Description / Buy
5 No Human Enemy ( By: John Gardner) 2007 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Suzie Mountford series takes readers back to the Second World War. When the story first kicks off in Bottled Spider, the first novel in the series, London is under attack by Germany.

It is 1940 and Hitler’s Blitz is killing hundreds of people every single night. Suzie Mountford is a female police officer working for Scotland Yard and she is definitely a rare sight.

Suzie’s presence at the department is only tolerated because of the shortage of manpower plaguing Scotland Yard. In fact, the young lady was only brought onboard because they needed all the help they could get to keep law and order.

The unyielding destruction that Hitler’s War Machine has unleashed upon London has done little to curb crime. If anything, many a nefarious mind has seen fit to use the chaos to mask the murder and mayhem they are so determined to perpetuate.

Unfortunately for them, Suzie Mountford is one detective that will not be trifled with, and even though she was only brought into the ranks of Scotland Yard because her superiors were desperate, she still puts her best foot forward, using every mental, physical and financial resource in her arsenal to execute her duties to the best of her abilities.

So when the activities of a serial killer are suddenly brought to light and Suzie is unexpectedly assigned the high profile case, the young woman refuses to balk under the pressure, instead proving to be every bit the cunning and immovable force Scotland Yard requires to catch one of the vilest killers the city has ever seen.

The Suzie Mountford series follows the heroine around as she maneuvers the murky waters of police work in London during the Second World War. The times she inhabits are such that she must fight for every opportunity she gets, rising above the misogyny to garner the respect of the men in her department, not to mention cementing her position as a detective of significance in Scotland Yard.

The Suzie Mountford series explores the Second World War as a whole. The author primarily focuses on the trials and tribulations of London and its neighbors during the war and the criminal activity that emerges during those days.

These books are typically praised for the effort John Gardner injects into vividly painting historical London, going so far as to use English terminologies and dialects from those historical times.

Best Suzie Mountford Books

The Suzie Mountford series might come as a surprise for fans of John Gardner who know him best for his work on James Bond, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Streets of Town: Suzie Mountford only joined Scotland Yard because they were low on Manpower. It was 1940, London was under attack from Hitler’s bombs and all hands were needed on deck to maintain order.

But Suzie stepped up to the plate and proved her worth. It is 1941 and her efforts to catch a horrific serial killer have cemented Suzie’s place on the force. She has been charged with working a dangerous section of West End Central controlled by two infamous criminals.

If the challenges of her beat weren’t bad enough, there’s also DCI Tony Harvey to worry about. Tony isn’t just unpleasant, he has every reason to hate Suzie, and that does not bode well for her career.

Angels Dining at the Ritz: Suzie Mountford is back. It is 1942 and everyone is reeling from the murders of the Ascoli family. They each took a gunshot blast to the face. Suzie’s interest is piqued when she finds a connection between Max Ascoli and Golly Goldfinch.

Everyone knows that Golly has a bone to pick with Suzie. When he unexpectedly escapes, his shrink tells Suzie that the criminal won’t stop until he gets his revenge.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Boysie Oakes” series by John Gardner. These books tell the story of Boysie Oakes, an enthusiastic coward who is somehow recruited into an English Espionage organization and unintentionally rises through the ranks.

You may also enjoy the “Secret Families” Series by John Gardner. These books tell the stories of the Railton Family, a clan whose maneuverings and machinations shaped and molded Britain’s espionage landscape. The series is both a family saga and a spy story.

What Is The Next Book in The Detective Sergeant Suzie Mountford Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Detective Sergeant Suzie Mountford Series. The newest book is No Human Enemy and was released on January, 1st 2007.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *