The First North Americans Books

The “First North Americans” series by W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O’Neal Gear is from the historical fiction genre; it is held in high regard, for historical fiction, due to its authors’s attention to details and ability to be accurate, historically speaking. The authors of the series are a wife and husband duo; both of whom are archaeologists and both incorporate their expertise to the penning of each of the novels.

Order of The First North America's Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 People of the Wolf 1990 Description / Buy
2 People of the Fire 1991 Description / Buy
3 People of the Lakes 1992 Description / Buy
4 People of the Earth 1992 Description / Buy
5 People of the River 1992 Description / Buy
6 People of the Sea 1993 Description / Buy
7 People of the Lightning 1995 Description / Buy
8 People of the Silence 1996 Description / Buy
9 People of the Mist 1997 Description / Buy
10 People of the Masks 1998 Description / Buy
11 People of the Owl 2003 Description / Buy
12 People of the Raven 2004 Description / Buy
13 People of the Moon 2005 Description / Buy
14 People of the Nightland 2007 Description / Buy
15 People of the Weeping Eye 2008 Description / Buy
16 People of the Thunder 2009 Description / Buy
17 People of the Longhouse 2010 Description / Buy
18 The Dawn Country 2011 Description / Buy
19 The Broken Land 2012 Description / Buy
20 People of the Black Sun 2012 Description / Buy
21 Copper Falcon (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy
22 People of the Morning Star 2014 Description / Buy
23 People of the Songtrail 2015 Description / Buy
24 Sun Born 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In each of the novels, there are different heroes and the books, pretty much stand alone. The main idea explored throughout the course of the stories is each and every person’s struggle to survive. The books start with a prologue that is set in modern day that includes someone discovering an artifact or a remnant of some kind that goes all the way back to a prehistoric North American civilization of some kind. Then the body of the novel documents the person or people that left the artifact behind.

For the first four books of the series, there is sort of a linear narrative. After that, the stories spread out, going off into different times and places; and there is no real order to them. This series also looks at alteration effect, especially when concerning a character called “First Man” or Wolf Dreamer, who is a bit of a legend in the later books after starring in book one. The first two books (“People of the Wolf” as well as “People of the Fire”) were each released in the year 1990. “North America’s Forgotten Past” is another title the series has.


For those readers looking to get into the “First North Americans” series by W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O’Neal Gear, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “People of the River”, “People of the Sea”, and “People of the Lakes”.

People of the River: This is the fourth novel in the “First North Americans” series and was released in the year 1992. This story is about the Mound builders in the Mississippi Valley. It is set in some troubled times. Cahokia, the crop of corn is not doing well, and a war chief, as well as the female warrior that he may never have, currently find themselves disgusted by the Chief’s constant lust for tribute lately.

Currently the gods have turned their faces away and have closed off the underworld to each and every seer. If the gods have truly abandoned these people, then there truly is no hope for them. That is, unless hope comes as a little girl that is learning to Dream of Power.

People of the Sea: This is the fifth novel in the “First North Americans” series and was released in the year 1993. Twelve millenia ago, the glaciers in the Sierra Nevada were in the process of melting; in the process, this was destroying the habitat that the mastodons had and created what would become California’s rich land. The people of the coast are having a hard time understanding the world, as it changes all around them. This is as the seer Sunchaser they had got lost on his way off to the Spirit World, and the mammoths are still going missing.

Then, a gorgeous woman shows up, after getting away from an abusive husband, and the people know what they have to do. If the Spirits are taking away their animals so soon, what will happen if they take in a stranger?

Now Sunchaser has to choose, the preservation of the world of his people and the woman that he loves.

People of the Lakes: This is the sixth novel in the “First North Americans” series and was released in the year 1994. The Mound Builder clan is near destruction because they are fighting over a totemic mask with great power. A Hopewell chief’s daughter, named Star Shell, is the only one that can get rid of the curse for her clan.

She will have some help, however. She has: Pearl (who is a runaway), Green Spider (who is either a madman or a prophet), and Otter (who works as a trader). She gets threw the treacherous waters of the Great Lakes to get to a majestic waterfall that is called Roaring Water. She is bound and determined to dump the mask into the water that will serve as its grave.

She has some clan members with vengeance on their minds on her tail, and they have something similar in mind for her.

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'Exception' with message 'DateTime::__construct(): Failed to parse time string (--) at position 0 (-): Unexpected character' in /home/lillian65/public_html/wp-content/themes/bookseries/functions.php:560 Stack trace: #0 /home/lillian65/public_html/wp-content/themes/bookseries/functions.php(560): DateTime->__construct('--') #1 /home/lillian65/public_html/wp-content/themes/bookseries/template-parts/content.php(45): bs_next_series('40094') #2 /home/lillian65/public_html/wp-includes/template.php(690): require('/home/lillian65...') #3 /home/lillian65/public_html/wp-includes/template.php(647): load_template('/home/lillian65...', false) #4 /home/lillian65/public_html/wp-includes/general-template.php(155): locate_template(Array, true, false) #5 /home/lillian65/public_html/wp-content/themes/bookseries/index.php(40): get_template_part('template-parts/...', false) #6 /home/lillian65/public_html/wp-includes/template-loader.php(74): include('/home/lillian65...') #7 /home/lillian65/public_html/wp-blog-hea in /home/lillian65/public_html/wp-content/themes/bookseries/functions.php on line 560