The Godmothers Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Godmothers is a series of novels written by Fern Michaels. The books follow a group of women in their sixties who go on all sorts of adventures. The Godmothers series is perfect for anyone looking to experiment with new kinds of literary entertainment.

Get notified when Fern Michaels releases a new book at

Order of The Godmothers Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Scoop ( By: Fern Michaels) 2009 Description / Buy
2 Exclusive ( By: Fern Michaels) 2010 Description / Buy
3 Late Edition ( By: Fern Michaels) 2010 Description / Buy
4 Deadline ( By: Fern Michaels) 2012 Description / Buy
5 Breaking News ( By: Fern Michaels) 2012 Description / Buy
6 Classified ( By: Fern Michaels) 2013 Description / Buy
7 Wishes for Christmas / And the Angels Sing (By: Fern Michaels) 2015 Description / Buy
8 Hideaway ( By: Fern Michaels) 2017 Description / Buy
9 Spirited Away ( By: Fern Michaels) 2017 Description / Buy
10 Getaway ( By: Fern Michaels) 2017 Description / Buy
11 Far and Away ( By: Fern Michaels) 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Fern Michaels takes the wild and crazy adventures that are often written about young 20 somethings and transposes them over to their older counterparts. You wouldn’t think that the ladies of the Godmothers series were in the sixties if you only ever looked at what they got up to.

Teresa Loudenberry often takes center stage and could be described as the protagonist of this series. Teresa kicks things off in The Scoop, the first book in the series. Abby, Teresa’s daughter, works for a gossip rag that is about to go out of business due to the owner’s gambling problems.

However, rather than see her daughter lose her source of employment, Teresa gathers some of her resources, pulls a few strings and finds Abby viable opportunities for her future.

And Teresa isn’t alone in giving Abby the assistance she needs. Teresa pulls Sophie, Mavis and Ida along, three friends that she has known for decades and who prove useful in her efforts to save Abby’s career.

Teresa and her friends have lived more life than most, having spent the last several decades drinking and smoking and, most importantly, accumulating lovers. However, just because they are aging doesn’t mean they are ready to put their feet up.

And that is the crux of The Godmothers series, the fact that age doesn’t always have to be a restrictive force, and those individuals who are willing to walk on the dangerous side of things can still find adventure even as they approach the twilight of their lives.

Teresa and her friends have gone through many a husband and lover over the years, and they have accumulated a lot of wealth in the process. As such, they have all the financial resources they need to indulge in the pleasures of life.

Though, that is one aspect that tends to rub a lot of Fern Michaels’ critics the wrong way. The ladies of the Godmothers series are not very realistic. Despite spending decades binging on alcohol and cigarettes, they are not only healthy but quite attractive, even in their sixties.

More than that, they have more money to spend than most people make. In other words, they seem to have it all and more, and that doesn’t elicit much empathy from readers. Teresa simply isn’t relatable.

However, other readers will admit to liking Teresa and crew for this same reason. The ladies paint a picture of life that a number of people aspire to.

Best The Godmothers series Books

Fern Michaels’ fan base tends to disagree on the quality of the Godmothers series, with some people loving the books while others hate them, some of the best books in the series including the following:

Breaking News: When her housekeeper falls ill, Teresa, ever the loyal one, stays in Charleston to care for her. After eight husbands, Teresa has all but given up on the idea of romance. However, her friends and fate have one more surprise for her; a love story with an unexpected ending.

This book explores two primary stories, namely: Teresa’s love life and a tragedy in the family. Teresa spends a portion of this book fighting her attraction for a sexy doctor. However, just as she begins to give in to her impulses, a situation with Abby develops.

The conclusion of this book could have been the conclusion of the Godmothers series.

Classified: Teresa is in a good place now that Abby has married Chris and settled down near her. Teresa is also enjoying the attention of Doctor Phil Becker. When two children disappear, Teresa must rely on her friends to help find the culprits.

All the Godmothers books tend to bleed into one another. This one picks up all the storylines left hanging in the previous novel and attempts to explore them to their logical end, this including Teresa’s love life and Abby’s marriage, not to mention Sophie’s powers.

Other Book Series you May Like

The “Mischief Bay” Series by Susan Mallery follows three female friends at different stages of their lives. They have one thing in common: they are all restless. So they begin taking steps to rediscover life’s more adventurous aspects.

“Life in Icicle Falls” series by Sheila Roberts. The Icicle falls series is pretty conventional. Sheila Roberts writes about men and women looking for love in the small idyllic town of Icicle falls.

What Is The Next Book in The Godmothers Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Godmothers Series. The newest book is Far and Away and was released on April, 30th 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *