Anthony Horowitz Books

Anthony Horowitz, who is a UK national, is a renaissance man; Horowitz is a man of letters, scriptwriter, playwright, and journalist, all rolled into one. Horowitz, who is in his early sixties, was born in April 1955. Horowitz’s birthplace is Stanmore upon Middlesex in England.

Order of Diamond Brothers Series

Order of Alex Rider Series

# Read Title Published
1 Stormbreaker 2000
2 Point Blank 2001
3 Skeleton Key 2002
4 Eagle Strike 2003
5 The Missions 2003
6 Scorpia 2004
7 Ark Angel 2005
8 Snakehead 2007
9 Crocodile Tears 2009
10 Quite a Ride 2010
11 Scorpia Rising 2011
12 Russian Roulette 2013

Order of Alex Rider: The Graphic Novel Series

# Read Title Published
1 Stormbreaker 2006
2 Point Blanc 2007
3 Point Blank 2007
4 Point Blank 2007
5 Skeleton Key 2009
6 Eagle Strike 2012
7 Scorpia 2016

Order of Alex Rider Companion Series

# Read Title Published
1 Alex Rider, Mission Files 2004
2 The Gadget 2005

Order of The Gatekeepers Series

# Read Title Published
1 Raven's Gate 2005
2 Evil Star 2006
3 Nightrise 2007
4 Necropolis 2008
5 Oblivion 2012

Order of The Gatekeepers Graphic Novel Series

# Read Title Published
1 Raven's Gate 2010
2 Evil Star 2014
3 Nightrise 2014

Order of Stormbreaker: The Movie Series

# Read Title Published
1 Alex Rider 2006
2 Stormbreaker 2006

Order of Pentagram Chronicles Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Devil's Door Bell 1983
2 The Night of the Scorpion 1985
3 The Silver Citadel 1986
4 Day of the Dragon 1989

Order of Groosham Grange Series

# Read Title Published
1 Groosham Grange 1988
2 Return to Groosham Grange 1990

Order of Sherlock Holmes Series

# Read Title Published
1 The House of Silk 2011
2 Moriarty 2014
3 The Three Monarchs 2014

Order of Horowitz Horror Series

# Read Title Published
1 Burnt 2002
2 Killer Camera 2002
3 The Phone Goes Dead 2004
4 Twist Cottage 2006
5 The Night Bus 2008
6 Scared 2008

Order of Legends Series

Order of Anthony Horowitz Short Story Collections

Order of Anthony Horowitz Standalone Novels

Print: Print PDF

Among the authors who influenced Anthony Horowitz include English penman Charles Dickens. Horowitz niche is particularly juvenile literature, mystery-thriller books, and science fiction; and his literary work is often juxtaposed with that of British authors Enid Mary Blyton alongside Mark A. Cooper.

For his basic education, Anthony Horowitz attended the Harrow-based Orley Farm School and thereafter proceeded to the Warwickshire-based Rugby School. For his undergraduate studies, Horowitz attended the York-based Vanbrugh College, a constituent of University of York; at the said institution, Horowitz pursued English literature coupled with Art history, ultimately graduating in 1977.

While schooling, Anthony Horowitz grappled with weight problems, and a sad and brutal school life. This prompted Horowitz to start narrating stories to schoolmates and writing which was more or less a form of escapism. He opines that he only got happiness when he put pen to paper. As young as aged eight, he felt writing was his calling. Even then it was not until in his twenties when he started writing seriously, culminating in the publication of his debut book in 1978, titled Enter Frederick K Bower.

Anthony has been outsourced to write James Bond and Sherlock Holmes books. Horowitz, who has co-authored work with British scribblers Tony Lee and Nigeel Dobbyn, has a comprehensive bibliography encompassing standalone novels and novellas, a play, collections, stories, series of books, and graphic novels to his credit.

Anthony Horowitz has authored more than five series of books. Horowitz’s most notable series is the Alex Rider series. There are eleven major books in the said series. There are almost 110 editions of the first book in the serialized Alex Rider. However, the first edition was initially published in January 2000, titled Stormbreaker; and the book is shelved under the young adult, adventure, mystery, and fiction genres.

Alex Rider is the featured protagonist in Anthony Horowitz’s book Stormbreaker. Meet Alex Rider: aged fourteen, watchful and, intelligent. Rider was orphaned, prompting his uncle, named Ian Rider, to take care of him. The critical moment in Horowitz’s book, Stormbreaker, is the suspicious road accident that claimed Ian’s life because he had reportedly not buckled up. Alex Rider soon finds out that Ian was an MI6 undercover agent and was killed in the line of duty. Eventually, Alex is recruited and trained by the Special Air Services to work for the unit. The precocious child protagonist has to face up to an assignment seeking to neutralize a well-off sadistic criminal, Herod Sayle, to nip Sayle’s intention of annihilating all English children in the bud in this multi-award-winning literary gem.

Anthony Horowitz Awards

Anthony Horowitz has clinched several literary awards. In 2004, Horowitz clinched the Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book Award. In 2005, Horowitz bagged the South Carolina Book Award, Junior Book category; and also won the Iowa Teen Award. In the three cases, Horowitz won courtesy of his 2000 book Stormbreaker. Stormbreaker also bagged Golden Archer Awards in the Middle and Junior High category (2003), Beehive Award in the Young Adult category (2004), and California Young Reader Medal (2005).

In 1989 and 2006, Anthony Horowitz clinched the Lancanshire Book of the Year in virtue of his 1988 book titled Groosham Grange and 2005 book named Raven’s Gate, respectively. In 2003, Horowitz bagged the Hampshire Book Award courtesy of his 2002 book Skeleton Key; the book also clinched the Louisiana Young Readers’ Choice Award in 2006. In 2003, Horowitz’s book Point Blank won the Black-Eyed Susan Award, in the Grades 6-9 category. Most importantly, Horowitz is a recipient of the Order of the British Empire in virtue of his literary works.

Anthony Horowitz Books into Movies

Author Anthony Horowitz has written many scripts for films and TV shows. Contextually, however, there are few film adaptations of his books. For instance, the 1988 film named Just Ask for Diamond; it is a film adaptation of Horowitz’s 1986 book called The Falcon’s Malteser (first in the serialized The Diamond Brothers); and starring Colin Dale and Dursley McLinden who played as Nick and Tim, respectively. Horowitz’s book Stormbreaker was made into a similarly titled 2006 film; Alex Pettyfer starred, appearing as Alex Rider.

Best Anthony Horowitz Books

The best books authored by Anthony Horowitz are the said Stormbreaker, Skeleton Key, and Groosham Grange.

Skeleton Key: In Skeleton Key, Alex is battling contemporary terrorism; Alex’s nemesis is a patriotic and bereaved Russian who wants to avenge himself on the world and make Russia a superpower through nuclear warfare.

Groosham Grange: This book features David Eliot who attends a school where teachers, seemingly monsters, have cast a spell on the learners.

Other Book Series You May Like

Readers who liked the books authored by Anthony Horowitz also liked the following books. The first is called “Young Bond” series, authored by Charlie Higson and Stephen Cole; it features a youthful James Bond, then an Elton College student. The second is called “Cherub” series, penned by Robert Muchamore; it is all about a department within the MI5 that uses juveniles as undercover agents. The third is called “Rich and Jade” series, authored by Jack Higgins. It features twin brothers; their single mother dies, prompting their absentee father, a spy, to take them in begrudgingly.