Suzanne Collins Books

Suzanne Collins is American author and a television writer. She is best known as the author of the bestseller series The Hunger Games (consists of Catching Fire, The Hunger Games, and Mockingjay) and The Underland Chronicles

Order of The Hunger Games Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Hunger Games 2008 Description / Buy
2 Catching Fire 2009 Description / Buy
3 Mockingjay 2010 Description / Buy

Order of Underland Chronicles Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Gregor the Overlander 2003 Description / Buy
2 Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane 2004 Description / Buy
3 Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods 2005 Description / Buy
4 Gregor and the Marks of Secret 2006 Description / Buy
5 Gregor and the Code of Claw 2007 Description / Buy

Order of The Mystery Files of Shelby Woo Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fire Proof (Short Story) 1999 Description / Buy

Order of Suzanne Collins Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 When Charlie McButton Lost Power (Short Story) 2005 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The author was born in 1962 in Hartford, Connecticut to Lt. Col. Michael John Collins and Jane Brady Collins. As the daughter of an army man, she and her family were regularly moving. She spent her entire childhood in the eastern United States and graduated from School of Fine Arts in Birmingham in 1980. Later she joined Indiana University and graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in theater and telecommunications in 1985. Collins earned her Master Degree in Fine Arts from the New York University.

Collins writing career took off in 1991 when she was writing for children shows. She wrote for Nickelodeon television shows including Oswald, Little Bear and many others. However, it is important to note that she is not the author of Little Bear. In 2008, The Hunger Games was published by Scholastic Press. The novel is partly inspired by the Greek myth of Theseus and the Minotaur. Book two in the series Catching Fire was released in 2009 while the last book in the trilogy Mockingjay was released in 2010.


Collins has been nominated and also won several awards for her prolific writings. For instance, The Hunger Game series won the 2013 Kid’s Choice Awards the USA and in 2014 was nominated for the same prize. In 2012 The Hunger Games was nominated for the Bram Stoker Awards, and later in 2013, the same book was nominated for Hugo Awards for the Best Dramatic Presentation.


The Hunger Games series has been adapted into films. Each of the trilogy novels has been adapted into films, and the last book in the trilogy was made into two films the first one produced in 2014 while the second part in 2015.


These are two best books written by Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games, and Catching Fire.

The Hunger Games: Panem is a nation formed from a post-apocalyptic North America. This country consists of a wealthy Capitol region that is surrounded by 12 poor districts. In this country’s history, a rebellion led by a 13 district against the capital caused its destruction and the creation of an annual televised event titled Hunger Games.

As a consequence or rather say punishment, each district must give one boy and one girl between the ages 12 and 18 to take part in the games. These “tributes” are chosen and forced to fight to the death until the last man/woman standing.

However, Katniss’s younger sister, Prim is selected as the District 12 representative, her elder sister, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male partner are matched against, bigger and stronger representatives some of whom have been training for this all their lifetime. Katniss sees this as a death sentence, but this is not the first time she has been so close to death, for her survival is second to nature.

Catching Fire: In the second series installment of The Hunger Games series, we find Katniss, after having won the Hunger Games after all odds with her male counterpart Peeta Mellark. She should now be relieved that everything is now okay after surviving the whole ordeal and now back to her family and her longtime friend Gale.

Unfortunately, nothing is the way she wished it to be, her friend holds her at a distance, and Peeta has left her all alone. Moreover, to make it worse, there are rumors of a rebellion against the Capitol- an uprising that Katniss and Peeta provoked.

To her surprise, Katniss has triggered a revolution she is afraid she cannot stop. Moreover, what most scares her most is the fact that she is not even sure whether she should try. As time runs out for Katniss and her partner visits the districts on the Capitol victory tour, the tensions are even higher than they anticipated. Moreover, if they cannot prove without a stain that they are lost in their love for each other, the result will be horrifying.

In the second installment in the Hunger Games trilogy, the author continues the story of Katniss testing her more than ever before.

When Does The Next Suzanne Collins book come out?

Suzanne Collins doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Mockingjay and was released on August, 24th 2010. It is the newest book in the The Hunger Games Series.