The Jimmy Fincher Saga Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Name Jimmy Fincher refers to a series of young adult novels written by James Dashner.

Get notified when James Dashner releases a new book at

Order of Jimmy Fincher Saga Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Door in the Woods ( By: James Dashner) 2003 Description / Buy
2 A Gift of Ice ( By: James Dashner) 2004 Description / Buy
3 The Tower of Air ( By: James Dashner) 2004 Description / Buy
4 War of the Black Curtain ( By: James Dashner) 2005 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

James Dashner’s journey to success began when he wrote The Maze Runner, a series of highly successful books which became equally successful live-action movies.

Dashner was born in 1972 in Austell, Georgia. He was only ten-years-old when he sat down and began to write on the family typewriter. A student of Duluth High School and Brigham Young University, Dashner’s path to writing success meandered somewhat.

He went so far as to get a Master’s Degree in Accounting before he realized that his passion lay in writing and publishing. James Dashner’s name has become so commonly associated with The Maze Runner that it sometimes comes as a surprise to people when they learn that he also wrote the Jimmy Fincher Series.

A Door in the Woods, the first Jimmy Fincher novel, was actually the author’s first book. Published in 2003, the book received mixed reviews. Some audiences criticized Dashner’s writing for being choppy and inconsistent, and they suggested that the series as a whole should have been marketed towards elementary level readers.

Others thought the first book, and the series as a whole injected a fresh energy into the young adult genre.

It is in A Door in the Woods that readers are introduced to Jimmy Fincher, the titular character. At 14-years of age, Jimmy is a pretty ordinary boy. He has a great family, decent friends and a relatively bright perception of the world.

Jimmy’s life changes one random day when he stumbles upon a situation he shouldn’t have seen. Jimmy observes as a man drags a woman’s body into the woods, seemingly intent on disposing of her.

The man in question sees Jimmy and gives chase. In his attempts to escape the assailant, Jimmy falls through a mysterious door that changes his entire outlook. Jimmy is shocked to learn that reality isn’t quite what he thought it was.

The world is in danger. An enemy called the Shadow Ka is hell-bent on bringing a foe called the Stompers into Jimmy’s world. To accomplish their objective, the Shadow Ka want to rip a portal called the Black Curtain open.

In doing so, they will make it possible for the Stompers to invade the planet and conquer the human race. To stop them, Jimmy joins forces with a group of stragglers called The Alliance and goes on a quest to find the Four Gifts, tools with which he can save the world.

The Jimmy Fincher series tends to mimic the themes of all the children’s books that came out in the 2000s in the wake of the Harry Potter craze. Like Harry Potter, the series features an ordinary boy who learns that he is actually magical and that the future of the world rests on his shoulders.

The biggest difference between this series and its competitors is the background of Jimmy Fincher. Unlike his counterparts in the children and young adult fantasy genres, Jimmy is a happy boy from a happy home who actually loves his family.

There is little in the way of broken homesteads in these books.

Best Jimmy Fincher Books

The Jimmy Fincher Books are most commonly praised for their imaginative concepts and simplistic writing style, with some of the best novels in the series including:

The Tower of Air: The world is in peril. The Shadow Ka is more determined than ever to bring the Stompers over, and their taint has already begun affecting reality. But Jimmy Fincher will stop it all.

With two of his gifts in tow, Jimmy and The Alliance must find the Tower of Three, an objective they will only achieve by traversing the depths of the ocean and scorching sands of the desert.

War of the Black Curtain: The Stompers are here. Jimmy Fincher couldn’t stop the Black Curtain from ripping. But the boy has refused to concede to the Shadow Ka, not when there is still hope; Jimmy just needs to solve an important riddle and contend with a terrible truth.

Other Book Series You May Like

You may also enjoy “The Templar Chronicles” Series by Jeff Gunhus. Jack Templar is an orphan that comes from a long line of monster hunters. On his 14th birthday, the boy learns that he must defend the world against a horde of monsters.

Be sure to check out “The Unwanteds” Series by Lisa McMann as well. In the world that Alex inhabits, to be labeled unwanted is to be sentenced to death. And that is what Alex expected when he was told that, unlike his twin, he was unwanted. But instead of death, Alex was sent to a magical place where he can hone his creative abilities.

What Is The Next Book in The Jimmy Fincher Saga Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Jimmy Fincher Saga Series. The newest book is War of the Black Curtain and was released on August, 1st 2005.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *