The Hollows Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Hollows is a series of urban fantasy novels, short stories, and comics written by Kim Harrison. The books follow the exploits of Rachel Morgan, a part witch, part demon bounty hunter.

Order of The Hollows Series

1Dead Witch Walking2004Description / Buy
2The Good, the Bad, and the Undead2005Description / Buy
3Every Which Way But Dead2005Description / Buy
4A Fistful of Charms2006Description / Buy
5For a Few Demons More2007Description / Buy
6The Outlaw Demon Wails2008Description / Buy
7White Witch, Black Curse2009Description / Buy
8Black Magic Sanction2010Description / Buy
9Pale Demon2011Description / Buy
10A Perfect Blood2012Description / Buy
11Ever After2013Description / Buy
12The Undead Pool2014Description / Buy
13The Witch With No Name2014Description / Buy
14Sudden Backtrack (Short Story)2014Description / Buy
15Waylaid (Short Story)2016Description / Buy
16The Turn2017Description / Buy
17American Demon2020Description / Buy
18Million Dollar Demon2021Description / Buy

Order of The Hollows Graphic Novels

1Blood Work2011Description / Buy
2Blood Crime2012Description / Buy

Order of The Hollows Collections

1Into the Woods2009Description / Buy

Order of The Hollows Non-Fiction Books


Order of Return to the Hollows Series

Print: Print PDF

In the world that Kim Harrison creates, humanity never became embroiled in the space race. Rather, after the DNA Double Helix was discovered, a rogue mutation led to the creation of a virus which, when used to create a genetically mutated tomato, killed a significant portion of the world’s population.

The devastation was such that biological research was outlawed by the governments of the world.

Humanity was, at this point, unaware of the Inderlanders, supernatural beings that lived in hiding.

It wasn’t until the full impact of the virus was made manifest and mankind was whittled down to a number comparable to that of their supernatural brethren that the Inderlanders saw fit to finally emerge.

They revealed themselves to the world and took steps to secure positions of power, bringing about a new age in which witches, werewolves, demons, vampires and the like lived side by side with mortal men.

It quickly became obvious that Inderlanders were too unpredictable to operate under mankind’s law. So, new laws were created to govern these new denizens of the world along with an inderlander security network designed to police inderlanders.

Rachel Mariana Morgan is an inderlander in her mid-20s when readers meet her in Dead Witch Walking. The first novel in the Hollows series, Dead Witch Walking finds Rachel Morgan working as a law enforcement officer in one of the Inderlander security agencies.

But after years spent contending with some of the most lackluster assignments in the precinct, Rachel decides to quit. She joins forces with a pixy called Jenks and a vampire by the names of Ivy Tamwood.

Together, the trio set up shop in a decommissioned church in an area of Cincinnati called the hollows. There Rachel begins to operate her own security firm, working alongside other human and inderlander agencies to protect both human and inderlander lives from forces that might threaten one or both of them.

Rachel starts out as a simple witch that uses earth magic. Over time, she masters stronger abilities in an effort to fend off more dangerous foes.

The Hollows Awards

Kim Harrison won the RT Reviewer’s Choice Award for Dead Witch Walking in 2004. She was also a finalist for the 2014 Audies for Ever After.

Best The Hollows Books

The Hollows books are most commonly commended for their effective blend of fantasy, romance, action, and adventure, not to mention the strength of their feisty female protagonist, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Good, the Bad, and the Undead: Rachel Morgan is dangerous. The bounty hunter’s sex appeal is a façade that hides a keen mind and a hand deft at magic. Rachel knows the darkness that hides in the shadows of downtown Cincinnati.

She has faced the creatures that go bump in the night. And she knows what it takes to bring a vampire or even a demon to its knees. But what awaits Rachel Morgan this time around is something more.

A serial killer is on the loose, one that has it out for those denizens of Rachel’s home with expertise in black magic. If Rachel isn’t careful, she might soon find herself face to face with an ancient evil.

Every Which Way but Dead: Life isn’t easy for Rachel Morgan. The sexy bounty hunter rarely has a handle on her love life, and each new day finds a way to put her existence in mortal peril. When Rachel isn’t fending off deadly Indelanders, she’s busy keeping the desires of her blood-drinking partner at bay.

When Rachel realizes that she must act to bring a raging war in the city’s underworld to an end, it occurs to her that she might have bitten off more than she can chew, especially when she understands the price that must be paid for a deal she made with a powerful demon.

Other Book Series You May Like

A great series to check out is the “Stray Magic” Series by Kelly Meding. Shiloh Harrison is a Federal Marshal in the Paranormal Investigators Unit. She works with other federal marshals to monitor and control the activities of those supernatural creatures that walk her world.

Be sure to check out the “Blood Trails” Series by Jennifer Blackstream as well. Shade Renard lives in a world where humans no longer believe in magic. Their ignorance makes them easy prey for the supernatural. Fortunately for them, Shade is a witch apprentice whose job it is to protect innocent human lives.

What Is The Next Book in The Hollows Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Hollows Series. The newest book is Million Dollar Demon and was released on June, 15th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *