The Hunger Games Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Ever since the year 1991, author Suzanne Collins has been penning down scripts for various children television shows. Collins has worked on various staffs of Nickelodeon including Clarissa Explains it All, the Emmy nominated show as well as the Mystery Files-of Shelby Woo. For the preschool viewers, Collins has written numerous narratives for Little Bear and Oswald; another Emmy nominated television show.

Get notified when Suzanne Collins releases a new book at

Order of The Hunger Games Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Hunger Games ( By: Suzanne Collins) 2008 Description / Buy
2 Catching Fire ( By: Suzanne Collins) 2009 Description / Buy
3 Mockingjay ( By: Suzanne Collins) 2010 Description / Buy
4 The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes ( By: Suzanne Collins) 2020 Description / Buy
5 Sunrise on the Reaping (By: Suzanne Collins) 2025 Description / Buy

Chronological Order of The Hunger Games Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes ( By: Suzanne Collins) 2020 Description / Buy
2 The Hunger Games ( By: Suzanne Collins) 2008 Description / Buy
3 Catching Fire ( By: Suzanne Collins) 2009 Description / Buy
4 Mockingjay ( By: Suzanne Collins) 2010 Description / Buy
5 Sunrise on the Reaping (By: Suzanne Collins) 2025 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

While Collins was working on a children’s show titled Generation O, Suzanne Collins met with renowned children’s author, James Proimos, who managed to convince her into joining children’s literature as an author. Currently, Suzanne Collins resided in Connecticut with her family and a pair of wild kittens.

The Hunger is undeniably author Suzanne Collins most successful trilogy. The Hunger Games is a thrilling trilogy, which has been expertly explained by author Suzanne Collins. In the Hunger Games, author Collins takes the readers into a future world, where each year, two entrants are thrown into an amphitheater, where they are expected to fight to the death or knocked out completely.

The Hunger Games Books into Movies

All the three books in the Hunger Games trilogy have been adapted into four highly successive feature films.

The book was a major hit right away and Hollywood studios came calling. The book was purchased quickly by Nina Jacobson and her independent studio, Color Force. From there, they went looking for a production company to help produce the film and that was Lionsgate. Suzanne Collins finished a script with screenwriter Billy Ray, and Gary Ross was attached to direct. The book was cast shortly thereafter with Jennifer Lawrence signed on to play Katniss Everdeen, and Josh Hutcherson signed for the role of Peeta.

The first film was released in September of 2012 and was an instant hit. The film’s opening weekend gross of $152.5 million was the third-largest of any movie in North America at the time of it’s release. The movie went on to gross over $694 million at the box office during the time of it’s release. Jennifer Lawrence became one of the most sought after stars in Hollywood and remains one of the biggest names today.

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire had similar success at the theaters as it set records for the biggest November opening weekend and biggest three- and five-day Thanksgiving box-office totals. It ended up grossing over $865 million worldwide and was the biggest hit of the entire series. Thanks to the success of this film, the final book ended up being split into two separate movies. Similar to what the Harry Potter movies did with the Deathly Hallows.

The Hunger Games movies are one of the most successful series of all time as the four movies combined have grossed over US$2.9 billion worldwide in box office alone.

Best The Hunger Games Books

The Hunger Games: The Hunger Games is the first installment in the Hunger Games trilogy. In the Hunger Games, author Suzanne Collins introduces the readers to the nation of Panem, which was formed from a post-apocalyptic, America. Panem is a country that consists of an extremely wealthy capitol, which is surrounded by 12 districts that are extremely poor. Early in Panem’s history, a revolution which was led by a 13th district against the government and the Capitol eventually led to its destruction.

Furthermore, the revolution resulted in the creation of an annual televised affair, dubbed the Hunger Games. The Hunger Games was created as a form of punishment and a reminder that a reminder against the capitol can lead to. Each of the districts must sacrifice one boy and one girl, through a lottery system, to participate in the hunger games. The tributes are selected during the yearly Reaping and are in turn forced to fight each other to death. The Hunger Games will only come to an end when one survivor is left standing.

When Prim, a sixteen-year-old girl, and sister to Katniss is selected to represent District 12, in the Hunger Games, Katniss volunteers to take her place. Katniss and Peeta, her male counterpart are pitted against some of the competitions strongest and biggest competitors. Many of these competitors have trained their whole lives for such occasions. Katniss sees her participation in the hunger games as a death sentence. Due to the fact that Katniss has been close to death before, survival is second nature.

Catching Fire: The second installment of the Hunger Games book series. As the second book in the Hunger Games book series, Catching Fire picks up from where the first installment, Hunger Games had left off from. Katniss managed to win the Hunger Games against all the odds. Katniss and Peeta, her fellow 12th District member are miraculously still alive. After winning the Hunger Games, Katniss believed that everything would return to normal, as she is once again reunited with Gale, her long-time friend, and her family as well. Peeta, on the other hand, has turned his back on Katniss completely.

Furthermore, across the 12 districts, there are whispers of rebellion, something that Peeta and Katniss might have played a key role in its creation. With that said, in Catching Fire, author Suzanne Collins continues the narrative of Suzanne Collins, testing her repeatedly and in the process surprising the readers at every turn.

Other Book Series You May Like

“The Divergent” book series by author Veronica Roth that will keep the readers entertained. Divergent is the first installment in the Divergent book series and a number New York Times bestselling novel. It is a gripping dystopian tale, full of powerful consequences, electrifying choices, an unexpected romance and a deeply flawed society.

Insurgent is the second installment in the Divergent book series. As the second book in the Divergent book series, Insurgent picks up from where the Divergent, the first installment had left off from. As war rages in all the factions around her, Katniss attempts to save the life while dealing with the haunting questions of forgiveness and grief.

What Is The Next Book in The Hunger Games Series?

The next book in the The Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Collins is Sunrise on the Reaping and will be released on March, 18th 2025.

1 thought on “The Hunger Games”

  1. I enjoy reading the Hunger Game books. It’s been a while since I read them so I plan to read them again!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *