The Heist Society Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Heist Society series is a set of young adult novels by Ally Carter, real name Sarah Leigh Fogleman, an author who has made a name for writing several bestselling adult and young adult fiction. The first novel in the Heist Society series was the aptly titled “Heist Society”, which was first published in 2010 to much critical acclaim and commercial success.

Get notified when Ally Carter releases a new book at

Order of Heist Society Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Heist Society ( By: Ally Carter) 2010 Description / Buy
2 Uncommon Criminals ( By: Ally Carter) 2011 Description / Buy
3 Double Crossed (By: Ally Carter) 2013 Description / Buy
4 Perfect Scoundrels ( By: Ally Carter) 2013 Description / Buy
5 The Grift of the Magi ( By: Ally Carter) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The lead character in the Heist Society series is Katarina Bishop the daughter of the late Nadia and Bobby Bishop. Katarina has always been in the company of criminals since she was young when she would assist her family in their nefarious plots. However, when she turns fifteen she starts resenting her life in crime and goes to a private school called Colgan in New England, where she hopes she can straighten out her life. After she comes back home, she become a noble thief that steals back stolen property to give it back to the rightful owners.

“Heist Society” the first novel in the series introduces the Bishop family and Katarina who have been on stealing trips to the Louvre in Paris and to Budapest to steal the crown jewels. When she was a teenager, she used her conman ship to get into one of the best private boarding schools in the country to escape from her weird family. But leaving the family business behind proved harder than she thought it would. When Hale offers her a chance to be part of a plan to recover a priceless art collection stolen from a mobster, she cannot resist the temptation.

Katarina’s father who is the only expert knowledgeable enough to have carried out such a successful job now finds himself caught between the mobsters and Interpol. Kat never thought her skills would ever come in handy until she knows that she has to find and recover the paintings to get her father off the hook. What follows is a gripping narrative that is so popular that it is to be made into a movie by Lionsgate.


The Heist Society series of novel has made the shortlist for several awards and won several others. Heist Society was nominated for the 2011 Florida Teens Read, and the 2010 Teens Top 10 Finalist. It has won the 2010 North Carolina Book Award Booklist, and the YALSA Teens Top Ten Book


“Heist Society” the first novel in the series is to be adapted into a movie by Lionsgate, and will be produced by Max Handelman and Elizabeth Banks who were behind the excellent movie “Pitch Perfect”.


Heist Society: The award-winning first novel of the series “Heist Society”, that was so good that it was made into a movie is definitely one of the series’ best works. It introduces the series protagonist and offers an intriguing background with an explosive story full of action and fascinating plot.

Perfect Scoundrels: This is a fascinating novel featuring out favorite criminal characters – Kat and Hale. Hale was born to what would seem like a perfect dynasty while Kat is daughter to a long line of criminal masterminds. The two families have always stayed under the radar while doing their stealing or getting their money.

However, when Bishop is named the beneficiary of his grandmother’s will, he knows that it would be almost impossible to contuse his criminal liaison with Kat. Despite his protestations, Kat will not let their relationship die, particularly when she learns that the will might have been fraudulently altered to steal money from the corporation. She is willing to do anything to protect her boyfriend, even if it means she may lose him in the quest for justice.

Uncommon Criminals: This is one of the novels in the series with one of the most unbelievable of twists. Kat is getting cocky after successfully getting back four stolen paintings that had been stored at a fortified museum and returned them to their owners. Feeling like Robin Hood, she is approached by an old lady that claims a certain emerald of her was stolen, and asks her to retrieve it. She takes the job against Hale’s advice and now has to face the consequences of doing the bidding for a crooked client.


Many Heist Society fans also love “The Specialists” series of novels by Shannon Greenland. The series of novels feature young and highly proficient teenagers, who use their skills to help a team of specialist investigators resolve a range of criminal cases around the globe.

Most Heist Society fans also enjoyed “The Agency” series of novels by Y.S. Lee. The series of novels feature Mary Quinn, a girl that lives for an all-female investigative agency that masquerades as a girl’s academy.

What Is The Next Book in The Heist Society Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Heist Society Series. The newest book is The Grift of the Magi and was released on November, 15th 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *