The Darling Dahlias Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

As an author, Susan Wittig Albert works a total of three genres, historical fiction, mystery and memoir. Some of her best performing mystery series include the Darling Dahlias mystery series and the China Bayles Herbal mysteries. Additionally, she also has an eight book series, the Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter that she coauthored with her husband. The Darling Dahlias series is a book series which is set in the 1930’s. During the period, the times were not only tough but also the jobs were exceedingly scarce and people were extremely afraid of what was awaiting them. Nonetheless, the ladies within this fictional town were more than determined in keeping their families fed, spirits up and also their town beautiful. They all were a part of a club known as the Dahlias club.

Get notified when Susan Wittig Albert releases a new book at

Order of The Darling Dahlias Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Darling Dahlias and the Cucumber Tree ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2010 Description / Buy
2 The Darling Dahlias and the Naked Ladies ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Darling Dahlias and the Confederate Rose ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Darling Dahlias and the Texas Star ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2013 Description / Buy
5 The Darling Dahlias and the Silver Dollar Bush ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2014 Description / Buy
6 The Darling Dahlias and the Eleven O'Clock Lady ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2015 Description / Buy
7 The Darling Dahlias and the Unlucky Clover ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2018 Description / Buy
8 The Darling Dahlias and the Poinsettia Puzzle ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2018 Description / Buy
9 The Darling Dahlias And The Voodoo Lily (By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2020 Description / Buy
10 The Darling Dahlias and the Red Hot Poker (By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Darling Dahlias Awards

As an author, Suzan Wittig Albert has received has received several nominations. In the year 2016, Suzan was awarded her very first award, a Silver Independent Publisher Book Award.

Darling Dahlias Books into Movies

So far, none of the Darling Dahlias books have been adapted into movies or T.V series.

Best Darling Dahlias Books

The Darling Dahlias and the Cucumber Tree: One of the best performing books in this series is the Darling Dahlias and the Cucumber tree. This book is not only entertaining but also charming. If you are a person who has a great liking for cozy mystery series, then you are undoubtedly going to love this series. The story in this book takes place in an exceedingly small town of Alabama, in the early 1930’s, just as the country was headed to the great depression. The times were getting exceedingly hard. Darling, Ala a group of women within this town have just inherited an old house, which is surrounded by a great plantation. This group of women are the one who make up the town’s gardening club, Darling Dahlias.

At first glance, we meet these seemingly ordinary women, within their very own environment. The author takes the reader into the lives of this group of women, both at home and at work. Additionally, the author also gives a running parallel throughout the novel. In this book we have everything, from a bank embezzlement, to a visiting ghost, to escaped convicts to actual murders and low key affairs. Just like any other group, the women’s club are embellished with not only latent skills investigation but also with a fair share of curiosity.

For individuals who are looking for an exceedingly fast paced story or alternatively an horrendous murder description, then this series may not be for you. The Darling Dahlias series is a pure work of mellow from the very first page to the last. No shootings, no dead bodies, no bang stuff, no love descriptive and lustful scenes, only a great share of storytelling which will assist you in relaxing.

The Darling Dahlias and the Texas Star: Apart from the Darling Dahlias and the cucumber tree, another excellent read is Darling Dahlias and the Texas star. This is the fourth book in the series. The book begins as the preparation for the annual Watermelons festivities are underway. As it turns out, the Darling Dahlias are the ones who will control the festival. Everyone is extremely excited about the year’s main attraction. As glamorous as Lily may appear, she has made enemies in every corner and in more than one occasion, someone has tried to sabotage her plane.

As the preparations are underway, the local dinner loses one of its cook. Riggs decides to apply for the new job opportunity. Riggs eventually turns out to be a great cook with the abilities to tell what people really want to eat. However, Riggs is a mystery and tells very little about herself. The ladies within the club, work hand in hand to identify a sabotage and a black mailer. The Texas Star is an exceedingly unique mystery series, which focuses on the characters together with their relationship, successes and trials. It also features members of the Dahlia Garden Club and also provides a realistic and detailed picture of the Southern end. If you are a fan of cozy and historical fiction, then this is a truly excellent read.

Other Book Series You May Like

“Justice for Hire” is a book series that cozy mystery series may truly love. In this book series, a young girl has been missing for more than eight months and suddenly appears out of nowhere and commits an exceedingly heinous murder. The lady claims she know know where she had been and why she committed the crime. The girl’s parents are desperate and therefore they hire private investigators nine and Jane Lincoln to find out who was behind the disappearance of their daughter and why would their daughter return to commit such an atrocious crime.

What Is The Next Book in The Darling Dahlias Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Darling Dahlias Series. The newest book is The Darling Dahlias and the Red Hot Poker and was released on June, 7th 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *