The MacKade Brothers Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The MacKade Brothers is a series of romance novels written by Nora Roberts. The books follow the exploits of the MacKade siblings as they attempt and ultimately fail to tame the women they love.

Get notified when Nora Roberts releases a new book at

Order of The MacKade Brothers Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Return of Rafe MacKade ( By: Nora Roberts) 1995 Description / Buy
2 The Pride of Jared Mackade ( By: Nora Roberts) 1995 Description / Buy
3 The Heart of Devin MacKade ( By: Nora Roberts) 1996 Description / Buy
4 The Fall of Shane MacKade ( By: Nora Roberts) 1996 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Rafe MacKade, the hero of The Return of Rafe MacKade, the first novel in the series, left home when his parents died. His hometown had nothing of significance to offer. So went to the big city to find his own way through life.

Before he left, Rafe had crafted quite the reputation as a handsome bad boy. And that reputation thrived in his absence, so much so that, when Rafe finally came back home, all anyone could talk about was his wild exploits and the many women whose hearts he had broken.

Regan had never met Rafe. She had come to town three years earlier. But she was intrigued. When the two finally faced off, Rafe wasn’t the man everyone said he would be. The MacKade boy had changed.

He had a stable source of income, a thriving career and a good head on his shoulders. And the moment she laid eyes on him, Regan’s heart knew that Rafe could make her happy.

But her head got in the way. It refused to surrender to her feelings. And so began a dance that would eventually consume the two lovers.

The Return of Rafe MacKade technically stands on its own, and so do many of the other novels in this series. However, you are still encouraged to read them in the order that they were published because they tend to share plot threads and characters.

Roberts uses each installment in this series to chart the romantic lives of the individual MacKade brothers, pairing each one off with a woman that can best satisfy their desires.

You first meet the various MacKade brothers as supporting characters early on before you encounter them as the heroes of their own novels. As such, you are more likely to appreciate their character growth if you follow them from the moment they are introduced.

It is worth noting that if you have read Nora Roberts’ other works, you will recognize her formula in this series. The protagonists always fall in love at first sight. But they refuse to admit their feelings for one another.

It takes a rollercoaster journey filled with arguments and misunderstandings and crying fits to finally weaken their stubborn resolve.

The MacKade brothers are very forceful. They simply won’t take no for an answer. That attitude has earned them great success in life. Once they see something they want, they will move heaven and earth to get it.

But that is what makes Roberts’ heroines in this series so strong. Their personalities are just as fiery as those of the heroes. They refuse to be tamed, no matter how strongly their hearts ache for the target of their desire.

The MacKade Brothers Awards

The Fall of Shane MacKade was nominated for a RITA Award in 1997.

Best The MacKade Brothers Books

These novels have been praised for the tempestuous nature of their romantic relationships, with the best books in the series including:

The Heart of Devin MacKade: Cassie is the only woman Devin has ever loved. But for twelve years, he had to watch as she married and then lived her life with another man. But all Joe did was beat her, and the moment he was out of the picture, the moment Cassie was single, Devin swooped in.

The Fall of Shane MacKade: Shane thought marriage wasn’t for him. His love for women was simply too strong. But he just hadn’t met the right woman yet, and he realized as much when Rebecca came into his life.

Rebecca was a scientist. She thought everything could be explained and she hated taking chances. But then she met Shane and her beliefs went out the window.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another good series is the “Thunder Point” Series by Robyn Carr. These books are technically spin-offs of the Virgin Point series. They take readers to another small town. This one is on the Oregon Coast. There, Carr explores the lives of a series of couples as they meet and fall in love.

You may also like the “Sullivan’s Crossing” Series by Robyn Carr. Maggie Sullivan was an overworked neurosurgeon. Then she decided to move to Sullivan’s Crossing point, named after her grandfather and found that the simple life of the community had so much to offer.

What Is The Next Book in The Mackade Brothers Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Mackade Brothers Series. The newest book is The Fall of Shane MacKade and was released on April, 4th 1996.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *