The Governess Brides Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Governess Brides are a series of historical novels and one of American born author Christina Dodd’s most popular series of novels. The first novel in the series was “Rules of Surrender”, which was first published in the year 2000.

Get notified when Christina Dodd releases a new book at

Order of Governess Brides Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 That Scandalous Evening ( By: Christina Dodd) 1998 Description / Buy
2 Rules of Surrender ( By: Christina Dodd) 2000 Description / Buy
3 Rules of Engagement ( By: Christina Dodd) 2000 Description / Buy
4 Rules of Attraction ( By: Christina Dodd) 2001 Description / Buy
5 In My Wildest Dreams ( By: Christina Dodd) 2001 Description / Buy
6 Lost in Your Arms ( By: Christina Dodd) 2002 Description / Buy
7 My Favorite Bride ( By: Christina Dodd) 2002 Description / Buy
8 My Fair Temptress ( By: Christina Dodd) 2005 Description / Buy
9 Hero, Come Back (By: Christina Dodd, Stephanie Laurens, Elizabeth Boyle) 2005 Description / Buy
10 In Bed with the Duke ( By: Christina Dodd) 2010 Description / Buy
11 Taken by the Prince ( By: Christina Dodd) 2011 Description / Buy
12 A Pirate's Wife for Me ( By: Christina Dodd) 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

“That Scandalous Evening” that was published in 1998 is technically not part of the series, though many of the characters in the series make an appearance in the novel.

The series of novels is set in Regency England, where young women pursue a career of being governesses. The women who make it out of the academy are ones that overcome all challenges and odds to win the man of their dreams, status, wealth, and the best sex ever.

The first novel in the series introduces The Distinguished Academy of Governesses and its rules for students. All the students are to remember their place, which is higher than the servants but lower than that of family member. Discipline is to be maintained at all times, and the master of the house is to be shown utmost respect. Lord Wynter Ruskin, a rugged man that has lost his civility by his many travels abroad is assigned to Lady Charlotte Dalrumple, one of the most effective of governesses, who believes herself equal to the task.

But it is soon evident that the handsome lord has no interest in attaining better manners, and would rather explore the uninhibited beauty of his governess. He would love nothing better than instruct the lady Dalrumple in the exotic ways of love. What follows is a narrative full of desire and passions that shows why Christina Dodd is a multiple award-winning author.


Rules of Surrender: he first novel in the series is one of its most popular. Charlotte the lead is the perfect governess, albeit with a secret past full of scandal that falls for the young English lord Wynter. Wynter had been gone from England for years only to come back uncivilized for the life at Queen Victoria’s court.

The lord, who has no romantic feelings for Charlotte decides that he is going to make her his, and proceeds to successfully seduce the unwitting governess. However, Wynter is not your typical hero in love ,as he entraps the young woman with her Tiny Scandal From Long Ago forcing her to marry him. But she throws a spanner in the works when she refuses to let him into her bed on their wedding night.

Rules of Engagement: The second novel in the series is another delightful novel in the Governess Brides series of novels. For Devon Mathewes otherwise known as the earl of Kerrich, the plan to restore him back into the courts favor is simple; find an unattractive governess, adopt a suitable orphan, and choose a wife from the latest debutantes. With such a plan, he is certain that he will regain his reputation and respectability, which will endear him to the Queen.

For the Distinguished Academy of Governesses trained Pamela Lockhart, all she requires is that her client to maintain all propriety in their dealings, and that she has a hand in selecting the orphan to be adopted. What she never expected is that the earl, full of curiosity would delve into her background, discover her secrets, and break all the rules of engagement in his quest to make her his.

A Pirates Wife For Me: The eleventh novel in the series is another thrilling novel in the series that has fast become a fan favorite. The lead character in the series is Caitlin Maclean the most recent graduate from The Distinguished Academy of Governesses. She is an expert in overthrowing ruthless dictators, picking locks, and housekeeping. With such skills, she attracts the attention of Taran Tamson, a prince in disguise masquerading as a ship’s captain. Even though he agrees to her rules, it is not long before he is turning on his charm that ensures he is the only thing she desires.


Many fans of the Governess Brides series of novels also loved the “Regency” series of novels by Jacquie D’Alessandro. The series feature royal princes and princesses who find loving difficult after previous terrible experiences in love leave them hopeless even in the face of true love.

Governess Brides fans also enjoy the “Liar’s Club” series of novels by Celeste Bradley. The series of romance novels feature an elite group of spies, expert at the dark arts of espionage and stealing ladies’ hearts.

What Is The Next Book in The Governess Brides Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Governess Brides Series. The newest book is A Pirate's Wife for Me and was released on February, 15th 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *