Alex Rider Books

Alex Rider is the main character in a set of spy novels written by bestselling novelist Anthony Horowitz. The series is themed mainly for young adults and comprises of eleven books and five graphic novels, a supplementary book and three short stories. Rider made his first appearance in 2000 when the series opener Stormbreaker was issued.

Order of Alex Rider Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Stormbreaker 2000 Description / Buy
2 Point Blank 2001 Description / Buy
3 Skeleton Key 2002 Description / Buy
4 Eagle Strike 2003 Description / Buy
5 Scorpia 2004 Description / Buy
6 Ark Angel 2005 Description / Buy
7 Snakehead 2007 Description / Buy
8 Crocodile Tears 2009 Description / Buy
9 Quite a Ride 2010 Description / Buy
10 Scorpia Rising 2011 Description / Buy
11 Russian Roulette 2013 Description / Buy
12 Never Say Die 2017 Description / Buy
13 Nightshade 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Alex Rider: The Graphic Novel Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Stormbreaker 2006 Description / Buy
2 Point Blank 2007 Description / Buy
3 Skeleton Key 2009 Description / Buy
4 Eagle Strike 2012 Description / Buy
5 Scorpia 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Alex Rider Non-Fiction Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Gadget 2005 Description / Buy
2 Alex Rider, Mission Files 2008 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In the UK the books were issued by Walker Book while in the USA they were originally published by Puffin but in the recent years have been published by Philomel Books. The author has earned success with the series and Never Say Die the eleventh novel was published in 2017.


Anthony Horowitz has won and also been nominated for various awards thanks to his prolific writing skills which have garnered amongst the top positions in the publishing world. He was nominated for the 2009 Young Reader’s Choice Award for his novel Ark Angel. In 2017 Magpie Murders were featured in Kirkus Review, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, and RT Book Reviews. In 2003, Point Blank won the Black-Eyed Susan Award for grades 6-9 while the same novel was commended in Texas Lone Star Reading List for Young Adult category. The Skeleton Key won the Louisiana Young Readers’ Choice Award in 2006 and was recommended in the Texas Lone Star Reading List in 2004. Trigger Mortis was featured in 2015 Publishers Weekly Starred Review.


Stormbreaker the first novel in Alex Rider series was made into a 2006 action spy movie by the same name in the UK while in the USA the title slightly changed to Operation Stormbreaker. It was directed by Geoffrey Sax and features Alex Pettyfer serving the role of Alex Rider and also stars Bill Nighy, Mickey Rourke, Sophie Okenedo, Sarah Bolger, Alicia Silverstone, Ewan McGregor and Stephen Fry.

A Video Game titled Alex Rider: Stormbreaker based on the first novel in the series was released on 25th September 2006. In 2017 it was revealed that ITV was in the process of developing a television adaption of Alex Rider series.


These are two best books written by the United Kingdom bestselling writer Anthony Horowitz, Stormbreaker and Point Blanc.

Stormbreaker: This is the first novel in Alex Rider series published in 2001. The book introduces the main character Alex who is hired by M16 after finding the pure truth about his uncle’s life and how he had died. Alex is subsequently assigned to his uncle’s latest mission which is to investigate a wealthy man named Herod and his creation as well; a newly developed and revolutionary created computer known as the Stormbreaker which the millionaire is donating to each single school in England. Rider later finds out that the Stormbreaker’s computers contain a deadly and lethal virus and that the creator is intending to kill all the British schoolchildren. However, with Alex’s witty and uncanny skills, creates a plan that will see his first mission succeed.

The first novel in Alex Rider series is an interesting read; Alex is a brilliant character and handsome as well. He is told that his uncle died in a car accident and that he was wearing his seatbelt. But when he finds his uncle’s car riddled with bullet holes and knows that it was not an accident at all and what he does not know is that his uncle was killed when on a high profile mission. As the story progresses, he is assigned to his uncle’s last mission. He soon must outsmart the people who want to see him dead and should he fail in his mission, each child in England will die.

Point Blanc: The second book in Alex Rider series; it was first published in the UK and North America in 2002 using the title Point Blank. After two millionaires die, M16 discovers a link; the two wealthy men who had perished had a child schooling in Point Blanc, a school dedicated for only rebellious millionaire children situated in French Alps and operated by a scientist by the name Dr. Hugo Grief. The M16 dispatches Alex to examine Point Blanc, and he soon finds out that Grief intends on substituting the students with some his clones who have a resemblance of the pupils so that he can inherit their fortune and have total domination over the world. Alex comes up with a plan to defeat the evil scientist.


If you like Alex Rider series, you will definitely love these two series, “Young Bond” series by Charlie Higson which feature the James Bond in his teenage years.

The second is “Cherub” series written by Robert Muchamore which focuses on agents who are highly trained and also incredibly talented. The most surprising part is that these agents are all under age of 17 years and are usually assigned to a mission to spy, gather intelligence.

What Is The Next Book in The Alex Rider Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Alex Rider Series. The newest book is Nightshade and was released on February, 4th 2020.