The Enzo Files Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Enzo Files is a series of suspense mystery novels written by Peter May. The books tell the stories of a man who is forced to solve old cold cases using modern forensic techniques.

Get notified when Peter May releases a new book at

Order of The Enzo Files Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Extraordinary People / Dry Bones ( By: Peter May) 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Critic / A Vintage Corpse ( By: Peter May) 2007 Description / Buy
3 Blacklight Blue ( By: Peter May) 2008 Description / Buy
4 Freeze Frame ( By: Peter May) 2010 Description / Buy
5 Blowback ( By: Peter May) 2010 Description / Buy
6 Cast Iron ( By: Peter May) 2017 Description / Buy
7 The Night Gate (By: Peter May) 2021 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Enzo is an old man by most standards. Already in his early fifties, the forensic expert was born to Italian and Scottish parents. He went on to become one of the most renowned forensic scientists in Scotland.

However, while Enzo’s professional career thrived, his personal life wasn’t quite as smooth sailing. Enzo left Scotland as a divorcee with a daughter from whom he was estranged.

His decision to move to France eventually made him a widow, though the daughter that came out of that relationship Enzo managed to raise and nurture. By the time readers meet the forensic expert in Extraordinary People, the first novel in the Enzo Files series, Enzo Macleod is working as a professor at a French University.

His somewhat predictable life takes the most unexpected turn when he makes a reckless wager, one that finds Enzo promising to solve a series of cold cases if he loses.

As a result of the wager, the professor is thrown into a mystery involving Jacques Gaillard, a brilliant French teacher who disappeared ten years earlier.

Enzo is initially fairly confident in his ability to resolve the case. But then circumstances arise along the way to test the mettle of his confidence.

The Enzo Files series follows Enzo Macleod on his journey as he makes the transition from ordinary professor to budding sleuth. Each installment in the series finds the character on the trail of a cold case.

Enzo has to use modern forensic methods to unearth clues that investigators from the past might have missed. However, he must contend with the fact that so many of the individuals around whom his cold cases revolved either moved on with their lives or they simply cannot remember the events they witnessed in vivid detail.

Even more troubling for Enzo is the fact that all those culprits who thought they got away with murder will stop at nothing to waylay the professor’s work, even if it means putting the detective down for good.

The Enzo Files books have been praised for their close attention to detail. The author spends a lot of time describing foreign locations and cultures. Each novel ostensibly manifests the considerable effort Peter May sinks into his research.

In fact, some people have complained that the author does so much research for his novels that he is a little too eager to share everything he learns. As a result, some of his books are bogged down by excessive and unnecessary details.

It should be noted that while Peter spends a lot of time following Enzo’s investigative efforts, he also takes a few moments to look into the protagonist’s personal relationships.

Best The Enzo Files Books

These novels normally tell stories using multiple points of view, though Enzo Macleod always sits at the center of each story, with some of the best books in the series including:

Blowback: Marc Fraysse was a brilliant but troubled chef. When he called a press conference, the rumors that began to spread suggested that he was probably going to announce the loss of one of his Michelin Stars.

But the public never learned Marc’s big news. He died under mysterious circumstances. Seven years later, Enzo Macleod has made Marc his latest conquest. To retrace Marc’s footsteps, Enzo must first untangle the complex relationships that surrounded France’s top chef.

Cast Iron: Enzo Macleod is ready to tackle his sixth and hardest case. Two decades ago, a killer deposited 19-year-old Lucie Martin’s body in a lake with her head wrapped in a plastic bag.

Years later, a skeleton with a bag over its skull is discovered in the slime of a lake.

Several years after that, Enzo is trying to make sense of the scant evidence, unaware of the danger he is about to invite into his home.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Larry Macklin Mysteries” Series by A.E. Howe. Larry Macklin is a criminal investigator operating out of a rural Florida County. Larry has enough problems trying to make sense of all the goings on in his jurisdiction. Things are made more difficult when he comes across a case that implicates his father, the Sheriff, in a murder plot.

You may also like the “Molly Sutton Mysteries” Series by Nell Goddin. Molly, who is in her late 30s, fled to a village in France to find some peace and quiet after her marriage ended. She did not expect to get embroiled in murder and mysteries.

What Is The Next Book in The Enzo Files Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Enzo Files Series. The newest book is The Night Gate and was released on March, 18th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *