The Gatekeepers Books

The “Power of Five” series (which is also called “Gatekeepers”) written by author Anthony Horowitz are from the young adult and suspense and fantasy genres; the series also has some horror elements found within them.

Order of Power Of Five/The Gatekeepers Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Raven's Gate 2005 Description / Buy
2 Evil Star 2006 Description / Buy
3 Nightrise 2007 Description / Buy
4 Necropolis 2008 Description / Buy
5 Oblivion 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Power Of Five/The Gatekeepers Graphic Novel Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Raven's Gate 2010 Description / Buy
2 Evil Star 2014 Description / Buy
3 Nightrise 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

It stars five kids: Matthew Freeman (the leader of the five, has lived at least one past life, advanced at telekinesis, and he can see the future), Pedro (who is one the last descendants of the Incas and he is also physically identical to someone named Manco Capac). Scott Tyler and Jamie Tyler (who grew up with “Uncle Don”, an abusive guardian that made them work in a magic act in Reno, Nevada). Scarlett Adams (Eurasian and has the power to manipulate the weather, forecasting and is able to do astral projection).

They are supposed to defeat the Old Ones and save all humans. Matthew is in book one, Pedro is found in book two, Jamie and Scott are found in book three, and Scarlett is found in the fourth book. They each have a power of some kind, and are fifteen year old teenagers living in the modern world. There are Doorways, which are 25 doors that are located all over the world, built so that the Gatekeepers can use them. They only lead somewhere when opened by a Gatekeeper; they can walk through and have their pick of the 25 locations, all over the world. Without a location in mind, they will taken somewhere at random.

The series was published between the years of 2005 (with the release of “Raven’s Gate”) until the year 2012 (with the release of “Oblivion”). It is an updated re-imagining of a series, which was called the “Pentagram” series, from the eighties that Anthony Horowitz wrote that he did not finish (he planned on five books for the series, but only four got published).


The first three novels in the series were adapted into graphic novels. Book one in the year 2009 and books two and three in the year 2014.


For those readers looking to get into the “Power of Five” series by Anthony Horowitz, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Raven’s Gate”, “Evil Star”, and “Nightrise”.

Raven’s Gate: This is the first novel in the “Power of Five” series and was released in the year 2005. Matt has known for a long time that he possesses unusual powers. He was raised in foster car and is sent to Yorkshire for a rehabilitation program; he becomes a part of sinister goings on.

He investigates and finds out a terrible secret. There are eight guardians that protect the world from beings that were banished long ago by five kids. They are called the Old Ones. There are some devil worshipers that would like to allow the Old Ones back in.

Evil Star: This is the second novel in the “Power of Five” series and was released in the year 2006. Matt Freeman, age fourteen, believes (after surviving the experience at Raven’s Gate) that his days of fighting evil are done with. He gets involved with another scary adventure after finding out that there is another gate. Matt and Richard (Matt’s friend) go off to Peru and follow some clues to where the gate should be (they are aided by Nexus, a secret organization).

There is a traitor with Nexus and Richard is abducted. Matt is able to get away with a local boy, named Pablo, to help him. They go to Nazca desert and Matt figures out the awful truth. The second gate are the Nazca lines, and to make things worse, it is about to open. Will he have the strength to keep it from opening?

Nightrise: This is the third novel in the “Power of Five” series and was released in the year 2007. In Nevada, Jamie and Scott Tyler (who are twins) are in a dirty theater and perform an act where they read minds. Nightrise (a multinational corporation) takes Scott, leaving Jamie wanted for murder and left by himself.

Jamie is pulled into the middle of a corrupt presidential campaign. He breaks into America’s prison system; all before being pulled back into the past ten thousand years. Here, he encounters some of the other Gatekeepers and witnesses Raven’s Gate’s creation. Jamie even gets to see the very first and fateful battle that was waged against the Old Ones.

What Is The Next Book in The Power Of Five/the Gatekeepers Graphic Novel Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Power Of Five/the Gatekeepers Graphic Novel Series. The newest book is Nightrise and was released on June, 5th 2014.