The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Books

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is a series of crime/detective mystery novels by physician and author Sir Conan Doyle. The first novel in the Sherlock Homes series was “A Scandal in Bohemia”, that was first published in “The Strand Magazine” between 1891 and 1892.

Order of The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Five Orange Pips 1891 Description / Buy
2 The Man with the Twisted Lip 1891 Description / Buy
3 A Case of Identity 1891 Description / Buy
4 The Red Headed League 1891 Description / Buy
5 A Scandal in Bohemia 1891 Description / Buy
6 The Adventure Of The Noble Bachelor 1891 Description / Buy
7 The Adventure of the Speckled Band 1892 Description / Buy
8 The Adventures & Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes 1892 Description / Buy
9 The Adventure of the Copper Beeches 1892 Description / Buy
10 The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle 1892 Description / Buy
11 Adventure of the Beryl Coronet 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The lead in the 12 book novel series is Sherlock Holmes, a fictional detective who works alongside his friend Dr. Watson to solve a series of bizarre criminal happenings in 19th century London. While Sherlock has not been trained in intelligence work, he is a master of disguise who is able to use forensic science, chemical analysis, fingerprinting, and deduction in getting to the bottom of mysteries.

The first novel in the series begins with a mysterious visitor arriving at Sherlock’s home, where he is entertaining his friend Dr. Watson. He announces himself as a minor count from Bohemia, though Holmes soon deduces that he is the King of Bohemia. The king is facing a blackmail situation, as five years past he had promised marriage to an American woman but now wanted to marry a noble Scandinavian woman. His former lover has refused to give back incriminating letters and photographs, which places him at the risk of blackmail.

Sherlock accepts the challenge and what follows is an exciting narrative as together with his friends he sets out to recover the incriminating evidence. The action filled narrative moves from street brawls, smoke screens, subterfuge, secrets, trickery, and exciting chase scenes on London’s famous railway system. The fast-paced plot sets the stage and standard for future Sherlock Holmes series with its humor, sensitivity, arrogance, and ingenuity, which has made The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes some of the most popular detective crime fiction novels of all time.


Even as The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes were written in the 19th century before the advent of modern awards and honors, the series has won and been nominated for several honors. The series was a nominee for the 2004 and 2005 Nonfiction Agatha Award. It made the shortlist for the 2006 Suspense/Mystery Quill Award and the 2006 Biographical/Critical Edgar Allan Poe Award. The series was the winner of the 2005 Biographical/Critical Award at the Edgar Allan Poe Awards.


Over the years, the novels have been adapted into over two hundred films and TV series. The television series and films have either been derived from the original novels or are combined with several of Doyle’s other works.

The story in “A Scandal in Bohemia” is recurrent in many of the adaptations such as the BBC’s “Sherlock” and “Elementary” by Robert Doherty. Some of the most popular of these series include BBC Radio 4’s “Sherlock Holmes” that aired between 1990 and 1991 and Sherlock Holmes of Granada TV that ran between 1984 and 1994.

BEST Adventures of Sherlock Holmes BOOKS:

A Scandal in Bohemia: This was Conan Doyle’s fifth best ever Sherlock Holmes novel is one of the most popular novels in the series. The novel is frequently referenced in many of the film and TV adaptations of Sherlock, which just goes to show that it enjoys a very good reception time and again.

Speckled Band: The eighth novel in the series is another fan favorite. Sherlock gets a visit from Helen Stoner, who needs him to investigate the mysterious death of Julia her twin sister who died with the cry that the Speckled Band had killed her. Holmes’s investigations lead him to the cantankerous Dr. Roylott who is managing the Stoner estate jointly with Mrs. Stoner.

Roylott who had married Mrs. Stoner soon after she was widowed, is allegedly letting a baboon and cheetah run amok on the estate, and lets gypsies camp on the grounds. Could the reference to the Speckled Band have something to do with the gypsies, and how is the doctor connected to all the happenings?

The Red Headed League: Another excellent novel in the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is the second title “The Red Headed League”. In the novel, Sherlock Holmes is essentially solving two mysteries – a daring bank robbery and the disappearance of a pawn shop assistant. He uses the smaller case to build and solve his big case.


Many of The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes fans also enjoy the “Lord Peter Wimsey” series of novels by Dorothy L. Sayers. Peter Wimsey is an amateur sleuth that solves a set of criminal mysteries in the early 1920s and the late 1930s.

Most Sherlock Holmes fans also love the “Chronicles of Brother Cadfael” Series by Ellis Peters. Brother Cadfael is a monk who uses his experience as former sailor, soldier, and skillful observer of human nature in his monastic life, where the abbot calls upon him as diplomat, doctor, and detective.

What Is The Next Book in The Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes Series. The newest book is Adventure of the Beryl Coronet and was released on November, 13th 2016.